We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not on beach but still beautuful view of bay area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not on beach but still beautuful view of bay area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

staff is very friendly....room was spacious clean and comfortable and the view from my room was very beautiful...very close to the bay front so in evening one can spend nice time hearing good live music and enjoying the lively crowd...cruise ride and hop in hop off bus stand r very close from hotel...beach though not close but frequent local bus service is available close to the hotel itself and takes 20 to 30 min to hit the beach...although staying in a hotel over beach is still preferable but can be costly...overall experience was nice....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear aditiray,

Thank you for your comments. Indeed, the guestrooms are spacious and comfortable, some of the best in downtown Miami. Cleanliness is our #1 priority and we are glad that you noticed. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown and close to many of the area's top attractions. While not on the beach, we offer an oasis within paradise, a respite from the hustle and bustle of city life. And we are only a short cab ride away from the beach. Again, we are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience and please do not hesitate to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    699
    210
    100
    51
See reviews for
555
738
137
689
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was very comfortable and has great views. The services is excellente, but I specially would like to mention Harry from the valet parking. He was really friendly, very accomodating and had a great attitud. He was very helpful and took the time to give me directions to the turnpike ( I was very nervous since I got lost around Miami the day before). Very nice and helpful guy. Thank you Harry!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear serenidaddelanoche,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you had a positive experience at our hotel. Indeed, the guestrooms are large and comfortable and the valet is extremely efficient and friendly, one of the best in downtown Miami. We will make sure to let Harry know that he contributed to a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

While it doesn't have the "hip" factor that some other Miami hotels have, the Intercontinental does have decent sized rooms and a downtown Miami location that can't be beat. Stayed there for a Miami Heat basketball game and it was an easy walk to and from the stadium. The Ultra music festival is just across the street. The restaurant/bar in the lobby is very large and so getting a seat is usually easy and the food was great. Also the Starbucks just off the lobby was handy. The charge for using the gym was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear SharonRoseFlorida,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. Indeed, our location is fantastic. We are located in the heart of downtown Miami and close to many of the area's top attractions and choice dining and shopping. Thank you for your comments about the fitness facilities. We will make sure to share your comments with the respective department as we continually work to improve the guest experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My daughter and I spent one night at this hotel prior to our sailing on a spring break cruise. We arrived late -- after midnight -- after a long flight. We were immediately upgraded (without asking) to a top floor room with a gorgeous view. The room was spacious and the bathroom very well appointed, with a nice amount of space. Breakfast the next day at the hotel's buffet was perfect for us, though we hit the lobby Starbucks for coffee, too. Staff was so friendly and helpful. We'll certainly stay again prior to another cruise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear kwagmeister,

Thank you for the great review. Indeed, the InterContinental Miami is great for cruise travelers. Located in the heart of downtown Miami on Biscayne Bay, the hotel is adjacent to the Port of Miami. The hotel has some of the largest and comfiest guestrooms in downtown Miami. The bathrooms are well appointed, as well. Our breakfast only restaurant, Ole, is fantastic; great for a leisure breakfast to start your day or power breakfast meetings. We are glad to know that you will stay with us again and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturtevant
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A fantastic spot with great views. Very comfortable rooms and bed. Great LIGHTS out room darkening shades. Right off the downtown business area. Great service and attitudes from everyone. Check-in and Check out s a breeze.
DO NOT rent a car from the Alamo agency at the hotel unless you expect to pay FULL FREIGHT fees. Their number of cars is limited as well

Room Tip: A room overlooking the waters is so very grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear drfager911,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are so glad to have been able to provide you a great day in sunshine. Our guestrooms are among the largest and comfiest in the area. And the blackout shades are great for keeping the rooms extra dark. We love spoiling our guests and especially glad that you noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Comfortable rooms and bed. On 23rd floor, and it was nice and quiet. While I didn't get to spend any time by the pool, there was a nice one overlooking the ocean with plenty of chairs. A restaurant and bar were there as well.

They charge a room cleaning fee per day, kind of silly given the room rates already. Also, had breakfast with a colleague in Ole, she had yogurt and fruit, I had eggs. Total bill was $50 before tip. So I agree with other reviews it was kind of expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear JenFlodin,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at the InterContinental Miami. Please know that we take your comments seriously and we have shared them with the respective departments in an effort to continually improve the overall guest experience. We hope that you enjoyed your meeting at our hotel as we are one of the area's top business destinations. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great service experience. And please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future stay, whether for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We waited until the last minute to find a hotel for the Boat Show in February. Each year we think there will be some great deal at the last minute--but there has never been! So when we do start calling, we know it will be a high-end hotel and pricey--but this year it was Valentines Day! So when we couldn't get in the Holiday Inn on Biscayne Bay, they referred us to their property a short stroll away--the InterContinental. We had a gorgeous room on the 22nd floor with wall-to-wall windows looking at the condos across the way and the Bay out the front of the hotel. A large bath with lots of storage and great robes. The lobby bar was busy and had delicious small plates on the bar menu. Breakfast in the dining room was very Central/South American and very good. We were a short stroll through a park to the Strictly Sail Miami marina with beautiful views of Biscayne Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear kysailor,

We are so glad that you had the opportunity to stay at the InterContinental Miami. Miami is buzzing with many fun activities between the months of January and April and the hotel is located in the middle of it all. Indeed, the guestrooms views are fantastic and the views can't be beat. It's easy to waste the day away watching the cruise ships pull into the port. We strive to provide the very best to all of our guests and we are glad to have surpassed your expectations. We look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami and please let us know if we may ever be of any assistance in planning a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.