We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs an upgrade!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“needs an upgrade!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

stayed one night at this hotel. Room was a bit tired, and bathroom needed an update. sink didnt work right, and only soap was bar soap. Worst thing about this hotel is the pool. it is placed by the water, but surrounded by buildings, so the sun is there for a few hours each morning only. Looking forward to a sunny time at pool yielded a cold, frustrating experience. Charging $15 for a less than great fitness center was also outrageous. Will look for another alternative next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear cmsknyny,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are disappointed to read that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Please know that we value your comments as a gift and that we have shared them with our entire team. The hotel's pool is located on our 5th floor Plaza Level, adjacent to our spa and best used in the morning hours. We understand your frustrations and we are continually evaluating our services to enhance them for the needs of our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a fantastic experience on your next trip to Miami. Do not hesitate to personally reach out to us for assistance on planning your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    698
    209
    100
    51
See reviews for
550
736
137
689
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Biscayne, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Arrived just in time for the press and celibs to be showing up at the Make-A-Wish event. Handling by everyone - valet, bellman, and front desk was efficient and prompt.
For us, quite tired, room service was prompt and reasonably priced. We had soup, salad and cuban sandwiches. Departure also handled well. Great view from an '01' room. Comfy bed, nice bathroom - just a very nice experience.
Will use for out-of-town guests!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear CharlesA,

Thank you for the outstanding comments on our service. We will make sure to share your review with our entire staff. We love providing top notch experiences to all of our guests. Indeed, our beds are among the comfiest in the city; we are glad you noticed. Thank you for the recommendation in advance and we look forward to providing many more great experiences for you and your future out-of-town guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Spent a week in this hotel. Very nice building and rooms. All the 5 stars services. Have not try breakfast or any restaurant because we are not so rich people and it is enough to walk outside to spend 3 times less. We will not come back for sure because Miami it's full of hotels less famous but also less expensive and more concern about money. Intercontinental charge every little things while all the other hotels don't. Its recommended only for those who does not care to pay much more then any other guests in Miami's hotel.

Room Tip: high floor rooms to have at least a nice view because around the hotel there all only buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear GabriellaC505,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are disappointed to know that your experience was not up to par. We understand your concerns and view them as a gift. We will make sure to share your comments with our entire staff. Please know that we continually survey our amenities and services. Again, thank you for sharing your review. We do sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the IntetContinental this past week for an event. Service was totally 5 star but the restaurant Tora Tora made the stay. Food was to die for and the bartender Alina made every day a new experience with her drink expertise. Tora Tora ! Ole!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Samuel L

Thank you for the delicious review. We are so glad that you had the opportunity to visit Toro Toro during your stay with us. Indeed, everything there is great from the service to the food. Did you know it's one of the hottest restaurants in downtown Miami? We will make sure to let Alina know that she provided an outstanding experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Miami. Salud y buen provecho!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Once again Eduardo Rosello took care of my reservation. Eduardo is the best concierge by far that I have ever met. I have travel all over the world and he is always very informative and hospitable. The hotel is amazing with all kinds of great amenities, the gym is amazing and the food at toro toro is great.


Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear samirrcanaan,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our Concierge Team. Indeed, the concierge holds the key to everything that's buzzing around town. We will make sure to share your review with them. Also, we thank you for the great comments about your stay; we are glad that you enjoyed your entire experience with us. We agree, our amenities are the extra step. We look forward to continue being your go-to hotel on future trips to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good hotel if you're traveling on business to Miami. The rooms are ample and comfortable and is in the middle of the business side of Miami. The services is also good, but if you're looking for a place for vacations or nightlife, I would recommend another place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Eduardo F,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Indeed, our guestrooms are spacious and comfortable, amongst the largest in the city. We also thank you for your comments about our service. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next to Miami, whether for business or leisure. Don't forget, we are always on hand to provide with the best information about the local area's attractions, whatever you may be in the mood for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newborn, Georgia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in a couple Intercontinental hotel's on the east coast, and all of them have been nice. The one in Miami is SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET. From the valet greeting you at the door to the constant marble finishes floor to ceiling.

They have (I think) three restaurants inside this hotel............plus a Starbucks. We didn't eat at any one of them because we wanted to explore the city a bit, but they looked real swanky. We did order room service. We had: Cheesecake; brownie a la mode; hot chocolate; and a Margareta pizza. All were very good. They used fresh basil on the pizza which was a nice touch----made the difference.

All of the staff was very very nice and very professional without being stuffy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear garlicclover101,

Welcome back to the InterContinental! Wow, we love reading reviews like yours. Any trip to Miami is always fun. Indeed, we have 3 restaurants at the hotel as well as a Starbucks and in-room dining. We hope that you have the opportunity to try our restaurants on your next visit. Thank you for all of the outstanding comments from the decor of the hotel to the service and the delicious food from our in-room dining kitchen. We will make sure to share your comments with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back soon and do not hesitate to reach out to us when booking your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.