We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bed ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Save Saved
You added Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best bed ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

with This is not my typical stay, I would usually pick a smaller boutique hotel but priceline came up with this before leaving for a cruise. Miami can be kind of dicey on the cheaper end of hotels so I opted to bid an a 4 star or better. This place has been ideal the best bed ever, large flat screen and a deck with a view of the bay. There is a coffee/tea maker in the room but no breakfast with this price. The hotel room service menu and breakfasts were both quite high so we found plenty of options close to the hotel. The free metro can get you in to the city center and cabs are at your door. All amenities were available but the free wifi was just in the large public area. There isn't a free shuttle here, but for my priceline bid of $115 I was amazed at the value I received.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    512
    199
    66
    33
See reviews for
330
312
57
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I think our stay was OK. My friend is very high tier Marriott rewards member so she used points and we stayed on the Concierge floor. The room was not very big though. You would think that an “upgraded room” would be nicer. I though the food in the concierge lounge was not very good. And they would take it away when people were still in there eating. You would think they would just leave it out longer.. all they do is throw it away anyway. The pool area was really not very impressive, and our room had no special view.

The best part was the convenience.. we were there to attend a music festival at bicentennial park, and we could easily walk there. There was also some shops and restaurants right on the property so I was able to get my nails done at a little nail salon and we visited the sports bar to watch a game.
The worst part however… when we where checking out (well besides the fact it took forever because I think they were trying to overcharge my friend or something). There was a couple next to us trying to check in early and they told them they had to charge them something like $50 (possibly more, I don’t remember) to check in early. I’ve never heard of this in my life. Every hotel where I’ve ever tried to check in early either happily allowed us to do it or told us they didn’t have a room available yet. I can’t believe this place had available rooms and were charging guests to check in early!!! It’s not like it’s a bargain hotel or anything.. the rooms are way too expensive in my opinion and you can find better elsewhere. Oh.. and we also had lots of problems with the internet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The hotel is located in a quiet downtown neighborhood. Location is ok but still requires transportation to go anywhere. The hotel staff was friendly and they were able to put us (2 rooms) side-by-side. We also travelled with our 2 year old son and so we got a crib at our request. No complain with its services at all.

We got 2 balcony rooms with partial view to Port of Miami . We liked the balconies because we got to enjoy the Miami sun in the morning. The room itself was spacious but no free wifi though (they have wifi in the newly renovated lobby on the other hand). The king size bed was very comfortable and they have enough pillows which is what we truly enjoyed! Oh, we also like the big flat screen TV in the rooms. :)

There were only 2 down sides staying at this hotel:
1) I thought this hotel is already located far from airport however I can still hear the air traffic noise even at midnight (and early in the morning like 6am). Maybe this is already better than all hotels around the airport but I have no comparison or previous experience here.

2) The taxi rides were just horrible. We had 6 people so they got us a van at the airport. At the end, the driver charged us $43 where I believe the ride should only be $24. And from hotel to Port of Miami , there was a driver who refused to put on his meter and requested for a flat rate of $15. We got another taxi afterward and it only cost us $10 (I gave $2 tips at the end and was very happy with the driver). These taxi rides certainly didn’t give me a good impression about Miami !

But to be fair, these are not hotel’s problem but rather general issues for staying close-by. In general, I like this hotel’s services, its rooms and the newly renovated lobby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwoods, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Our room was very disappointing from the wet spot on the carpet, toliet that didn't work, less than fresh towels in the tub area, kleenex leftovers stuffed into the new box, to the lack of heat on a cool Miami evening. Positives were the staff and the view.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed at the Miami Biscayne Bay Hotel for a nursing conference 2 weeks ago. I had never traveled to Biscayne Bay, and truly looked forward to my stay in that area. As I prepared at home for my 2 day trip, I was quite impressed when I received an email from Marriott Concierge services about 4 days before. This email provided a link to website where I was able to request complimentary amenities for my room, such as newspaper, extra pillows/towels, and even exercise equipment!!! In addition, I was able to inform the Concierge service, that my flight was landing earlier than their designated check in time. I was so excited to head down there. Boy... was I disappointed......

When I landed in Miami, I immediately called the hotel, so that they can send a shuttle to pick me up. They were very quick to say that there was no shuttle service, and offered no other options. Now, it was my mistake to assume that they had shuttles (as every other hotel does), but suggesting safe options would have been appreciated. I ended up sharing a cab with a couple of people heading to the same hotel for the same conference.

When I arrived at the hotel (10:30am), the woman at the front desk told me that there were no rooms available, and I would need to wait for a room to open up. She couldn't even give me an approximate time of when I should return. Trying to turn lemons into lemonnade, I took the opportunity to tour the neighborhood, and found that there was absolutely nothing for me to do... no stores to shop (the mall across the street was shut down), barely any restaurants, or even any scenic views. I actually had enough time to hop on the monorail (which was free.... but had no seats...), and met very "interesting" people. In the end... I waited for 4 HOURS for a room!! At this point, I was so exhausted... but I knew that I had to be at the conference, which was to start at 3pm. When I finally arrived in my room, I was not AT ALL impressed by the the horrible view of concrete, miniscule view of the Bay, and the bathroom which was so small that you couldn't turn or move without hitting your knee on the toilet!!!! If I ever go back to Miami Biscayne Bay, I will stay FAR away from the Marriott... It definitely wouldn't have been my first pick... or second!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed at the Marriott before disembarking on a cruise. Hotel was great, clean, newly updated, beautiful views from the balconies and good food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, KS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We had an overnight stay prior to leaving on a Cruise. We had a room corner room overlooking the water. The room was fairly small due to the odd shape but it was big enough for what we needed. It was nice waking up in the morning and seeing our ship at the port. It's very convenient to the people mover and we used it to go to Bayside for a little shopping and dinner. There's also a shopping/restaurant area attached that would be very convenient also. There's a liquor store there for picking up last minute wine for the cruise. The lobby area was very nice with couches and tv's which were very nice for hanging out. We were with another couple so it was a great area fo relax and play cards.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.