We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice deal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
catamarca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We payed nothig for the kind of service we received. Room upgraded just becouse it was my birthday. Incredible view. Nice swimmingpool. Lovely unknown staff. The breakfast is incredible but too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,050
    889
    264
    115
    66
See reviews for
727
967
167
822
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

The Spa was closed for being built out, that was a bummer, but I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I stayed at this hotel on feb 8th & 14th, 2009 (Before and after my cruise) and i must say the hotel was very convenient. Its approx $22.00 cab ride from the Miami airport, only $8.50 cab ride to the Miami Port, 4-5min walk to Bayside mall, the rooms are clean and modern, and the staff was very helpful in all areas. For those on a budget the hotel restaurant may be a little less pricey, however, your walking distance from some less expensive ones.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pricey restaurant
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Though we got a great rate on our room at this hotel (we stayed for 3 nights at the end of December 08) there were hidden extras that could really bump up the price of your stay here. You have to pay to use the gym and just about everything else on the premises. The valet parking (the only option) is pricey too.

The location is great though and the views from the harbour view room really were something special. As you'd expect from the price you pay the bathroom is huge which is a bonus when travelling with family.

Unfortunately we found the beds very uncomfortable which was a disappointment as was the time it took just to check-out of the premises. It all seemed a little disorganised and the level of customer service was way below standard given this is a 5 star hotel.

Nothing significant to spoil our holiday but next time I would forego the views and room size to save a few dollars and stay just down the road.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The hidden extras
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

This is a clean and nice hotel. But before you book it, be aware that you have to pay for EVERYTHING (I was surprised they didn't charge the elevators!). I will never stay here again, the pricing is outrageous.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The charging of everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights pre-cruise first few days of 2009. We got an excellent rate thanks to internet and booked a deluxe harbor view king room directly with Intecontinental. A few days before arrival we received a welcome email from the hotel concierge containing helpful Miami information, which was a nice touch.
We arrived in the evening, checked in and were quickly sent to our room. Upon arrival, we noticed the room had a view of downtown. After calling guest services we were set up with the deluxe room on the 25th floor. The room was clean and fairly large, nice bathroom with a separate shower. I didn't think the room was in 5 star condition though.
Since it was fairly late, we ordered food from room service, which was pricey but not bad considering the 5star status of the hotel, and the food was ok. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant in the morning which was also pretty good but $$$.
We really enjoyed the view of the harbor, facing directly the Port of Miami, we enjoyed watching the ships come and go, and even seeing our ship arrive early in the morning on Saturday. We also got to see all the small boats and even some sea creatures were visible all the way from 25th floor. We watched a couple of dolphins and a some sea cows swim around the bay.
The location was great. It was easy to go to South Beach by bus, and the bayside marketplace was very close.
We used the TV express checkout, which was a breeze.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. I can't say that I would give this hotel 5 stars based on the room condition, and we definitely would not pay the full price to stay there, but if you can get a good deal, go for it.

  • Liked — location, nice bathrooms
  • Disliked — high hotel and restaurant rates
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Let me just start by saying that parking costs $34 dollars a day. I may have been ok with this had I known, but I did not see this anywhere when I booked using the hotel website. The manager was quick to show me where the charge was buried in the website rather than to come to some agreement since this was a suprise. Be careful when staying here.....there is a charge for just about everything including to use the gym.

  • Liked — The location and view was nice
  • Disliked — All the charges (parking, gym, internet)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.