We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott's black sheep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Save Saved
You added Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marriott's black sheep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel before our cruise and we would strongly advise not to make this mistake. The staff could not direct us to any place to have dinner, the hotel provides a shuttle bus but the first time the bus was over 20 (!) minutes late, the second time we were given the incorrect departure time by the receptionist . When we attempted to complain we were told off by the reception manager. He also alleged that we were rude to him by pointing out that he should provide better training to his staff. When he told us that we must complain to Mr Marriott directly if we are not happy with his excellent staff we have made our mind never ever to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Hilton's Double Tree is next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosting_Ambassador, Guest Relations at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Dr_VPfromUK,

We are very sorry that you feel you did not have a positive experience at our hotel. Please know that we have already reviewed this matter internally to ensure that a similar situation does not arise again. We apologize if you felt our hotel did not live up to Marriott's high standards of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    502
    192
    64
    33
See reviews for
318
301
55
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel was very good though in the past, it was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, service in the 'restaurant' was great, and the room was spacious with comfortable beds. The glasses were not clean, with lip prints around the rims and there were a few stains on the carpet. Wi-Fi in the room was too expensive. This hotel stay was not representative of typical experiences I've had in Marriott hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms with the panoramic views of the bay are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosting_Ambassador, Guest Relations at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Vera B,

We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on your most recent visit. We have taken your comments to heart and will be reviewing these at our next meeting to see how we can improve upon these housekeeping issues which are clearly not representative of Marriott's high standards of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Staff were excellent. View of bay from balcony was amazing. Rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable although our king size bed was two large singles joined together so there was a bit of a bump in the middle. Wi-fi in room was very expensive so we didnt take that option and the kids hated being disconnected for a couple of days. We went on to stay at the Marriot Beachside in Key West and the in-room Wi-fi was free there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosting_Ambassador, Guest Relations at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear ian6576,

We are glad that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very Clean as other reviews, but really needs updating. Actually staying at the airport hotels, would be closer
Breakfast was really good, but closed up at 9 am. Called for Airport shuttle to pick us up and it never showed. Finally took a cab and requested them to take us to the hotel. THEN, it is advertised that there is a shuttle to the port, sure, they don't tell you that it is an extra $30. Don't think I'd stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosting_Ambassador, Guest Relations at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Kenzmom,

It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way and we apologize if your experience at our hotel was less than stellar. We will be reviewing this feedback at our next meeting to determine why there was never an airport shuttle pick up for you. We do hope that our extensive facilities and amazing views provide are indeed an incentive for guests to stay here versus at an airport hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel is great, good value and fantastic service. It is close to ameneties....shopping....kids attractions.....restaurants. I was there in January and the weather is awesome. It is a lively city and full of good looking people.....
It looks like you are in the show of CSI Miami!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosting_Ambassador, Guest Relations at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Cercena,

We are happy that you had such a wonderful time and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at the Biscayne Bay for two days after a cruise. The entire staff from valet to front desk were outstanding! the young lady at the concierge desk was nothing short of above and beyond. she gave great honest advice and took care of all the details for us!

Be warned that the hotel is on a flight pattern and during the day you will hear the planes, but they seem to stop at night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosting_Ambassador, Guest Relations at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Tom B,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you found our property "outstanding". We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I returned to the Marriott Biscayne for a second time despite my very negative review of my last stay here. In fact the Management picked up on my last review and offered me a comp if I would give them another try! So, I did. The problems with the internet had been happily resolved (no internet for four days had made my last business trip very difficult) and allowed the better aspects of this hotel to shine through. The hotel staff are cheerful and helpful and the concierge lounge does a very decent breakfast for free. This time my "concierge room" actually gave me access - which it hadn't the previous time.

The real reason though for staying here is the breathtaking views . If you have a reasonably high room you can just watch the light over the water change all day. I particularly recommend getting up early enough (at least once!) to watch the sun come up over South Beach.

I still have a few niggles. For a hotel in this price range, especially in a "Concierge" room, it seems odd to have no bath robes, no slippers, no shoe sponge, and no bottle of water on arrival. Corporate cost optimization on these small items seems silly. The bar is lively and does a good cocktail but the cooking in the restaurant is inexcusably poor and overpriced. The two restaurants in the adjoining mall that I tried - Primos and the Chinese restaurant are both excellent and cheaper!

Still, I will probably return for the cheerful welcome and the excellent views...

Room Tip: A room above the 15th floor is a must - the higher the better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosting_Ambassador, Guest Relations at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear DavidFinch9436,

Thank you for giving us a second chance. We are glad that you had a much better experience this time around and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.