We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-cruise two-nighter.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pre-cruise two-nighter.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

As soon as we arrived by taxi from the airport we were helped by the bellboy, not just by opening the door but he also gave me vital information about the fare I should be paying because our taxi driver wanted to charge us $48 and I read that this should have only been $25, luckily the bellboy agreed and made my reducing our fare easier to do.
Check in was smooth, quick and informative and before we knew it we were walking into our room looking out over the harbour at nightfall. Large room with modern design, two queen beds with excellent high thread count linen. Coffee maker with pod coffee, which were replenished when needed. Large bathroom with plenty of space to put your lotions and potions. We couldn't find the hair dryer for ages but eventually located it under the basin at the back of the shelf, so not one of those attached varieties.
Slept perfectly in our comfy beds and after a long haul flight from the UK!
Lots of shops and restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel which you can stroll too and across the park a few hundred yards and in easy walking distance is the Bayside area.
Excellent Pre-cruise stay and very convenient for taxi to the port and back.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear AiryTraveller,

Thank you for the glowing review. We are ecstatic to have provided you with a great experience prior to your cruise trip. A one or two night stay at our hotel is perfect for travelers looking to gear up or wind down their cruise trip. Thank you for the compliments on our comfortable guestrooms; they are truly divine especially after a long flight. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to check out our vibrant city before your big trip. We hope you will be back again, hopefully for a longer time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,503
    640
    199
    99
    50
See reviews for
504
678
129
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It is really an impressive hotel, very vibrant and the location is fantastic.
The view from the room we got was stunning we couldn't move from front of the window. Choose the upgrade to Executive floor, the lounge set up and the breakfast was superb. We didn't use the Spa but overheard from other guests that it was also very good.
I especially liked the Lobby with the bar, it had a great atmosphere. The wifi is also quite fast.
Great place to stay, we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Executive for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ivan L,

Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's true, mySpa is great and we are disappointed you did not have a chance to visit the facilities. Toro Toro Bar is a great spot for cocktails and people watching. Thank you for the recommendation and hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel (came a year ago as well). It is a fantastic place to stay, great amenities and staff is top notch. View from the room is excellent - cruise ships in the harbor.
We also rode motorized bikes on this trip. Had a fun trip on them to explore Key Biscayne. Previously we had done a Segway tour, which as nice but the bikes were just as fun and could appreciate the surroundings a bit easier. Highly recommend to check them out right from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Garith,

We are so glad that you are a repeat guest. We love reviews like yours. Thank you for the gracious comments about our top notch staff, great amenities and excellent views. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to explore Miami on the electric bikes as they offer a unique Miami experience. Thank you for the recommendation; more information about any and all Miami adventures can be found with the help of our Concierge team. Don't leave our hotel without checking them out. We hope to welcome you back for a third stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great location within a short distance of the harbor to catch a cruise. Walking distance to Biscayne Bay and one of the really really good coffee shop, FreshKo espresso bar where they serve great breakfasts much better than Starbucks at the hotel :-))
Stayed here before and after our cruise. Hotel rooms are clean, spacious but the service at the hotel entrance needs to improve since it is a very busy hotel and there were very few doorman at the entrance to help guests with their luggage etc. Hotel restaurant is also good but pricey in comparison to what's nearby. The ONLY real downside of this hotel is the car parking. The daily parking fee is outrageous and was increased whilst we were staying at the hotel!! I've never parked with the hotel because of the parking charges.
TIP: If you will be parking your car for a few days, park it at the public car park opposite the hotel. Short stays, you can put a few dollars in the meter, long stays, don't put anything and take the risk of getting a ticket if a parking attendant turns up to check. Why? Cost of a parking fine is about $18.00, parking your car throughout the day $32-$35. so do the math ;-)

Room Tip: All rooms have good views but rooms on upper floors make a difference. Go for 20+
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Memmet,

Thank you for the detailed review. We are so glad that you stayed with us before and after your cruise trip. It truly is the perfect way to ramp up or wind down a cruise vacation. Indeed, the Starbucks is extremely convenient and a guest favorite. Thank you for sharing your concerns about our valet parking. Please know that our prices are comparable to other downtown price points and as you mentioned there are a variety of other options available nearby. On January 1, we changed our parking rates and we do apologize if this information was not properly relayed to you. We also thank you for the great comments about our clean guestrooms and fantastic views. Again, we will make sure to share your comments with our team and we sincerely hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently just stayed at the Intercontinental Miami from Jan 20-26 and it was an amazing vacation.

The rooms were beautiful, clean, and big ( I had a great view of the harbor and could see all the cruises coming in) the pool was beautiful the lobby was fun and vibrant.

The location was great! The metromover was across the street which took you to Mary Brickle Village, the trolly which would take you to see Wynnwood (Art Area) and South beach was 15 minutes away. There was also a nice outdoor shopping complex within walking distance where there was live music in the area daily.

During my stay I was on the club level and had access to the lounge. The lounge had snacks daily and was a nice environment, the staff was so welcoming and made you feel at home. They always asked how my day was and had ideas of places to see and things do! I cannot thank Florangel, Hector, Ingrid, Boris, Elvin and Aristides enough. You have a wonderful team which makes your lounge all the more better!

I would definitely recommend anybody to stay at this hotel, and I would also HIGHLY recommend staying on the club level.

One more quick mention.. The lovely lady Joey at the Toro Toro Bar she was such a sweetheart and Rodrigo in the lobby for always being helpful with directions and asking us daily if he can do anything for us :)

Thanks again for a wonderful week! Looking forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear jess0624,

Thank you for sharing your outstanding review. We are so ecstatic that we were able to provide you with a fantastic vacation while in Miami. We love reading reviews like yours and we will make sure to share them with our entire team; they will all be happy to know that they positively contributed to your trip. Indeed, our location is the best. We are located in the heart of downtown Miami and close to many of the area's best attractions and top dining and shopping. We love your recommendation about the Club InterContinental Lounge as it really is as fun and relaxing environment, a small luxury. We hope to be able to provide you with many more great vacations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wonderful location. Great for families. The staff so friendly and helpful. Only slight down side, even though the pool area is great it gets shady there quite early, but the pool is warm and the kids loved it. We had a great room over looking the harbor.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the harbor and watch the sun set and rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Lin B,

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your entire stay with us. Indeed, we love to treat all of our guests like family and we are glad that you noticed. We understand that the pool area gets shady quite early, but the sun is available for a large part of the morning hours. The views from our harbour facing guestrooms are magnificent. We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Carpets were quite dirty. Room quality is quite bad by Miami standards. Service just so so. They can be so much better. Felt quite uncomfortable. Definitely getting proper sleep is out of question. I would suggest Mandarin as a better option. The wardrobe is in the bathroom - that won't be helpful either.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear PS11,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are disappointed that your stay with us was less than perfect. Please know that we take our guest's comments seriously and have already addressed them with our entire team to ensure that these inconveniences do not occur again. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an outstanding InterContinental Miami stay. We encourage you to reach out to us prior to planning your next trip to Miami so that we can personally ensure that your needs are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.