We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing, Wonderful Stay at the Marriott Biscayne Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suntastic Savings!
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing, Wonderful Stay at the Marriott Biscayne Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My then-fiance & I stayed here for two nights October 27th & 28th, along with over 50 of our family & friends, prior to boarding a cruise ship for our wedding cruise. We were given a generous group discount and everyone had rooms with a view of the bay, on the higher floors (16th & up). From the moment we pulled up in our rental car, the hotel was outstanding. Valet parking was expected to be expensive, and it was, but as this was a special vacation we didn't mind the splurge. The bellhops unloaded our vehicle and brought all of our things to our room (and we had LOTS, including 3 huge boxes we had mailed to the hotel which contained our wedding favors!). The lobby is BEAUTIFUL!

Being that we were the "leaders" of such a large group, we were upgraded to a Jr Suite - our room was 2102 and it was perfect. The view of the bay was gorgeous, our room was spacious, and served to be the perfect spot for us all to gather during our two nights there. The room only sleeps two with a king sized bed, but has a couch and plenty of room for cots. I had a chance to view some of the other rooms, which were all nice, clean, and average sized.

Most of us ate at the restaurant for dinner, and some had breakfast. We all enjoyed our meals and found that surprisingly the restaurant had fair prices. The harbour view and accompanying ambiance was excellent.

The staff at the hotel was amazing. Every time we needed to call the front desk (which was often when we needed to connect to others rooms) we were greeted warmly and they always congratulated us, calling us either the bride or the groom.

We didn't walk around the surrounding area, but many of our friends did during the day time and we heard no complaints. Taxis to South Beach were under $15 and it was a short commute. We found it well worth the cost of the taxi to stay in a well priced, beautiful hotel like this (rather than pay more to stay on South Beach in a not-as-nice-hotel).

Thank you sincerly to the staff at the Marriott - we hope management reads this and passes that on for us. We were so happy with our stay and couldn't have picked a better hotel. We would stay here hands down again, and so should you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    656
    251
    78
    40
See reviews for
404
418
70
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is not a 'walk to a restaurant' hotel. There is pretty much zero in the local area. The rooms are reasonable but below the normal Marriott standard, but if you get a view over Biscayne then it really doesn't matter, its a great view and its superb to wake up to. A good hotel in downtown Miami

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay - Impressions (2 Opportunities)

Our experiences are based on 2 opportunities, 3 to 8 and 18 to 22 both on November-2011. The trip was a family vacation (2 adults and one 3 years old child). Before arriving at the hotel I was a bit concerned about the location, because few years ago Miami Downtown was decadent and beginning a renewal process…The renewal process is bringing a new reality to Miami Downtown, encouraging the hotels on Downtown.

The hotel has a good structure and on a very good condition: nice lobby, good restaurant with reasonable breakfast (buffet), common parking is a bit expensive.

The additional price for valet parking really is worth it, especially for those traveling with small children and of course a lot of baggage. I chosed valet almost everyday.

The rooms:

VIEW: I’ve stayed on a low floor with a terrible view on the first stay and on a high floor (25 floor), with a postcard bay view on the second stay.

SIZE: Space is definitely not a problem for the rooms, we had lots of luggage and shopping bags, and it still feels comfortable.

Equipments: There’s NO refrigerator and NO microwave. The expensive Cable Internet requires the guest to go to down the comfortable lobby to use free internet wifi.

Cleaning: the carpets can improve, the rest is ok

The Service:

For me it was what made “the difference”!

Usually hotel’s staff (of this or higher category) are attentive to the customers needs, but I’ve on this case some positive remarks that I can not fail to mention and to congratulate:

Alvaro (doorman): always ready to serve well, concerned with kid’s safety, efficient, careful and agile.

Clara (Catch and Grill): extremely helpful

Of course there are others to tell good remarks also, but not to be unfair…. I prefer to mention these, and congratulate the manager for his staff.

