We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel with a fantastic location with attractions nearby on foot and easy access to public transport, which is not always the case in the United States.

The cruise ships harbour is literally across the bay, which gives many possibilities for pre or post cruise activities in both Miami and Miami Beach.

We don't know if this is always the case or was it the combination of cruise season, the Orange Bowl and a Miami Heat vs. Toronto game all taking place over one weekend, but this was most definitely the busiest hotel lobby that we have ever seen anywhere. We were lucky that we arrived early on Friday and were surprised that they gave us our room a full six hours before yen announced check-in time (big bravo for that aspect alone). Later in the day there were long queues but processing seemed very smooth.

We did not make use of the dinning facilities, which seemed numerous, since we wanted to explore the city which literally begins the minute you step out of the hotel as you cross the Chopin Plaza to the Bayfront Park and from there to the Bayside Marketplace with all the fun going on there. Many attractions can be taken from that spot including the city and beach Hop-on Hop-off buses and boat rides.

One negative point is that there are 6 elevators to serve a 34 floor building with 641 guest rooms. The speed is ok under normal conditions but with the heavy load this weekend and that at least one elevator was under maintenance for a while resulted in long queues that once we were down in the lobby we decided it would be easier to go out than return to the room.

We will certainly stay here the next time we are in Miami

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Habjouqa,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Indeed, our location is fantastic. Located in the heart of downtown Miami, the hotel is located in close proximity to many of the area's top attractions and easy to navigate throughout the city. One of the perks to our location is that it is also nearby the Port of Miami and a stay at our hotel is a great way to ramp up or wind down any cruise vacation. We are glad that inconveniences you experienced did not negatively impact your stay and we will make sure to share them with our team. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    736
    220
    102
    53
See reviews for
587
790
143
730
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband had a spinning conference here so I came along for the trip. What a beautiful hotel. The rooms were very large compared to other hotels. The views are just gorgeous. Tip: get out by the pool by 9 am to get your chairs because they go fast.
I ordered food from the out side grill area and it was fresh and delicious.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Kbron2,

Wow, thank you for the beautiful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire stay with us and even more glad that you had the opportunity to travel over and enjoy a mini vacation with your husband. Indeed, the views from our guest rooms are fantastic. Thank you for sharing the tip about our pool area and we are also glad that you enjoyed the fresh food at Blue Water Restaurant. The restaurant offers light fare adjacent to the pool and overlooks Biscayne Bay. We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a large group of friends. The location was very good, couldn't be better, but that's where the pluses stop. I suggested this hotel, and most people in our group chose to stay here. We spent a lot of money here, but the service was really terrible. Our group consists of people who like to drink, and we are not afraid to spend money. I was told the director of operations would get back to me concerning my complaints. Well, it has been several weeks and this mgr. has yet to reach out to hear me about the bad experience that my guests experienced, and how disappointed I was with the way I was treated by the staff.
In the restaurant, Toro Toro, we had to get up every time we wanted our coffee, water, or bloody Mary's refilled. When we say at the bar, two different bartenders sat there with their backs to us, did not engage us in conversation, or refill our drinks. We had to get up and walk around the bar to get their attention.
This is a beautiful hotel with a great location, but if good service is important to you, do not, I repeat, do not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Disatisfied50,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We are extremely sorry that your experience with us was less than perfect. Please know that we take your comments seriously and have already addressed them with our staff to ensure that these incidents do not occur again. We would like for you to reach out to us directly in order to privately speak about the inconveniences you experienced while at our hotel. You may reach us at interconmiami@gmail.com with your contact information and we will promptly reach out to you. Again, we truly take your comments seriously. We do hope that you give us another opportunity to provide you with a signature InterContinental Miami experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

gorgeous harbor views , in the heart of down town , superb music in the lobby/entrance , excellent rooms , awesome breakfast , place full of international tourists! This is how I would summarize the hotel. If you stay here , do go for a morning run around the water loop , the views are gorgeous. The place can get crowded due to cruises so try avoid that!

Room Tip: ask for a harbor view room
See more room tips
Green Features: very environment friendly, our room had an air purifier.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Pgtravels_1,

Thank you for the vibrant review and the great comments about our gorgeous harbor views, superb music choice and delicious breakfast. We do host a large number of international travelers, but the hotel caters to travelers of all kinds. We offer something to do for everyone. Thank you for the recommendation about our jogging path; located on the Plaza Level it is a great hidden gem in the heart of downtown Miami. We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent five days here prior to a cruise booking two rooms both were classed as standard rooms.
Great location on the water front.Great for south beach and central to downtown miami.Beware parking what a rip off 36 dollars a day to park the car,valet parking only under hotel.
First impressions on hotel on entering was a very busy place catering for business and holiday people.
Rooms were good size and bathrooms excellent size with bath and separate shower cubicle.
We did not eat in the hotel at all,we ate down at the water front loads of choice.We also found a cracking italian restuarant and and fantastic one just across the road called chophouse "super food".
Beware eveything is chargeable in the hotel,the only free to use item was the outdoor pool.
Niggles- three different days we had to ring down to reception for toilet rolls to be sent up.
The shelves in our toilet had layers if dust on them on our last day my wife wrote please clean me in it.
I have to say for what this hotel cost would i say it had the wow factor definatly not.
There are plenty of hotels in miami where parking is not a additional charge.
Would i return to this hotel definatly not.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room,a water facing room would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear HOLIDAYMANBRISTOL,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that your stay with us was less than perfect. Please know that we take comments like yours seriously and have addressed them with our entire team to ensure that we are consistently surpassing our guests' expectations. We are, however, glad that you enjoyed the hotel's location. At the moment, we do charge a fee for valet parking. Please know that this is comparable to other downtown price points and alternate options are also available. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a signature InterContinental Miami experience that surpasses your expectations. Do not hesitate to reach out to us if there is anything else we can do to make any future trips to Miami more convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt,Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for the celebrity cruises christmas party. Food and service was good but front desk and ability to cater european needs such a european/us adapter was not available. Asked several times and got different answers but nothing happend.

No free wifi was a challange for me as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Steph0581,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are sincerely sorry that you experienced inconveniences during you stay with us. Please know that we take your comments seriously and have addressed them with our staff. We agree, a large part of our guests are European and we should have the products they require to be comfortable during their stay. We love providing that home away from home feeling. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nicely located. Great harbor views.huge rooms with blazing fast wifi. Trifle expensive but worth it. Super friendly staff. The breakfast was great. Valet parking on the property though a bit pricey at $34 a night offered great convenience

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear aumkamur,

Indeed, it is all about location. We are prominently situated in the heart of downtown Miami and close to many of the area's top attractions. Plus, all of the views from our guestrooms are unbeatable. Thank you for the comments about our friendly staff and delicious breakfast. We will make sure to share them with our team. At moment, we do charge a fee for valet parking, but as you mentioned, it is a convenient amenity. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.