We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first time experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent first time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Booked the Intercontinental via Priceline as a hotel to stay right before our cruise out of Miami. Fantastic location for those leaving on cruises. Exceptional service from Claudia at front desk, who happily fulfilled my request for a cruise pier facing room to watch the ships come in during the morning. Will stay here again next time we sail out of Miami.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Jason C,

Thanks for sharing your remarks. Indeed, our hotel is great for pre-cruise stays as we are located in close proximity to the Port of Miami. You can even see the cruise ships heading into the port from your guestroom windows. We will make sure to let Claudia know that she contributed to a great start to your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation to Miami. Do not hesitate to contact us to let us know how we can make your upcoming trip more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    761
    222
    102
    55
See reviews for
607
833
150
741
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Second time I stay here because I had a good experience once. Valet parking guy Lester smelled like my weed addict patients, that's why i was concern by him driving my car, Other than that everything was great even if it was for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Alejandragar,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that your experience was so great the first time around that you repeated your stay. We thank you for sharing your concerns about a member of the valet staff. Please know that we take guest comments seriously and that this has been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, no matter how long the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel to stay in Miami ,very great staff,special thanks to Myslande saintable ,Liz Carolina and Neptune to make this stay memorable and great,me and my wife are on our honey moon stay and I requested them to give me great outside view room,the staff did free upgrade for us to great room plus gave us bottle of wine cake and complimentary breakfast free for our trip,they are great very helpful understanding and overwhelming ......thanks will always stay here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear jaan5555,

Thank you for the great comments! Congratulations on your recent matrimony. We are so pleased that you spent one of life's memorable moments with us. We are even more excited that we were able to provide an exceptional experience. No request is too large. We will make sure to share your comments with our entire staff as we are sure that they will be pleasantly received. We look forward to providing many more one of a kind experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I just spent five nights at the Intercontinental. The grounds are very nice (the pool is absolutely beautiful) and the staff members are friendly. We had a few issues with our room that were not resolved by calling the front desk (several times), but once we spoke with a manager, things were resolved immediately. Carlos (manager) was very friendly, attentive and helpful when we brought our concerns to him. If it were not for him, I would probably be leaving a different review.
Parking is very, very expensive (36.00 a day), so avoid bringing a car, if you can!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Allisunshine,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that the inconveniences you experienced were resolved in a timely manner. Indeed, Carlos is a spectacular part of our team, always on hand to provide exceptional service. At our hotel, no request is too large or inconvenient. Thank you for the great comments about our beautiful property. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night prior to our cruise. But it was a great stay! We were upgraded to an ocean view room at no cost when I asked if they had any available. They first told me it was extra, when I passed she just gave it to me. The staff were all friendly and helpful.We booked through an travel website and got a decent reduced rate. If I had to pay full price we probably would have stayed at a cheaper hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful, and there is also a Starbucks in it

The room was spotless. The best was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge! If we needed to stay for multiple days the absurd cost for internet rental (around $18 per day for internet - $100 for 5 days of internet, really?) would have annoying but only staying for 1 night we didn't need any internet. We didn't have a car but the cost of parking is also quite high, but that is to be expected in any major city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel, but disappointed that you experienced some inconveniences. Indeed, cleanliness is one of our top priorities and our guestrooms are spotless. Additionally, our guestrooms are among the largest and comfiest in the city. At the moment, we do charge a fee for Internet access, but it is available at two price points and connectivity speeds. We thank you for your comments and please know that we have shared them with our staff in an effort to improve the overall guest experience. Overnight valet parking is $36/night, but it is comparable to other downtown price points and alternate parking options are available in the area. We hope that you will consider us again on your next trip to Miami, whether for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is smack dab in Miami, on the water. The rooms are a decent size, but the bathroom is very large (perhaps unnecessarily so). Cleanliness is definitely not in question and the hotel is very modern. The restaurant Toro Toro, was just okay, but we didn't order steak and it's an upscale steakhouse. The major downside to the InterContinental, Miami is the nickel and diming. The Internet has 2 plans which are unrealistically expensive. Also the gym is not free either, it was $15.00 per day. So all in all, it's a nice, clean hotel with location, but also inconveniences.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Colby S,

Thank you for your review and the great comments about our guestrooms and cleanliness, but we are disappointed to know that your overall stay did not meet your expectations. At the moment, we do charge a fee for access to the Internet and fitness facilities, but we are continually re-evaluating our policies to better the overall guest experience. Please know that we will share your comments with our staff. We are also disappointed that Toro Toro was not up to your liking. The menu is diverse and offers an ample selection of small plates, unlike a traditional steakhouse. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a seamless stay on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had the great pleasure of returning to a beautiful city and staying at a wonderful hotel! The Miami Intercontinental Hotel has been my hotel of choice for the last year. I have stayed in numerous high end hotels in Miami and around the world and there is just a certain thing about The Intercontinental that makes me come back. The Staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the city and main attractions. Food is great the bar has a plethora of people from around the world its a diversified travel experience when I go to the Intercontinental. I have become familiar with the management they are always treating me with great care. One of my favorite amenities and lets not forget some people take this for granted, is the bed sheets. I have stayed in far to many high end hotels boasting that they have the best sheets or linens. This is false. I believe for the price and view location and overall experience The Intercontineal is ideal!. I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: East side of the building is the best view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear AustinB397,

Thank you for the great review. We are ecstatic to know that you are a frequent guest as we love being a second home to travelers of all kinds. Thank you for the compliments on our friendly and knowledgeable staff. It's the little details that make the difference and we are always on hand to provide guests with whatever they may need- no request is too grand or complex. We are glad that you had the opportunity to visit Toro Toro. It truly is a gem in the heart of downtown Miami. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.