We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick a man while he's down!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn South at the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn South at the Falls to your Saves list
Quality Inn South at the Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14501 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Miami, FL 33176-7925   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kick a man while he's down!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Reserved 2 non smoking, handicapped rooms due to a funereal for 3 nights. Made advance reservations on hotel website and got confirmation. Even called hotel day before to confirm and speak with staff because My father and mother are handicapped. Drove 7 hours to get there at 11:00 pm to find they had canceled our reservation. clerk at the desk was rude and had an attitude and stated it was our problem the card didn't work and they had canceled the room at 6 pm. They had given away our rooms and all the had left was one non smoking and one smoking upstairs room. Had no choice due to the time of night so and trying to get to a wake the closed at 12 am, took what they had for one night. Girl ran the credit card, same one used for the reservation) and it worked fine. Funny how now it had no issues! Downstairs room ac was horrible!! Went to get ice from the machine, had mold and mildew all over it. Second room was on the other side of the hotel. No Elevator, the smoke smell was outrageous!!!! Also had roaches, and not the Florida palmetto bugs, real roaches!!!!! both rooms had stains, dirty carpets, and pillows were like small couch pillows. Checked out ASAP in the morning. Do not recommend!!!! not clean, staff is just rude. Way to kick a man while his down. It's not bad enough he was there to bury his dad, you had to have a attitude when clearly there was no reason to cancel or rooms since the same card was used. How about a call to tell me there's a problem with my card earlier in the day Thanks for the heart. Real classy.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
25
37
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile


Staff is very friendly, the location is convenient to the event we were attending, but this property could use some fixing up -- not to mention a licensed exterminator! Indeed, the first night of our stay, two small roaches were running around the bathroom floor! Luckily, there was a chain drugstore next door, where we were able to get a can of bug spray to dispense with the filthy critters. The in-room safe did not work at all, but the front desk staff were kind were kind enough to let us use one of their safe deposit drawers, which were able to accommodate small items only, but because the drawers were the about the size of a typical P. O. Box, my husband could not lock up his tablet, and had to tote that device everywhere we went. When we had pointed out that the safe in our room was non-operational, we were informed that the repair people were "waiting for a part to come in." By the time of our check-out -- four days later -- said part still had not arrived. Flat disk rings at both ends of the grab bars were loose, as was the flat disk ring at the base of the shower head, and needed to be fastened to the tiles.
The bed we slept in was comfortable, and we both got several good nights' sleep. While the housekeeping staff did a good job keeping the rooms clean, the decor could use some updating; the rug looked old, with the darkened remains of old stains. The walls were thin (we could hear conversations and a game of Candy Crush going on outside, and a TV blaring next door) and boasted but one picture; however, there is a flat- screen TV.
The breakfast featured a decent selection of items, with scrambled eggs served every day, bacon or sausage, cereal, bagels, English muffins, pastries, one kind of yogurt, one or two kinds of fruit, orange juice, coffee, tea, and milk.
The reasons we stayed were that: a) compared to other properties in the vicinity, it was more reasonable in rates than most; b) the proximity of this motel to an important family gathering; c) other motels and hotels nearby were completely booked, due to this being a particularly busy weekend in the area.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best thing to recommend this place is its convenient location on U.S. 1 south of Miami. We've used it three or four times over several years, and it seems to have declined in quality. While the rooms are in OK condition, there was nothing to make me want to come back.
It was nice that the included breakfast included eggs and meat, but we might as well have been at a lumber camp for the lack of attention given to service.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked two king rooms on an advanced reservation (to get the lower rate) with the understanding that the reservation was unchangeable/non cancellable/etc... When I got to the hotel, I was given two double rooms - if I am unable to make changes to my reservation, the hotel should not be allowed to make changes to it either.
In one of the rooms, the light above the sink would not turn on, the light/fan in the bathroom was hanging from the ceiling, and the bar in the shower was so loose we were afraid to touch it in case it fell off. There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom from the previous guests.
The other room had the same issue with the bar in the shower.
The water temperature in the showers fluctuates randomly between intolerably cold to ungodly hot - you have to hope that as you're rinsing the shampoo and soap off that you get out of the water stream before the temperature jumps to 150 degrees.
Both rooms had a fairly musty smell.
We were back a week later after our cruise. I was given room 107 - it smelled like a musty wet dog went poo on the carpet and then rolled around in it. I asked for and was given a new room.
Room 109 also had a loose shower bar, but the worst part was that the caulk around the sink was moldy/mildewy and had a bug or two that would occasionally pop its head out.

This was easily the worst Choice hotel I've ever used - and Choice is usually my first pick any time I travel.
It needs to be gutted top to bottom and completely renovated. This is an embarrassment to the brand.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I arrived thinking we found an affordable hotel for our stay in Miami. We opened the door to our room and we were immediately greeted by the aroma of dog. The room smelled like a dog shelter. Within an hour of being at the hotel, a bug crawled across the table in our room while my husband was trying to get some work done. My husband and I examined it and it turned out to be a roach. Later on we went out and came back to find several more in the room. When the front desk was called, the response was, "Oh, we just sprayed." What?! So they obviously know they have an issue. Needless to say, we left in the middle of the night to find another place to stay. Never again.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This Quality Inn location for us works well. We are in between friends and family that live in Miami and Homestead. However this Quality Inn is not up to the usual Choice Standards. The outsisw building and grounds need a new update and cleaning. The room that we had everything was worn. Carpet was worn and dirty. The bedspreads had bleach stains on them. The walls and lighting fixtures were dusty. Finally the bathroom was mostly clean. I noticed that the fixtures were old and rusty, housekeeping needs to do a better job cleaning in all the nooks and crannies of the bathroom. The water went from extreme hot to extreme cold so taking a shower was a challenge. The room needs a complete update. I would rather stay at a different hotel in this area. The price was also very steep for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stay here every year on our way to Key West. We stayed in other places before we found this inn and now we won't stay anywhere else. The other places were more expensive, but this place is better! The inn is in a great location for anything in south Miami. the inn is safe and pet friendly. the staff have always gone above and beyond for us. is this the Ritz Carlton?? NO...but it is a safe and comfortable place in a great location...a great restaurant on site, a good hot free breakfast, pet friendly, next door to a Publix and within walking distance of a couple of other restaurants. I find the place to be quite charming although there is occassinally a little peeling paint...part of the charm of the humid south! And, as I said, the staff have always been top notch!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn South at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn South at the Falls

Address: 14501 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Miami, FL 33176-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn South at the Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn South at the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn South At The Falls Hotel Miami
Quality Inn Miami
Miami Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn South at the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.