We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed here 1 night. the hotel was elegantly designed, the rooms were large and nicely decorated, and the bed was really comfortable. (Intercontinental hotels nationwide seem to have upgraded their beds recently.) Free WiFi access. The rate was excellent.

On the negative side: the hotel is far from restaurants or any nightlife, and there is nowhere pleasant to walk from the hotel. Breakfast is expensive (but there is a Dunkin' Donuts across the street).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    883
    263
    114
    66
See reviews for
722
964
166
814
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Room was fine for our needs. Room service way overpriced. $50 for a hamburger and 2 bottles of waters. Seriously??? No way should that have cost $50.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

a very indifferent hotel experience. the waitresses at the bar lounge were fabulous, so go there for drinks, but not for anything else. room carpet was stained and worn, closet safe didn't work, and the concierge never made the reservation i asked him to make for a business dinner! spa ok but hard to negotiate, and the help seemed a bit baffled at times.

hotel is not close to the beach, but is at the other end of a seemingly endless downtown, which is apparently dangerous at night. there is NO boat to South Beach -- something that the website specifically advertizes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed here with my partner last week, and I was consistently disappointed:

1. Room not available on check in at 2pm
2. When room was available, had to chase twice and wait 40 mins to get bags delivered to room
3. Requested more hangers - they didn't arrive. When chased, was told they had been delivered (they hadn't) and when they were eventually delivered they were still insistent that they had been delivered before
4. Queue at reception for anything was always long - whilst many staff were in the room behind reception
5. Design of pool area poor - on a breezy day it is a wind tunnel and there is no shelter, even at the bar
6. Room service menu was missing from room, and had to wait in the lobby for 20 mins for a replacement
7. Choice of food poor and service slow
8. The gym - they charge you for using! $15

I only found out bout the gym when I had used it twice (on my first day a very nice member of staff had given me a full tour of the gymnand spa) and went to use the restroom in the spa. I was accosted by someone who demanded to know where I was going and who was rude in the extreme. I couldn't believe that they would charge to use the gym, for hotel guests!

Don't get me wrong, if this was a cheap hotel, one might expect them to cut corners and have less than perfect service, but it is not cheap, and the arrogant assumption that service is a priviledge rather than a right, and that customers should pay for what is usually included in an overnight rate is just wrong. Only reduced bookings will make this hotel change - so please don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April, 2009. We came for a conference and had booked a "club room". On arrival we were delighted to be informed that we were being upgraded to an Executive Suite. It was huge, with marble foyer, 2 bathrooms, living and dining suite larger than ours at home, separate office, on the top floor, with a view over the bay. It was, in a word, stunning. There was no explanation of why we were chosen to be upgraded, and I would imagine that that is in itself a highly unique experience.

Everything about this hotel was gracious, immaculate, lovely.

The surrounding area was great for walking, restaurants, and shopping. I would have preferred a hotel close to the south beach area, however, as that is where the vibe and most fascinating people watching exists, Not to mention the beach itself. But our stay was for a conference, and the Miami Intercontinental was quite ideal in all other respects.

The staff was unfailingly professional, pleasant, and positive.

The lobby showpiece is a giant Henry Moore sculpture, the colour and texture of which are integrated in the lobby's decor. Striking and beautiful.

The food in the bar and restaurant (which are side by side on the ground floor) are interchangable. So if you prefer the restaurant menu but the more casual atmosphere of the bar, as we did, you can dine in the latter with the former's menu choices.

The club lounge (floor 29?) was inviting and attractively decorated, the snacks and breakfasts were lovely, and the happy hour drinks (a selection of wines, champagne, beer and spirits) were complimentary. In other hotel club floors, this is not always the case. The wait staff (especially Aristides) were all superb.

I highly recommend this upscale and elegant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights; my husband's conference held there. The room we booked was supposed to be with harbor view, but the view we got was of another building. The room, however, was large and clean.Check-in was very smooth, but at check-out we found, that we were billed for 2 breakfasts, that we never even ordered. When my husband noticed it, the manager apologized, but when my husband received a statement from the credit card, the charge was still there. Each room is supposed to have a safe-we could not find one in our room. There is a mini-bar in the room, but here is the trick:everything inside is computerized, so if you take something out, you'll be billed for it regardless of consumption (small print on the inside of the door of the mini-bar). My advise is to stay away from this hotel, but if you must, beware of hidden/extra charges, always check the paper at the sign-out and credit card statement when it comes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I stayed at the here this January gone and also in January 2008 for work sales meetings. I found the standard of the hotel to be very good both times.

In '08 my only criticism would have been the food, which was all catered for by the hotel for the meeting - they rectified this this year, and it was over 100% better - so well done. Maybe the company splashed out on a better food and beverage package - who knows? Whatever they did the catering was excellent this time.

The location is great if you want to spend time in Miami city, and the hotel is right on the harbour and just a short stroll to the Bayside tourist complex - which is okay for a bit of light shopping. If you want to go to South Beach it's a 10 minute taxi ride - if there's no traffic - so if you want to be near the nightlife I suggest looking at a hotel in South Beach instead.

This is an excellent choice of hotel for running corporate events and conferences. There is ample conference facilities and break-out rooms, and the evening events (those held in-house) were all well catered for. The hotel bar is not the best, but it did the job.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.