We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and location for all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best service and location for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at InterContinental Miami for two nights with my family before heading to a cruise vacation before Christmas. I enjoyed everything at this beautiful hotel with the professional service and convenient location.
As a Gold Ambassador card member, I was treated with an upgrade room and better room location. All the food and drinks at the Club were excellent. My family enjoyed the service there and definitely will come back again.
Want a satisfied stay at Miami? Just choose InterContinental Miami !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear C Z,

Thank you for recommending our hotel. We are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations. Indeed, our Club InterContinental Lounge is an oasis within paradise, offering a comfortable and delicious escape to guests. Thank you for being a Gold Ambassador member. We are glad to know that you will be back and hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,500
    635
    199
    99
    50
See reviews for
504
676
129
662
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed again in this hotel from december 9th unitl December 13th. Number 13 was not an unlucky number because we had a great time in the intercontinental hotel. We had a great view over the harbour. We also used the lounge and again it was great. I want to mention especially Florangel Torres, Arristides and alwin. They gave us a great service. I am not good in names otherwise i would mention the other personell as well.

Also we want to mention Carlos Garcia from the restaurant.

In 2014 october 27th we will be in Miami again arriving with a cruiseship in Ft. lauderdale and we will probably stay again in this hotel.
The other reason is that you can easily go to other places because the busses, peoplemover are closeby.

Cornelis van Iersel and Adriana Bostjancic

Room Tip: A room with view over the harbour is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Kees v,

Wow, thank you for the fantastic review. We are so glad to have surpassed your expectations. The views from our guestrooms are phenomenal and we are glad that you enjoyed. The InterContinental Club Lounge is truly a gem and we will make sure to share your comments about the staff with our entire team. We love treating all of our guests like VIPs. We look forward to your return in October 2014. We encourage you to reach out to us prior to your trip in the case that there is anything that we can do to make your trip even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fantastic location in downtown, we stayed one night before our cruise the next day, and it was perfect for that. Very close to the port with a view of the ships in the distance. The room was very well appointed and extremely spacious.The breakfast buffet is fantastic and not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Katyayini,

Thank you for the fantastic review. Indeed, our hotel is ideal for pre-cruise and post-cruise travelers as we are located in close proximity to the Port of Miami. A one night stay at our hotel is a great way to amp up or wind down any trip. We are also glad that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet at Ole Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon and hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

As a royal platinum member of the Intercontinental Hotel, spending more that 80 days at this chain, I am always very impressed by the excellent service I get at the Miami, downtown branch.
Starting at the excellent service of the cleaning lady (Lucia), the very profesional attitude of the staff on the business floor on the 29th floor (esp. Flor Angel and Ingrid), the new manager of the pool restaurant (Carlos Garcia) and finaly Mark, the bell man who always make sure that I feel at home from home.
I highly recommend this hotel however unfortunately sometimes the place is too full with "short stay" cruise tourists who want to get everything out of their short holiday.
The new restaurant downstairs is definitely a major improvement compare to the old one!
The gym has good equipment however part of it does not function correctly and should be more often cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Dolph R,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to know about the inconveniences you experienced, but we are glad that it did not impact your overall stay. We will make sure to share all of your comments with our team as we strive to improve our overall guest experience. Thank you for the compliments on the new touches to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip across the pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I went to Miami for a conference for work and stayed at the hotel for about a week. I found the staff of the hotel very friend and the level of service was just about right. The hotel is right on the water and near a lot of restaurants, and about a 15 minute cab ride from South Beach. The internet at the hotel works great and the beds and quality of the rooms is high. Also, for a cheaper breakfast option there is a Starbucks located in the hotel.

My only real complaint is the only real parking for overnight where you don't have to worry about a timer is the hotel's valet parking and it is $36.00/night. There are some more public areas close by so you might want to investigate them if you are looking for a cheaper option. There is also a $15 fee to use the fitness room, which is excellent by the way, but they don't tell you it isn't per day so I wish I would have known that before hand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear P F,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Please know that we take your comments seriously and have addressed with our staff. Our valet parking prices are comparable to other downtown price points and a variety of different parking options are available nearby. We do also charge a fee for access to the fitness center. We will make sure to make this information more prominent and accessible in the future in order to best serve our guests. Thank you for the great comments about our comfortable guestrooms, fast internet and friendly service. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a top notch experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUITO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well located with plenty of nice restaurants around.
Lobby and rooms are very nice.
The service is also up there, in general the price well compensated by good infrastructure and service.
Breakfast is also well served.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear CAPEQUITO,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your entire experience with us. We will make sure to share your great comments with our entire team and we are sure they will be impressed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I chose this property due to our experiences at the Atlanta Buckhead location, but I was left feeling disappointed. The lobby is beautiful and location is definitely ideal, but that’s about it. Check-in took at least 20 minutes and that’s not including the wait in line. I overlooked the inconvenience, but couldn’t understand why it took so long. The one touch auto window shades and Keurig are a nice touch, but it does not match the room quality. The tub (which didn’t drain properly), desk chair, and carpet had multiple permanent stains. Three of four towels were visibility dirty (black marker stains?). I voiced my concerns and was hoping for a cleaner room, but was only offered maintenance and new towels. Valet was crazy due to a wedding, which was understandable and the reason why I tried to be courteous and call ahead to request my car. What was not understandable is the attendant insisting my car would be available in 10 mins and knowing it would take 20 mins or more. Being a PC member, I was really surprised as prefer I prefer IHG properties and understand that IC is at the top of their chain. Had I not prepaid I would have definitely stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Alexis N,

Thank you for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club program and leaving us a review. It is unfortunate that the quality of the room you were given did not meet your expectations and your check-in experience did not go smoothly. Please be advised that we will address this with our team to consider for improvements needed in our efforts.

We hope you can give us another opportunity to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.