We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little trouble at first, but ended well!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little trouble at first, but ended well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I just spent five nights at the Intercontinental. The grounds are very nice (the pool is absolutely beautiful) and the staff members are friendly. We had a few issues with our room that were not resolved by calling the front desk (several times), but once we spoke with a manager, things were resolved immediately. Carlos (manager) was very friendly, attentive and helpful when we brought our concerns to him. If it were not for him, I would probably be leaving a different review.
Parking is very, very expensive (36.00 a day), so avoid bringing a car, if you can!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Allisunshine,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that the inconveniences you experienced were resolved in a timely manner. Indeed, Carlos is a spectacular part of our team, always on hand to provide exceptional service. At our hotel, no request is too large or inconvenient. Thank you for the great comments about our beautiful property. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    698
    209
    100
    51
See reviews for
550
736
137
689
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night prior to our cruise. But it was a great stay! We were upgraded to an ocean view room at no cost when I asked if they had any available. They first told me it was extra, when I passed she just gave it to me. The staff were all friendly and helpful.We booked through an travel website and got a decent reduced rate. If I had to pay full price we probably would have stayed at a cheaper hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful, and there is also a Starbucks in it

The room was spotless. The best was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge! If we needed to stay for multiple days the absurd cost for internet rental (around $18 per day for internet - $100 for 5 days of internet, really?) would have annoying but only staying for 1 night we didn't need any internet. We didn't have a car but the cost of parking is also quite high, but that is to be expected in any major city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel, but disappointed that you experienced some inconveniences. Indeed, cleanliness is one of our top priorities and our guestrooms are spotless. Additionally, our guestrooms are among the largest and comfiest in the city. At the moment, we do charge a fee for Internet access, but it is available at two price points and connectivity speeds. We thank you for your comments and please know that we have shared them with our staff in an effort to improve the overall guest experience. Overnight valet parking is $36/night, but it is comparable to other downtown price points and alternate parking options are available in the area. We hope that you will consider us again on your next trip to Miami, whether for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is smack dab in Miami, on the water. The rooms are a decent size, but the bathroom is very large (perhaps unnecessarily so). Cleanliness is definitely not in question and the hotel is very modern. The restaurant Toro Toro, was just okay, but we didn't order steak and it's an upscale steakhouse. The major downside to the InterContinental, Miami is the nickel and diming. The Internet has 2 plans which are unrealistically expensive. Also the gym is not free either, it was $15.00 per day. So all in all, it's a nice, clean hotel with location, but also inconveniences.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Colby S,

Thank you for your review and the great comments about our guestrooms and cleanliness, but we are disappointed to know that your overall stay did not meet your expectations. At the moment, we do charge a fee for access to the Internet and fitness facilities, but we are continually re-evaluating our policies to better the overall guest experience. Please know that we will share your comments with our staff. We are also disappointed that Toro Toro was not up to your liking. The menu is diverse and offers an ample selection of small plates, unlike a traditional steakhouse. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a seamless stay on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had the great pleasure of returning to a beautiful city and staying at a wonderful hotel! The Miami Intercontinental Hotel has been my hotel of choice for the last year. I have stayed in numerous high end hotels in Miami and around the world and there is just a certain thing about The Intercontinental that makes me come back. The Staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the city and main attractions. Food is great the bar has a plethora of people from around the world its a diversified travel experience when I go to the Intercontinental. I have become familiar with the management they are always treating me with great care. One of my favorite amenities and lets not forget some people take this for granted, is the bed sheets. I have stayed in far to many high end hotels boasting that they have the best sheets or linens. This is false. I believe for the price and view location and overall experience The Intercontineal is ideal!. I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: East side of the building is the best view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear AustinB397,

Thank you for the great review. We are ecstatic to know that you are a frequent guest as we love being a second home to travelers of all kinds. Thank you for the compliments on our friendly and knowledgeable staff. It's the little details that make the difference and we are always on hand to provide guests with whatever they may need- no request is too grand or complex. We are glad that you had the opportunity to visit Toro Toro. It truly is a gem in the heart of downtown Miami. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved our one week stay at the Intercontinental Miami. I traveled with my boyfriend and we only have compliments about it.
We were surprised with a beautiful room, clean and cozy. The view of the Bay is amazing! You can appreciate the city from your room!
The service exceeded our expectations in all aspects. We were impressed with the good service and friendliness of the staff. We wanted to say a special thanks to Rose, our room attendant, who maintained our room always nice and clean. Killy and the staff from the Club were also great, the breakfast and happy hour were wonderful. The bellman Henroy with his contagious smile and happiness daily. And we cannot forget the great service from Giovani and the Valet team.
The lobby has a Starbucks Coffee which we love!
The location is also great. You can go walking to Bayside Marketplace, American Airlines Arena and other places in Downtown Miami. South Beach is just 10 minute car-ride.
We strongly recommend and will definitely be back to his hotel on our next visit to Miami.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Veridiana P,

Thank you for outstanding review. We love reading comments like and even more thrilled that you enjoyed your entire experience with us. Indeed, our rooms are comfortable and clean and the views are amazing. Thank you for the compliments on our friendly staff. We love pampering our guests and we are glad that you noticed. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to visit our Club InterContinental Lounge, it truly is a gem in the heart of downtown Miami. We will make sure to let the entire staff know that they contributed to a memorable experience. We are glad to know that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please let us know if there is anything we could do to make your future stay that much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We picked this hotel to be close to our cruise departure and were very pleased with the hotel. The location is great with good restaurants within a mile. The hotel is beautiful and the service fantastic. The pool is beautiful and relaxing. The spa treatment was of good quality. I'd stay there again even if I wasn't cruising.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the water, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear VrmtTraveler,

Thank you for the ecstatic review. We are so glad that you chose us for your pre-cruise stay. It truly is the best hotel as it is located on Biscayne Bay in close proximity to the Port of Miami. In our opinion, a one-night stay at our hotel is the best way to kick off or wind down any vacation. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to lounge by our pool and visit mySpa as they are both equally relaxing and lush. We look forward to welcoming you for another great trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very nice stay at Intercontinental Miami.
Here for business and quality of service was brought to a higher level by Myslande who made things easier providing valuable help with logistics!
Thanks also to Angelo for his patience!
Outstanding service by all the team!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear sjpj1677,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire stay at the InterContinental Miami. Top notch service is our #1 priority and we are glad to have surpassed your expectations. We will make sure to share your positive comments with Myslande and Angelo. We look forward to providing another fantastic experience at our hotel and in our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.