We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in so many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great in so many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved everything about this property. The attentive and fast valet service. The friendliness of all the staff. The concierges were all helpful. The food in Toro Toro was very good. Beautiful setting for a pool on the 5th floor roof overlooking the bay. 6 elevators that we never waited for was a definite plus. The rooms were spacious and clean on the 23rd floor. Great bathroom and shower. Beautiful view with the very large window in the room. Excellent stay Aug 31st-Sept 3rd. Nathalie made it extra special for my wife and I. Thanks to all!!!

Room Tip: Bay/Harbor rooms up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    889
    264
    115
    66
See reviews for
727
967
166
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room and restaurant services at this hotel were great. Just don't get a manicure. Although the woman who took care of me was great, the products were not, and my nail polish completely chipped and peeled off the next day, and it wasn't cheap. That's too bad since I actually liked her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been living in Miami for the past 37 years. Most of the people who visit Miami to conduct business with us ask me for a waterfront property. Today I was invited by a business associate to have lunch at the InterContinental's Blue Water Restaurant, what a great place! Great view of the Port of Miami!

Food and service were impeccable and most importantly a quiet place where I could conduct a business conversation.

I had a Greek Salad, usually it is salty but not this one. It was a perfect balance of all ingredients, vinaigrette was also very tasty. We shared a pizza, crust just-right and toppings were of high quality. The business person I was with had a papaya and shrimp salad; although I did not taste it, it looked wonderful, shrimp appeared to be perfectly cooked.

Make sure you validate your valet ticket; $5.00 with validation stamp.

I will soon be back for lunch....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Yesterday evening, my date and i were looking for a place to have diner. I recall a friend saying something about a blue restaurant at Intercontinental, and so I took my chance. If it were the lottery, i'd be a very happy man right now, everything was great. The manager Carlos was talking with customers, even the chef, Philippe Vaval, was explaining his dishes to a couple of us, best way to really know what's going to taste good, and he sold it.... The blue water restaurant, chef philippe vaval and manager carlos in person did a great job accommodating our needs, explaining the menu and a good choice based on our taste, they were a great help, making sure we enjoyed our experience. These people know how to take care of customers and the food was amazing. I definitively will be back with friends and family for another amazing meal (and special occasions if they are this good again).
the friendly staff and not only the possibility to customize some items on demand, the availability of the chef, good job..... Chef Vaval and Manager Carlos you can count on me returning over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The views of Biscayne bay are stunning from just about every room facing the water. This is a very modern, sleek looking hotel from the moment you step into the lobby. Front desk staff are outstanding, Rodrigo was very helpful at check-in.

The blinds in the rooms are activated by switches by the side of the bed. They keep the room really dark even in the middle of the morning. The thermostat in my room ran about 5 degrees cooler that the displayed temperature, this took a little getting used to.

The food at our catered functions was excellent. The Intercontinental Miami will not disappoint you.

Room Tip: Ask for a bayside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently and would recommend this hotel. Location is very good, close to shopping and bars / and many restaurants. We were upgraded to a bat view by the nice girl on reception and stayed on the 21st floor. the views were superb. The pool area was really nice and although we never ate in the hotel at night we had lunch around the pool and found it to be good value. Valet parking was a bit high at $36 per day but local parking was limited so did not have much option. Rooms were very nice plenty of room and modern.

Room Tip: 21st floor with bay view was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our expectations for a four day get away were set high with the InterContinental. The lobby is generous and high-tech. The check-in service is very friendly. The room was on the 25th floor with view over the harbor. The view was great. The welcome fruit and water was nice. The beds are comfortable. They should use comforter covers instead of two flat sheets to cover the grayish looking down comforter.
Now to the bad: This hotel was renovated in 2012 (a year ago) and the shower has black mold on the tile and in the grout. There is no fan in the bathroom to vent the damp air. Dust has collected in many places. There was a hair pin on the bathroom floor that remained there for four days (so no cleaning of the tile floor). The cold water faucet produces luke warm water. The vanity look like a amateur carpenter put it together, rickety and poor. There was a live bug in one of the clothing drawers. The pad on the writing desk looks used and uncleaned. The chair looked old, tired and dirty.

Room Tip: Bay-view in above the 22nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Where2NextColorado,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

If there is anything you need or concern next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.