We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But OverPriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice But OverPriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip 4/22/13 - 4/25/13 at a rate of $335 a night. My main complaint is that this price, over $1200 with taxes, did not include $36 a day for parking and $18 a day for internet access. It also did not include access to the fitness center, not sure of the cost. There is an automated mini-bar with outrageous prices, $4 for a 12oz can of coke for instance.

However, the hotel is located right on the water with great views. Walking distance to downtown, shopping, food, and the Arena. The staff was great, the room was very clean but not spectacular from a comfort level.

I had dinner at the Toro Toro and it was good but again over priced. The pastry biscuits they serve are fantastic, the ribeye and fried rice were both good, but my steak was more medium than mid-rare.

If I was paying my own money I would not stay at this hotel again. You can stay at the Marriot that is litterly a stones throw away for $125, get free parking, internet and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear sliverhides,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed that it did not meet your overall expectations. Please know that we take comments like yours seriously and that we have shared them with our entire staff. At the moment, we do charge a fee for access to the fitness center as well as the Internet, but it is available at two price points and connectivity speeds. Overnight valet parking is $36/night, but it is comparable to other downtown price points and a variety of options are available nearby as well. Thank you for the compliments on the food at Toro Toro, it is one of downtown Miami's newest hot spots. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great InterContinental experience on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    911
    266
    116
    66
See reviews for
741
990
170
845
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

i don't usually enjoy the big pretentious hotels but would have to say that this hotel was really lovely. We got a great last minute deal on Hotwire after having to move from a previous hotel that was miles from anywhere and were pleasantly surprised with the friendly staff and overall ambience of the place.

The room was as to be expected, very well appointed, clean and modern. Pool area was lovely but not a lot of sun hit the area during the day and meals at the poolside cafe finish at a really early hour...couldn't quite understand this at all?? Tapas in the lobby restaurant were a little pricey but tasty.

Overall, a very pleasant stay at a genuine 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear AussieTravellers264,

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience at the InterContinental Miami and even more thrilled that we were able to surpass your expectations. Indeed, a top notch guest experience is our #1 priority. Again, we thank you for the lovely compliments on our friendly staff and ambiance. Please know that the hours at Blue Water Restaurant have been extended and now even include a fantastic happy hour. Be sure to visit it again on your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Admittedly, we are Starwood devotees. So getting us to try a property not in the Starwood family is a little hard. But when looking for hotels in Miami to stay at the night before our cruise, the only Starwood hotels were in South Beach or further north. So we went with the InterContinental based upon recommendations and its close location to the port. Upon arrival, we were very happy by the hip vibe of the hotel, reminiscent of W Hotels, which is what we are used to. The bell staff was eager to greet us and assist us with our huge pieces of luggage. Yes, the front desk staff were a little standoffish, but efficient. This is beautiful property, with relaxing mood lighting, techno music and large rooms. It was all very W Hotel / Virgin America, and we really appreciated the attempts to make this property "the" place to hang out in the city. We couldn't have asked for more comfortable rooms - okay, maybe more comfy pillows - but, overall, the layout and amenities were more than we expected. Room service was delivered by a friendly server and the food was really tasty. For lunch on Day 2, we went to Toro Toro, the hotel's lobby dining venue. It is a beautifully designed space, showcasing Latin American cuisine. Alright, so we weren't too crazy about the menu (nothing really sounded appetizing) and the actual food was mediocre. But food is so subjective, I really can't ding the hotel for this. The only really sour spot was the rude concierge, who oddly acted annoyed and bothered that I asked for directions to the hotel's gym - maybe because there wasn't a tip or commission in it for him. But I was really taken aback by his bad attitude due to a simple request. Check out at the front desk took awhile, but the friendly bell staff whisked our bags to our waiting car. I will be back in Miami later this year for another cruise, and will definitely be booking again with this great, sophisticated property. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Michael_SD,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Welcome to the InterContinental Hotels Group family! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and even more thrilled to know that you will return on your next trip to Miami. Thank you for all of the compliments on the modern updates to our hotel; we recently completed a $30 million renovation and the upgrades are extremely cool. Our #1 priority is to provide a modern and techie ambiance with top notch service. We are disappointed to know that the front desk staff and concierge were not up to par. We will make sure to address these inconveniences with the respective departments. Thankfully, we are glad to read that the bell staff was attentive, efficient and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back later this year. We highly suggest extending your trip a few days, as any stay at our hotel is a great way to kick off or wind down a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here 4/12/13 for one night before our cruise. Booked three rooms for my group. Everyone was impressed as soon we pulled up to the hotel. Hotel was very clean, staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived around noon and was able to check in and go straight to our rooms. Our room was very comfortable. Hotel is located in a great location. We were able to walk to the Bayside Market Place about ten minutes away, that has many places to eat and shop. Also close to the cruise port which we could see from the hotel, five minute cab ride. I like staying here because the hotel was with walking distance of everything, plus South Beach was only ten minutes away. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Priority Club and you will stay on a club floor. Corner rooms towards the bay have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear prgriffin9,

