We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has excellent views, good service, and is very centric. A little tricky to find in the confusing downtown Miami, but very accessible once I navigated the route once.
They have a nice steak house/ tapas restaurant (Toro Toro), which is very good, alrhough, understandably, on the pricey side.
(Compare to Capital Grille)
Their Ambassador Club ( for premium rooms) has a very noce view of the Miami skyline, offers breakfast and a happy hour. It is nice, but does not compare with its counterpart in Madrid, Spain.
Something strange happened:
Two books disappeared from my room, and were sent to Lost and Found, without reference to my room number.
They graciously changed my room for an equivalent ( not an upgrade).
Overall, my stay was pleasant and the service was very good. I would not mind returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear HRobles,

Thank you for the excellent review. As a loyal InterContinental hotel patron, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and even more glad that the inconvenience you experienced did not negatively affect your stay. We are thrilled to know that you had the opportunity to experience all of our hotel's amenities. Indeed, the Club InterContinental Lounge is a gem. We look forward to providing you with many more great experiences and hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,482
    627
    196
    98
    50
See reviews for
488
670
128
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I spent one night at the InterContinental with my girlfriend over the Miami music festival (Ultra Conference). We were not attending the festival but there were loads of young people around from the afternoon until late night. Nonetheless, the hotel was still quiet and safe and security didnt allow anyone without a room key to go to the floors.

We have stayed in a few Intercon over the last couple of years, and I have to say this hotel is up to the standards regarding cleaness and facilities. However , I would like to say that the service in this property is one of the best we have experienced. From the reception to the bar , all members are genuinely friendly and professional.

Batu and Claudia from the Front Desk who made our stay very pleasant and smooth and also to the barman (we dont remember your name, sorry !) who prepared for us 3 delicious cocktails on our leaving night!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Harbour are nice during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Benjamin B,

Thank you for the excellent review and we are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. Indeed, our hotel is one of the safest in downtown Miami, no matter how busy we are. We are so glad that you enjoyed our genuinely friendly staff and clean guestrooms. We will make sure to let Batu and Claudia know that they contributed to a magnificent stay. We look forward to providing you with another great vacation and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in the planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We normally travel to Miami multiple times annually and know what periods to avoid. Unfortunately, we made arrangements to travel during one of the busiest times this year. The WBC and Ultra were overlapping - which maybe more entertaining - but not on a family holiday. I called the Intercontinental first, since I've always enjoyed my stays there. The reservation agent - Edgar - was incredibly helpful in finding us availability during such a busy weekend. (He even stayed on the phone for what must've felt like hours.) When we first arrived, the valet (I believe his name was Leslie) greeted us with kind smile though there were a line of cars behind us. Throughout our stay Leslie and Edson (another valet) took care of making sure our car was always out front (even when it felt like every car in miami decided to park in foyer). The front desk agent, Carlos got us all squared away within a few minutes. (not an easy feat with a line of restless tourists). The bellman - Angelo - was incredibly helpful and wouldn't even let me carry my briefcase. All in all, the staff keeps us coming back. It's quite possibly our favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Ellison M,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire stay at our hotel and that we were able to make your vacation all that more special and customized. Indeed, you stayed with us during a buzzing time in Miami, but we are always on hand to provide all of our guests with exceptional service no matter how busy we may be. It's the little things that count and we are glad that you noticed. We will make sure to let our entire staff know that they contributed to a memorable experience. We love that we are one of your favorite places to stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay before a cruise this is the place for you. Close to the port yet things to do and restaurants nearby . A little pricey but its worth it . Ask for a view of the cruise pier .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear KCfromKCNY,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay before your cruise vacation. We are the ideal location for cruise travelers as we are located in close proximity to the Port of Miami. Thank you for the recommendation on the guestroom views. It is so easy to spend all day looking at the cruise ships moving in and out of the port. Again, we thank you for the oustanding comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am sorry but is it too much to ask for hot water and good water pressure in the morning??
This place dropped the ball bigtime on that. the rooms were nice and the place is very clean. they also have a nice health spa and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear tscarr11,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to read about the inconvenience you experience at our hotel. Please know that we take comments like yours seriously and that we have addressed them with the respective department, as we strive to provide a seamless experience to all of our guests. Nevertheless, we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the ample amenities available at our hotel, including mySpa, where some of the best massages in the city can be had. Also, thank you for the compliments on our staff. They really are a treat. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide with a great experience and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning a future stay. We promise that it will be nothing short of amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel has updated amenities with an up-to-date and high-tech lobby making even waiting for your colleagues a fun and productive experience. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable of activities in Miami.

The updated menu at ToroToro is amazing and at a great price.

I look forward to every visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear ABTao,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall experience at the InterContinental Miami. We are even more thrilled that you enjoyed the new look to our hotel. Again, thank you for the compliments on both the hotel and Toro Toro. We agree, it's easy to spend all day hanging out in our cool lobby. And our staff is always on hand for whatever the guest may need, no request is too big. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stay at hotel for a week, they were nice to us, even tho they had the intra fas on. But it is a nice hotel all in all. Laura was very helpful. The room was very clean, everyday we left . I Even forget some of my important stuff out and it was not taken. They had the car ready and waiting whenever I call them and open the car door for. They didn't ask or tips but I gave anyway . They really nice to us and the room service was very fast. Hope this help someone. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sam Y,

Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. Guest comfort and safety are our #1 priorities. Indeed, we strive to provide top notch service to all of our guests and we are glad to have surpassed those expectations. Thank you for the compliments on our valet staff and room service amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.