We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling, elegant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Sparkling, elegant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April, 2009. We came for a conference and had booked a "club room". On arrival we were delighted to be informed that we were being upgraded to an Executive Suite. It was huge, with marble foyer, 2 bathrooms, living and dining suite larger than ours at home, separate office, on the top floor, with a view over the bay. It was, in a word, stunning. There was no explanation of why we were chosen to be upgraded, and I would imagine that that is in itself a highly unique experience.

Everything about this hotel was gracious, immaculate, lovely.

The surrounding area was great for walking, restaurants, and shopping. I would have preferred a hotel close to the south beach area, however, as that is where the vibe and most fascinating people watching exists, Not to mention the beach itself. But our stay was for a conference, and the Miami Intercontinental was quite ideal in all other respects.

The staff was unfailingly professional, pleasant, and positive.

The lobby showpiece is a giant Henry Moore sculpture, the colour and texture of which are integrated in the lobby's decor. Striking and beautiful.

The food in the bar and restaurant (which are side by side on the ground floor) are interchangable. So if you prefer the restaurant menu but the more casual atmosphere of the bar, as we did, you can dine in the latter with the former's menu choices.

The club lounge (floor 29?) was inviting and attractively decorated, the snacks and breakfasts were lovely, and the happy hour drinks (a selection of wines, champagne, beer and spirits) were complimentary. In other hotel club floors, this is not always the case. The wait staff (especially Aristides) were all superb.

I highly recommend this upscale and elegant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,541
    665
    204
    100
    51
See reviews for
530
694
130
675
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights; my husband's conference held there. The room we booked was supposed to be with harbor view, but the view we got was of another building. The room, however, was large and clean.Check-in was very smooth, but at check-out we found, that we were billed for 2 breakfasts, that we never even ordered. When my husband noticed it, the manager apologized, but when my husband received a statement from the credit card, the charge was still there. Each room is supposed to have a safe-we could not find one in our room. There is a mini-bar in the room, but here is the trick:everything inside is computerized, so if you take something out, you'll be billed for it regardless of consumption (small print on the inside of the door of the mini-bar). My advise is to stay away from this hotel, but if you must, beware of hidden/extra charges, always check the paper at the sign-out and credit card statement when it comes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I stayed at the here this January gone and also in January 2008 for work sales meetings. I found the standard of the hotel to be very good both times.

In '08 my only criticism would have been the food, which was all catered for by the hotel for the meeting - they rectified this this year, and it was over 100% better - so well done. Maybe the company splashed out on a better food and beverage package - who knows? Whatever they did the catering was excellent this time.

The location is great if you want to spend time in Miami city, and the hotel is right on the harbour and just a short stroll to the Bayside tourist complex - which is okay for a bit of light shopping. If you want to go to South Beach it's a 10 minute taxi ride - if there's no traffic - so if you want to be near the nightlife I suggest looking at a hotel in South Beach instead.

This is an excellent choice of hotel for running corporate events and conferences. There is ample conference facilities and break-out rooms, and the evening events (those held in-house) were all well catered for. The hotel bar is not the best, but it did the job.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed for a couple of nights for a conference. Hotel is in a good location next to Bayfront park and the Bayside marketplace. Lobby and conference facilities are attractive. Had a king room booked, check-in was relatively efficient. Upon entering my room, found that it was a double-bedded room. No mention of this was made at check-in. No one picked up the phone at the front desk when I called to try to change to a king. Had to go all the way back downstairs and wait in line at the front desk to change rooms.

The rooms are ok. They're fairly large, and furnishings are relatively new and in good condition. Bathroom tiles and carpet are dark and give the room a somewhat old and dingy appearance although it actually was pretty clean. Sheets were a little musty.

The pool is wedged in between two highrises and doesn't get much sun.

There are charges for everything. Internet is $12/day. They tack on a $3/night "housekeeping fee" which no one ever mentioned until checkout. This despite the fact that I kept the do-not-disturb sign on and no one ever cleaned my room. What, is housekeeping now considered an "extra" and not included in the hotel rate?

Was given a late checkout which was appreciated.

Overall, OK business hotel but I definitely wouldn't pay rack rate.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

This was my second stay at this hotel, the first being about 10 years ago -- and little has changed. The rooms are quite nice, and the views great if you are on the east side. Unfortunately this trip my room was on the south side directly opposite the condos next door...can you say Rear Window?

Front desk staff were very helpful and efficient. Servers in the bar were not. I arrived late on a Friday night and ordered off the bar menu, there were maybe 4 or 5 other customers. The two bartenders working that night favored chatting with each other over serving customers, almost to the point of being unprofessional (telling stories, laughing). My order was delivered only after I reminded them to go look for it. Then I had to ask for flatware. And beg for a second drink.

Spa/fitness center were very nice, although you had to pay to use the facilities. The fitness room is nothing extraordinary, but the locker rooms/sauna/steam room was very cool. Pool was closed.

In general, this is a modern upscale hotel with good location and views. Service can be spotty. Everything is expensive.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catamarca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We payed nothig for the kind of service we received. Room upgraded just becouse it was my birthday. Incredible view. Nice swimmingpool. Lovely unknown staff. The breakfast is incredible but too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

The Spa was closed for being built out, that was a bummer, but I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.