We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to have found parking alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Glad to have found parking alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Family of 4. Stayed there for 3 nights from April 27. Got the room from Hotwire so price was very good. Paid $36 for valet parking the first night but found a cheap lot the next day by the Bayside Market (5 to 10 minutes walk from hotel) for only $10 for 24 hours. The second night was only $5 which is their normal weekday price. The lot is called Bayside Lot 55 which is between the market and the mariner. Prepayment is required and there is no in and out privilege.
There is also a parking lot right in front of the hotel at $2 an hour but you can only park there for a maximum of 5 hours.
Location of hotel is good as there is a park right in front and the Metromover station is only half a block away. McDonalds and 7-Eleven are also within 2 or 3 blocks.
Beds were comfortable; bathroom is big although it is odd to see the closet inside the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Rick L,

Thank you for the detailed review. Overnight valet parking is $36, but as you mentioned, there is alternate parking at varying price points in the surrounding area. Thank you for the compliments on our appropriately appointed guestrooms and luxe amenities. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to our vibrant city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,243
    987
    288
    118
    69
See reviews for
821
1,056
179
891
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The stay at the InterContinental-Miami Hotel was a great wonderful experience and a super super awesome birthday gift for my wife. She and the family enjoyed the stay. We will like to thank Mr. Rosello Chief Concierge for the excellent service in expediting the reservation for our stay at the Intercontinental. This hotel has professional staff and service. Highly recommend... On behalf of myself and family.

Room Tip: The views from the suite are breath takeing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear anibal c,

Thank you for the excellent comments. Happy belated birthday! We are so thrilled that you spent one of life's memorable moments with us and even more ecstatic that we provided a wonderful experience. Indeed, Rosello is one of our star team members, always on hand to provide a great InterContinental experience. Again, we thank you for your great remarks; we value them as a gift. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again. We encourage you to reach out to us personally on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed the night before our cruise and the staff was wonderful. When we checked in Yessica took great care of us and upgraded our room when we told her it was our anniversary. Nice little park outside the hotel with a short walk to restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear jenniferjmoats,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire pre-cruise stay with us. It truly is the perfect way to kick off any vacation. We will make sure to let our entire staff know that they contributed to a memorable experience. We are glad to know that you will return and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is well-located near Brickell Key and the AA Arena--where the Heat play-- and many other attractions, restaurants, shopping and just a short ride to the causeway to Miami Beach. The lobby is large and ultra modern with an active bar and restaurant. Our room was large and well-furnished; bathroom shower had two massage water heads and the closet was conveniently located in the bathroom area. Great views from the 25th floor. There were plenty of staff members around the hotel to help with directions to locations or to answer questions. Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear RichardLBrown,

Wow, thank you for the fantastic review. We love reading comments like yours, from the prime location to the comfortable guestrooms and friendly staff. We love treating all of our guests like VIPs and we are especially glad that you noticed. Indeed, the views from our guestrooms are amazing. It is so easy to waste the day watching the views from our panoramic guestroom windows. We will make sure to let our entire staff know that they contributed to a memorable stay. We hope that you will be back soon and look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I cannot rave highly enough about this hotel. This year I have stayed at IC's in NYC/Boston/Melbourn/Sydney/Singapore and Jakarta and, with the exception of the other (terrible) IC Doral in Miami they have all been knock out.

This property also takes some beating. From a great welcome at check in, one signature, key card and then room (unlike the torture of checking into the Doral IC.) And what a room. Incredible. Superb view, lots of really nice touches....oh so comfortable bed and a bathroom to die for.

I got the room upgrade with my Royal Ambassador status and boy does that influence my choice of hotel. And, so far this year, it has worked at all bar one IC properties.

The room has a great gym and also a great Club lounge. I was staying for a conference and the service there was excellent too.

Other conference goers seemed to be having the same experience as I was. So, if downtown Miami is a convenient location then I can't recommend this property highly enough (and avoid the other IC in Miami/Doral!!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Frequent Traveller from Scotland,

Thank you for the superb review. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed a great stay and a great conference at our hotel. We thank you for all of the high compliments fro the comfortable and plush hotel guestrooms and bathrooms to the stellar service and star-worthy Club InterContinental Lounge. We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our amenities. We strive to provide the very best in the meetings and events services sector and we are glad that you noticed. We look forward to being your choice hotel in Miami for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night before boarding a cruise. This hotel has been recently renovated and had a great funky atmosphere. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms were fully renovated and were huge. We found a great little restaurant just down the road (opposite Walgreens) to have dinner and we had breakfast in south beach which was only a short drive away. The rate of this hotel was exceptionally priced and great value for money vs other hotels in the area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear LozHill,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay with us. Indeed, our hotel is the preferred hotel for kicking off or winding down any vacation. Thank you for the compliments on the new and modern look to our hotel. Indeed, our guestrooms were completely renovated and are comfortable, large and plush. Our location is great, located in the heart of downtown Miami, we are close to many of the area's top attractions and still only a short drive away from Miami Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Miami and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Intercontinental five nights in April. She was there on a business trip I tagged along for, so fortunately I didn't pay anything to stay here.

Pros:
- There's a park right outside the front door (would be great if you're here with kids)
- Nice views of the water
- Pool area small but nice, and clean
- Right across the street from a Metro Mover stop
- Beds were comfortable
- A block away from a CVS/two blocks from Walgreens
- 5-minute walk to Bayside Marketplace (a touristy indoor/outdoor mall)
- Room was clean

Cons:
- The downtown area seems to consist mainly of large condo buildings, so it wasn't like a typical downtown area where there's a lot to do.
- Door slammed. All night long you would hear doors slamming.
- The elevators. I believe there were six, but there always seemed to be large crowds waiting for an elevator, and then you'd stop at what seemed like every floor. I think it'd help if certain elevators were dedicated to the higher floors only.
- Valet parking only. I know this is common in hotels like this, but still, ugh.
- Internet access. There were two options, one for a very slow connection and one for a higher speed connection. Both were overpriced.
- Bathtub had a musty smell.

Seemed like a great place to stay for people boarding cruises, as that's very close by. Took about 10-15 minutes to drive to South Beach. Very hard to find parking in South Beach. Our first night there the mini bar guy stopped by to check on things, which we found strange. He was very friendly and only there about five minutes.

We ate at Toro Toro one evening. I liked the food; my sister didn't. I'm a vegetarian and the waiter was also, so he was very helpful. They don't have a separate vegetarian menu, but he did let me know which plates didn't have meat/fish. Overall, it was okay. Nothing to write home about. I wouldn't stay here if I was the one paying, unless I got a good discounted rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear bdyl2133,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Sofitel Miami
#36 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,933 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.