Conclusion:
I definitely come back and recommend the Marriot Biscayne Bay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here one night - Nov. 10th - before heading out to Key West for the weekend. I used Priceline for a downtown Miami hotel and was pleased with this Marriott. The views from the room were beautiful, especially all the lights at night. We enjoyed their happy hour at the outdoor seating area and there was a band playing that night which was nice. The drinks were pricey, but the appetizers were delicious.
Our checkin was good - no problems, room was ready when we arrived about 5pm. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and pillows were fluffy, just like we like them. For our one night stay we have no complaints and would probabaly choose this Marriott again if not going through Priceline.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The friendly staff and welcoming lobby gave a great first impression of this hotel. That's where the compliments end. We tried checking in two hours after check in time (for 3 rooms) and only one room was ready. We had to wait until after 7pm for all three rooms to be ready. The elevators were so shaky we feared they would drop every time we stepped foot in them. The rooms were small and out dated. Water stains on the ceilings and the outside of the windows were extremely dirty. Would probably find another hotel if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is probably the most disappointing Marriott I have ever stayed at. Rooms are very small and dated. We stayed here for one night before a cruise. For the price of this hotel you could probably find a much nicer hotel close by. There was a 15 minute wait for the breakfast buffet and we weren't even in high season.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed 1 night, Nov. 20th, pre-cruise. Used Marriott Reward points to book a basic room. I had originally booked us to stay at the Hotel Beaux Arts Marriott in downtown Miami, but some friends told us that the view at Biscayne Bay is much better. Explained to the manager, Ms. Ready, that my wife and I are celebrating our 15th Anniversary. We were complimentary upgraded to a corner jr. suite, room 1901 on 19th floor. PERFECT! Not too high, not too low, just right to see out into the bay, south beach area and all of the cruise ships. Quite amazing watching a heavy rain storm move over the bay towards us on Sunday afternoon. We have stayed at JW Marriott Resort properties in Palm Springs and Phoenix previously and the level of amenities and room decor is very similar. This corner suite view cannot be beat, the best view we have had in any upscale property.

Food:
Upon arrival we dined at the Catch Restaurant located on property. The breakfast buffet is served until 1pm, so I had that. Very good selection. Especially the chicken-apple sausage link.
We called the front desk Sunday evening to get a local phone number to a Pizza Hut (chose not to use room service for pizza). Upon arrival the front desk called me to inform me that delivery persons are not allowed to go to rooms and I would have to come down and get my pizza. So, beware if you order any takeout to be delivered, DO NOT change into night clothes too soon!

Bathroom:
The toilet and bathtub/shower area are in a separate space that is very small compared to other Marriott properties, but then again you don't spend that much time in this space.
The sink area has a single sink with large granite counter top.

Dining area:
Since this was a suite we had a nice dining area with a round table and 4 chairs. Surrounded by floor to ceiling glass windows.

Seating area:
This suite has a nice full size couch, 2 end tables, 2 chairs and a coffee table. There is a work desk provided with a nice, rolling desk chair.

Internet:
All rooms must be connected with the wired internet, meaning I could not sit on the bed and work on laptop. In today's time, this seems very dated.

Balcony:
There is no balcony in this room. You can open the sliding glass door to let the breeze in and the curtains blow in the wind, but there is only a small railing area. You cannot step out onto it. But again, with floor to ceiling windows wrapping around on 3 sides of this room who needs a balcony!!!

Service:
Everyone was very accommodating and attentive to customer needs. I do not have 1 negative experience to report.

Area:
I can't comment on the availability of night life since we were not here for that. I do know it is not within walking distance of South Beach or the Brickell area. You would need to take a cab for that. I had read previous reviews that the area seemed seedy or unsafe but we did not experience or see that. I think it is because it is a property that is between the DoubleTree on one side and a nice, beautiful old Episcopal Church on the other side, making it seem "stuffed" into the land. But once you get into your room and look at the view you will soon forget about all of that.

The room did not contain a refrigerator or microwave. I was surprised to see incandescent bulbs still being used in the bedside lamps. Also, the wind blows all night and you can hear whistling through the sliding glass door. This can be annoying, so we turned the FAN part of the a/c system on HI to drown out that whistling. Hopefully management can have the weather stripping reinforced.

Conclusion:
We will definitely stay here again and will stay in a corner suite, upgrade or not. Go ahead and splurge and spend the extra, you will not regret it!!!

Room Tip: Do what you can to get a corner suite on floors 15 or higher. The views are breath-taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#17 Business Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Otel, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.