Wow, we love reading reviews like yours. We are so glad to have surpassed your expectations. Indeed, our hotel is located in a great location. Located in the heart of downtown Miami, it is easy to visit many of the area's top attractions by simply walking there. Bayside Marketplace is a favorite place to visit. And it is the ideal spot for cruise travelers as the Port of Miami is also located nearby. Thank you for the compliments on our comfortable guestrooms. They are among the largest in the city and the beds are so plush. We look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My huaband and I had a great stay at The Intercontinental Miami Hotel. I was told they had a major renovation and it is beautiful. The staff was really nice and accommodating to us. The outside bar has great mojitos. The room was clean and we had a great view of the intercostal water. I will definately stay here again and recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear JamaicanChica22,

Thank you for the great review and the compliments on the new touches to the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire experience at the InterContinental Miami. Indeed, the mojitos at Blue Water Restaurant are among the best kept secrets in town and you can't beat the views. Lastly, thank you for the recommendation. We are so thrilled to know that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for only two nights in the hotel and wishing that our stay was longer.

Check-in was efficient. We were given a spacious and elegant room. The room was well maintained and cleaned. It rained for a couple of hours on our first day so we got the chance to explore the hotel amenities. Everything was luxurious and gorgeous. Every member of staff we came into contact with was fantastic! Superb at customer service. Always friendly and going out of their way to be helpful.

The location is great especially the BAYSIDE shopping area is just a short walk away. There is a park along the way that you can hang out too.

Will definitely come back to this hotel on our next Miami vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear vina101,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We wish your stay with us was longer, too. Indeed, we strive to provide all of our guests with a top notch customer service experience and we are glad that you noticed. It truly is the little details that make the difference. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to experience the amenities at our hotel. They truly are one a kind. And Bayside Marketplace is great too! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next Miami vacation. We hope it's soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the IC Miami one night prior to a cruise. The location is ideal for this purpose and the entire staff seemed to be aware we were there "cruising" and took care of holding our bags and getting us o the port with no hitches.
Our room overlooked the port- and looking down from 17 seemed as if we were suspended over the harbor. Really fantastic. In room all was well- bed was fine and everything was spotless. The bathroom was roomy and had nice, plush towels which I enjoyed. All staff we encountered were exceptionally nice as well- from check in to check out. The only negative I could find is (you guessed it) the wifi- slow and expensive. Oh and the neon building dancer takes away from the night time view a bit- but makes it easy to find the way back to the IC after dark!

Overall a good experience and we will probably book again next time we are in Miami- the location near the Bayside Market will keep us coming back.

Room Tip: Stay bayside, upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear jensam98,

Thank you for the positive remarks. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Miami. Indeed, our hotel is the ideal location for cruise travelers as we are located on Biscayne Bay in the heart of downtown Miami and in close proximity to the Port of Miami. It truly is the perfect way to kick off or wind down a vacation. We thank you for your comments on our exceptional staff; we strive to provide all of our guests top notch service. We will make sure to share your comments with our entire staff. Also, thank you for the compliments on our guestrooms and bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.