We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am staying at the Intercontinental right now for a business conference. I got to the hotel yesterday at 4:30 pm and was told my room wasn't ready. I had to sit around until 6:40 when they finally had my room ready. Then today after my long day of meetings I get back to my room and it didn't get cleaned. I asked the manager about it and he said you have to request room cleaning because some people don't like it. Anyway, I gave it one star because I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Travelninja23,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the level of service provided during your stay that did not meet your expectations. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    759
    222
    102
    55
See reviews for
607
833
149
740
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were going on a cruise and wanted to stay close to the port. My husband was flying in from the West Coast so we thought it best to come in the day before to avoid any complications. We chose the Intercontinental Miami because it was close to the port and close to the airport. Previously we have stayed near the airport prior to our cruise. The cost for our stay at this luxury hotel was actually less than our last pre-cruise stay at a motel near the airport. It was also a nice touch to receive an email from the concierge team prior to our arrival with an offer of assistance.
The hotel is beautifully situated on the bay and is adjacent to a large park. On the other side of the park are multiple options for shopping and dining. Key advantage is that the hotel is less than ten minutes by cab to the port. It was a bit crowded when arriving by cab, but the bell staff was very attentive and prompt in retrieving our baggage. The lobby is huge, airy and light. Check-in was a breeze. Special kudos to Leticia at the front desk. She was pleasant, efficient, and addressed me by name. The room was very nicely designed with upscale furniture, amenities, and a large flat screen television. The pool and walking path areas were lovely and well maintained. The pool had multiple loungers and lounger service. This is a great place for a quick snack at the Blue Water Restaurant. We chose to have drinks and snacks brought to our loungers. The only downside with the pool and walking trail is that there is what appeared to be a condo community next to the pool. I sometimes felt like I was in a fish bowl. We ate in Toro Toro for dinner. Wonderful service by Isa(bella) from Venezuela. The food was excellent. We were surprised that on a Friday night, the restaurant was not crowded. The bar area appeared to be the “to go” spot for local business people. It was very crowded and noisy. To be expected for a bar. The bar service was a tad slow, but understandable for a Friday night. We saw couples, business people and families. Unlike other places where we have stayed, there was no conflict between these groups. We would definitely stay at the Intercontinental Miami again.

Room Tip: Ask fo Leticia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Joya D,

Thank you for the excellent and detailed review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire stay with us and that you had the opportunity to experience Toro Toro Restaurant & Bar. We agree, Toro Toro Bar is one of downtown Miami's hot spots. A one night stay at our hotel is a great way to kick off or wind down any cruise vacation and we are ecstatic that you share the same philosophy. Our hotel is located in prime location, in close proximity to many of the area's top attractions and outlets. We look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami. We also hope that you will extend your stay with us next time to fully indulge in all of the amenities our hotel has to offer. Do not hesitate to reach out to us in order to make all future vacations to Miami exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to many restaurants and the Biscayne Bay market area. The rooms were big and clean. There was no free internet access anywhere in the hotel. Access was available for 11.95 for 24 hour time period. As well the in-suite fridge was packed full. If you brought in your own beverages and moved anything in the fridge it would automatically come up as a charge to your room. I was there for a conference and within a one or two block walking distance you could stay at the Mariott or another major hotel for significantly less per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel was good, offers happy hour daily. One option for parking valet. if at a conference be patience the elevators can be a long wait. The bay center next door is great, food and dancing and walking distance to the American Airlines arena.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business. It's right next to Biscayne Bay and near a lot of restaurants, shops and even the AA Arena (home of the Miami Heat). The rooms are big and comfortable, with a big closet, good amenities and HD TV. The staff is very nice and helpfull (surprisingly they allowed us to leave some boxes with printed material until our next visit).

The restaurant in the lobby, Toro Toro is a nice steakhouse with latin influences. There is also a Starbucks right in the lobby, allowing to avoid the quite expensive hotel breakfast.

Would definately stay again.

Finally, my best recommendation would be to try Wolfgang's Steakhouse, right beside the hotel. An excellent New York style steakhouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california's South Bay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I were leaving from Miami on a cruise and were looking for for a close-to-the-port hotel for a couple of nights. Not only is the Intercontinental close to the port, it is a short ride from the airport, close to numerous restaurants, and located right on Biscayne Bay. (The lobby reception area has a mega big screen tv showing the action on the beach.) Reception staff was very pleasant, as were all other staff with whom we interfaced. The room was generously sized and very comfortable - nice touch was the bedside remote control for the window coverings. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a Toto toilet and a 2-headed massaging shower head; bathroom amenities even included toothbrushes. There is a good on-site restaurant (Toro Toro) which is a Latin steakhouse. Good food; also tapas style starters for sharing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights before a cruise. The hotel was posh and the service was excellent. We enjoyed the area around it, there was an outdoor mall within walking distance and plenty of restaurants. We got a complimentary upgrade upon checkin to a water view room. We could see the port from the massive window. The room was large and the bathroom was nearly the size of our room on the cruise. Overall, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.