We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

It is what you would expect a high end hotel to be. Prompt service, outstanding rooms, great view. This hotel is located next to the bayside park and marketplace. Great place to take a yoga class or browse the many shops and restaurants. If you have decided on a high end hotel, the location of this one can be the deciding factor. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jeffcreek,

Thank you for the great review and the recommendation. Also, thank you for the great comments about our prompt service, outstanding guestrooms and breathtaking views. Indeed, our location cannot be beat. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience all of Miami's treasures. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,888
    805
    238
    107
    57
See reviews for
660
888
153
748
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed for one night prior to a family cruise. $25 cab ride from the airport and very convenient to the port. Lobby is spacious with tons of seating. Check-in was easy and staff was courteous. Rooms were large but nothing special. Modernized but workmanship in construction was fair. Some tiles in bathroom looked worn and grout was a bit dirty. Buffet breakfast at Ole restaurant had a pretty good selection. Don't touch the in room fridge...lift something and get charged. Biggest peeves.....charge to hold luggage and no free wifi unless you are a privileged guest.....but go to the Starbucks in the hotel for password to free access!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Marmatij,

Thank you for sharing your overall review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed that it did not meet your all of your expectations. We will make sure to share the inconveniences you experienced with our team to ensure that these issues do not occur again. Again, thank you for the positive comments about our stress free check-in, courteous staff, comfortable guestrooms and delicious breakfast at Ole. At the moment, we do charge fees for access to the Internet and luggage handling, but we are continually reevaluating our standards for a better overall guest experience. We do offer complimentary Internet at Starbucks for guests and outside patrons that need to work or check up on their emails; this is granted upon purchase of a product as with all other Starbucks. We do hope that you will consider us on your next trip to Miami. We are sure that we will blow you away with a fantastic experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I just got here and was intently surprised by the size and the installations of the hotel. The service is very helpful and always ready to make you feel more comfortable. Very good position in Miami Downtown, very close to Bayside Mall.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Carigiesta,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad that we surprised you in a good way. Indeed, we are always on hand to provide our guests with the royal treatment and no request is ever too small or too large. We are glad that you also got to enjoy the surrounding neighborhood as we are located in the heart of downtown Miami. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG Brazil
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in the beginning of January 2014. The Hotel is located in a nice place, Chopin Plaza 100, by the Bayside and in front of the Miami Bay. Ask for a higher room floor with ocean view. Unfortunately you will be bothered by the bad service. There are few attendants during check-in, with a row of standing guests that moves slowly. Asking for fixing things at the room is very difficult and always useless. The reception desk is a shame for its inneficiency. The parking lot and valet service is very expensive. Parking daily rates are over US$40.00, considering the gratuities. The breakfast service, served as a buffet is also very expensive, US$36.00 per person plus 18% gratuity. I do not recommend staying at this hotel. The Marriot Courtyard Miami Downtown, three blocks away, where I stayed previously, is much better and service is excellent, besides the lower rates..

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room and with ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is a nice place by the pool with many trees and a track for running outside the property .
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear cinematics,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know that we take your comments seriously and have shared them with our team. We use our guests' comments to continually correct and enhance the overall guest stay. At the moment, we do charge a $39 fee for overnight valet, but it is comparable to other downtown price points and there are many other options available as well. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with another great experience and please reach out to us prior to the planning of your next trip to be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I am almost always apprehensive about traveling and staying in a hotel due to the many distubing stories I have herd. But this Hotel changed my mind about several things I loved it here, First off when I walked in the lobby was so clean and beautiful it was a plesant sight and Its convebiently located in downtown miami which gave me easy access to my buisness meetings . I also took advantage of their electricalbikes from wheels to go, the instructor Ray was so helpful and patient with me since it was my first time I was so nervous but he made me feel at ease and relaxed. I would recommend this Hotel and experiance to anyone , I look forward to comming back and taking a few more rounds on the electrical bikes .


Eve.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Evelyn J,

We are glad you took a chance and stayed with us. We are here to provide top notch experiences to all of our guests, no disturbing stories here. Thank you for the great comments about our beautiful and clean hotel. We are also glad that you took advantage of the electric bikes as they offer a one of a kind experience of our vibrant city. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Location, service, food, bar - it has it all. Just have a fundamental disagreement of any hotel that charges $15 to exercise, and wouldn't choose to stay there again due to that. They blame that another company owns the gym - that excuse is terrible.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear banjogo,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, but disappointed that the fee for access to the fitness center negatively impacted your entire experience. The $15 fee includes full access to the spa's amenities: steam/sauna, showers, locker rooms and relaxation lounge as well as the fitness center. Indeed, the spa and fitness center are separate from the hotel. We will make sure to share your comments with our entire team to ensure that future guest experiences are more seamless. We do hope that you change your mind about staying with us again on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had to stay a night in Miami returning from a business trip & i have to say this place was perfect in every way.

The rooms were well appointed good size, great amenities, comfortable beds & clean. (Good / strong wifi connection)

But i do have to give a special mention to the excellent service & the fantastic standards in the bar. I wish i had taken the bar managers name as he attention to detail along with his colleague Summer were amazing. We were blown away by fantastic cocktails that were made for us (individually to our tastes) & great bar food to match... as i said we were there on business but i will return for pleasure & recommend this hotel over & over again.

Thank you all at the Intercon Miami... what a knockout team.

Room Tip: Request higher floor for view
See more room tips
Green Features: Notes in hotel bathroom on towels is always a good indicator of good practices
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Chel1304,

Thank you for the knockout review. We are so glad that we were able to provide you with a fantastic Miami experience. We will make sure to share your great comments with our Toro Toro team. Indeed, the bar is outstanding, offering a unique and individual experience to all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.