We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% This Summer!
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pinellas Park, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location and a beautiful view of the bay. It's very relaxing to sit outside and just enjoy the wonderful weather. Banquet facilities are very nice. I always enjoy my stay in Miami when I stay at Marriot Biscayne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    649
    242
    76
    38
See reviews for
396
409
69
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed before a cruise--and the location was reasonably close to the port. The room was comfortable, and the lobby is impressive, but there was not as many choices for dining, etc. and the location was not great for walking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

First thing to know is that the hotel is located far from the beach and north of downtown. If you're staying here for Miami itself (and not for a cruise as other reviewers gush about), you definitely need a car. Taxi rides to and from the beach are roughly $15 each way. Although there's a hotel shuttle, it runs infrequently so I never took it.

The pros? Employees can be very friendly and helpful. There is a laundry in the hotel. Although also expensive, the cafe was modern and served excellent coffee.

The cons? Wi-fi is not free. The hotel is like a concrete bunker that refuses all cellphone reception. Your cellphone will not work here. Hotel room keys were demagnetized. I stayed here for a conference and every delegate I spoke to had the same problems. My own personal beefs include a relatively unclean room with hairs scattered about. The laundry was also not very clean either.

The view from the room was neutral. Definitely ask for a room that faces the ocean but in such a way that the adjacent tower (and the adjacent Doubletree) doesn't block the view.

My advice? If you're here for Miami itself, consider staying here only if you have a car (and can stomach however much the parking costs - I don't know) and the room price is reasonable. Otherwise the location and mediocre amenities don't justify a higher price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMiami, Manager at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Day!

Thank you very much for sharing the experience you had during your last stay with us at the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay. I will be reviewing your feedback with the pertinent areas where we did not meet your expectations. It looks like there are a few things that we did not communicate well to you while you were here on property and for this I am very sorry. For instance, our complimentary shuttle to South Beach leaves the hotel precisely at 1pm, 6pm and 9pm and picks up guests on South Beach at 1:30p, 6:30p and 9:30p. Guests can sign up for this free service each morning before 10:30am. Additionally, one block from the hotel is the free people mover that will transport guests throughout Downtown Miami. Again I am sorry that we did not share this with you.
Please know that we listen and react to all of the feedback provided by our guests and we sincerely hope you will return to our hotel to truly experience all that our hotel has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a great experience with every employee I encountered. Extremely helpful and friendly. Extremely clean with exceptional views of the water!

I would suggest anyone to stay here. Obviously no beach - but great location if you want a semi resort feel with an early flight. Taxi was reasonable to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had reserved for two night stay, with king bed, balcony view. Upon arrival, the lobby is very impressive, however the reservation manager was beyond rude not only to us but to the staff. She tried to give us a room with two queen beds. I told her we had reservations for a king bed, she got mad and said they didn't have one available. When I showed her my reservation confirmation, stating king bed was confirmed. She slammed down the room cards and yelled "just let them have it" and walked off. The lady assiting us with the check-in apologized for the managers actions. When we got in the room, it smelled like stale smoke, the toilet was running "leaking in tank" (we finally fixed it ourself, got tired of waiting on staff to show up). There was dirt in the corners of the floors, bathroom and carpeted areas obviously from substandard cleaning practices (there was alot of dirt, the place was nasty). I would not have expected a hotel with this chain and price to have been like this. I would have only given it a (2) rating for the room, the value a (1), location is good with great views (5). But there are multiple hotels in the area and I will choose to stay in one of them my next time in Miami. I wished I would have took some of the other negative comments to heart and NOT stayed here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Spend your money elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMiami, Manager at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this with us. The type of behavior you described is unacceptable and we will be investigating it thoroughly. As evidenced in our other reviews this is definitely not the type of service we provide here at the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay. Additionally we will also be sharing this feedback with the housekeeping team. Thanks again for letting us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here in mid-march after a Disney Cruise...

I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised by the location and the pleasant staff. It is very close to the Port of Miami and is attached to a small shopping centre that has the basics... You can walk from the room and get some self serve Starbucks and grab some breakfast within 2 mins... Nice...

Right across the street from the hotel you can catch the free trolley and get to Bayside Market in 5 minutes. (just remember to tell the driver where you're getting off otherwise you might get an unexpected tour of Miami - which we got... It was actually a neat detour...)

The staff is very helpful with various requests - for example, we were traveling as a group of 7 ... One of the odd things about Miami is trying to get transport for more than 6 people at a time... Most cabs top off at 5 and most vans at 6... The hotel porter was eager to arrange a hotel shuttle to the airport for a reasonable flat rate... Very helpful after a long week of travel...

The one and only disappointing feature was the balcony. When we booked balcony suites we were expecting a full balcony with seats where we could lounge and watch the harbor. Unfortunately the balconies are literally 3 inches deep. They are essentially patio doors that open onto a railing...

Otherwise, it was a good experience and definitely a good value for the location...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Marriott Biscayne Bay twice for business. The hotel is impeccable! The service, staff and cleanliness are top notch. The rooms are lovely, with extremely comfortable beds. The balconies overlooking the water are the perfect place to relax after a long day. Be sure to take advantage of the free shuttle to and from South Beach. I would recommend the Marriott Biscayne Bay to anyone traveling to Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Miami
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.