We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is a proper business hotel providing easy access to the downtown Miami area. The hotel is away from the beach and the party scene in Miami which also means that the surroundings are calm and quiet at night. It overlooks the bay and offers good views of the docks. The promenade right beside the hotel offers a peaceful place to sit by the water reading a book or just taking a stroll.

Rooms are clean and spacious. They offer most amenities that you would require. Sleep quality is good with a comfortable bed and quiet surroundings. Food is decent but if you end up staying longer it starts tasting just the same. Service could have been better with the staff at the concierge being slow and not willing to go out of the way to help out. The hotel has a good bar in the lobby and is a good place to hang out after work. The hotel is walking distance from the AA arena so if you are planning to catch a game, it could be a good option. The concierge could help you out with the tickets.

Would want to try out something closer to the beach next time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guamit,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We are glad that you had the opportunity to stay at our hotel for a conference. Indeed, the location is great, in the heart of downtown Miami. It offers an oasis within paradise, but still close to many of the area's top attractions. We are so thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy the vibrant city of Miami. We will make sure to share your all of your comments with our staff in order to improve the overall guest experience. We hope that you will choose us again on your next trip to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,500
    633
    198
    99
    50
See reviews for
500
675
129
661
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel pretty early and our room was ready! the room was spacious, comfortable and with a great view! it was my friend's birthday and we received a birthday cake and champagne! Very nice touch.. very delicious food at the restaurant toro toro and at the room service! The order taker was really friendly and the fried rice is my favorite! the sangria at the bar pool is the best I had in a very long time! The hotel is gorgeous modern and very clean! The concierge as well as the front desk were helpful and efficient. The club lounge servers are really nice and offer nice breakfast. Very nice location! Perfect for business as well as family or friends trip! Will definitely be back! THANKS

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Rockaway, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

we checked in late but got upgraded to the suite. very nice 2 br suite. everything nicely laid out. nice bar downstairs with very friendly bartenders. all the staff was really very nice. especially this guy at the front desk named batman (or something like that). he was super nice, courteus, and even came over to say hi on his break when we were chilling in the lounge/lobby.
parking is pricey and almost impossible to find on your own in that area.
rooms were nice, pool ain't that big,
i would def stay there next time in town

Room Tip: just ask for a nicer room. if they can help you and make your trip nicer, they prob will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I am a frequent IC guest and this was the first time in this property.
They upgraded me to a suite, which was nice, with a great view.
The room was very good, clean spacious and well equipped with full minibar, two bathrooms, electric blackout and two HD TV.
I have not used the Internet but the hotel advertise ultra high speed, so it should be good

Location is perfect, right by the Bayside who thin walking distance for many dining options.

My only comment is about the people and the lobby, although they try to be nice (and the girls at the front desk are super nice) the atmosphere is a little cold, but very well designed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I recently came to Miami for a quick getaway and found the Intercontinental Miami to be such a gem!! The lobby is so polished and modern looking and the bar is absolutely gorgeous. Our check-in agent, Amber, was equally as polished as she was friendly...giving us all of the information about the hotel and surrounding areas, and even gave us a free upgrade! The view from our room was stunning, you could see all of Miami Beach, and the best part, the cruise ships at the Port of Miami!! We are taking a cruise at the end of the year so we will most definitely be back!! Love love love!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My daughter and I went to the Hotel Intercontinental in Downtown Miami recently for lunch. We dined at the Blue Water Cafe where the view, food and location was wonderful. We had the opportunity to meet Chef Alexander Feher which was very nice as well. Not only was the dining experience great but the hotel as a whole is great as well. The Chief Concierge Eduardo Rosello is very insightful of where to go and what to do to make the most of your time in Miami. My overall experience was great and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My first visit and I am indeed impressed by the vistas, interactive spaces and courteous staff.
A home away from home !! A customer service agent, Kerry, was extremely helpful in sorting out my wireless issues and very generous with information

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.