We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True competition for Miami Beach hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“True competition for Miami Beach hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

With the gleaming art-deco lodging delights of Miami Beach but a 15-minute cab ride away, the hotels of neighboring downtown Miami had better have something to lure a piece of the tourism action.

Indeed, the InterContinental Miami, in the heart of the city's downtown, has done more to stack the deck than just be convenient to the burgeoning cruise industry within picture-postcard view of the hotel's bay-side windows.

After a recent renovation, the hotel has risen from its 1980s feel into a gleaming lodging reminiscent of the new celebrity-ridden destinations of Las Vegas. The bay-front facade in fact lights up nightly with an animated iconic female dancer (not the pole variety) as well as dancing symbols and letters. The porte cochere and lobby are likewise lit up with a mesmerizing fluidity of lights and colors, while a series of multi-screen monitors in the elevator lobby display a video loop of a rushing ocean front. It works well with the lobby's original modern design and existing contemporary centerpiece sculpture.

As for the rooms, they are massive and comfortably contemporary, with dark-wood furniture, large flat screens (with actual high-def TV channels to go with them) and an opulent marble bath. A series of junior suites -- not to be confused with the hotel's signature suites touted on YouTube -- are more comfortable than stylish. But having an extra half-bath is a nice luxury.

As for four-star accoutrements, the only real draw back were the disappointing bare-bones cream-suger packs to go with the Keurig coffeemakers -- more like something from Motel 8 than an otherwise solid four-star hotel.

The restaurants are all destinations in themselves, and downtown Miami has actually developed into a user-friendly environment, with people movies connecting to another train running to the airport; a park area right out front with a fun market area not much further and even a handful of walkable restaurants.

It's not quite Miami Beach, but, again, still a $15-$20 cab ride away, and certainly enough of a treat for a pre- or post-cruise day in Florida's party-central city.

Room Tip: Ask for bay-side room; try lobby Starbucks for a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear howieeg,

Wow, thank you for the fantastic review! Thank you for the compliments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Miami and that we surpassed your expectations. The guestrooms are indeed spacious and modern and the hotel's location makes it the great place to kick off any vacation. And with close proximity to Miami Beach, it offers the perfect oasis within paradise. You're still in the action without being in the chaos of it all. We are also glad that you were able to experience some of the sights and sounds of our vibrant city. We look forward to hosting another great stay and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,482
    627
    196
    98
    50
See reviews for
488
670
128
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for the first time and I was totally impressed with the high level of service, attention to detail, and sophistication. I enjoyed every single moment I was at the hotel and would definitely return to this hotel. The new lighting to the outside of the building looks amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear jmay0201,

Thank you for the amazing review! We are so glad to have surpassed your expectations. Thank you for the compliments on our high level of service, attention to details and sophistication. Indeed, those details are the ones that count and make the experience so much better. Also, thank you for the compliments on the new technological touches to our hotel. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed there for a weekend and was very impressed by the excellent service, great views and good price. The hotel is right in the city of Miami next to the Bayfront park and has a great view of the city and the bay. Check in was quick and the room was very modern, clean and comfortable. The daily rate for parking is $36 dollars, a reasonable rate for Miami and the hotel offers a great buffet breakfast and lunch. The lobby I'd beautiful and very modern with modern screens dividing the seating areas and interactive center tables that allow you to search city points of interest! The hotel is very within walking distance of various points of interest in the city and some restaurants if you don't want to eat in the hotel! The pool and spa is in the fourth floor and offers a nice view of the Bayfront park and the bay. Overall it was an excellent experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear avellaneh,

Thank you for the great review and the compliments on our excellent service, great views and value. Indeed, the hotel is located in the center of it all, close to many of the area's top attractions and choice dining and shopping. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the sights and sounds of our vibrant city. The views from our guestrooms and Plaza Level are fantastic, it's easy to lounge all day by the pool watching the dolphins and cruise ships. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

this review is to show how 1 employee, Mario the Doorman went above and beyond to help us get a taxi 5 blocks away with all of our luggage!!!!!!!!!!!
we stayed at the intercontinental on January 26th 2013 because it was close to the pier where we could take a taxi to the pier for our cruise on January 27th and because we are priority club members. we found out when we checked in that there was going to be a marathon happening the next morning right at the entrance of the hotel. we instantly panicked because how would we get a taxi out of that zoo of thousands of people with roads blocked. we asked at that time how we would get a taxi in the morning and the front desk said there would still be taxis running in the morning, so we left it at that...In the morning we went outside to the doormen to get a taxi to the pier and they told us there are no taxis running that all the streets are blocked off. not sure how Miami could do this right by the pier on the busiest day.....We went back into the Hotel extremely upset and angry wondering how we would get to the pier. The front desk staff said there is nothing they could do for us and told us to walk all the way to Bayside with all of our luggage(not even possible to walk there with the amount of luggage we had) and there would be taxis there..I was freaking out at this point as we went outside again and talked to the doormen. we told them that the front desk told us to walk to Bayside with all our luggage. The Doorman Mario could see how upset we were so he came over and talked to us. he said taxis would not be running at Bayside, so if we even had tried to go it would have been for nothing(thanks alot front desk staff) but it was not an option anyways. no one was helping us...By this time i am in tears as this was all too much to deal with. Doormen Mario said taxis would run later in the day and we would have missed our cruise..Mario saw how upset we were and all of a sudden he grabbed a large luggage cart and started loading our luggage.....he said he would walk us 5 blocks to the hyatt where there would be taxis...we were in total shock!!!!!!!!! to say the least....He pushed that cart through thousands of people(uphill i might add) when we got to the Hyatt finally, he even tried getting us taxi. some of the drivers did not want to go to the pier because they would have to go way out of the way to get us to the pier. frantic as we were thinking now what????no taxi will take us after all of this....Mario finally found a taxi to take us. he told the driver please take these poor people to the pier they are desparate and very upset. the driver said okay he would take us thanks to Marios sweer talking. now we would be on our way,,,,thank god.......NOW, i do not know anyone who would go to such extremes to please hotel guests..MARIO, you deserve a raise and a promotion!!!!!!!!!! you were absolutely amazing and helped us beyond words...(lets not forget he had to walk back through all the people with the cart back to the intercontinental)...Words cannot express our extreme grattitude to you for literally saving the day!!!You sir, helped calm me down and made the beginning of our trip start on a good note..Mario, you were so compassionate and made sure we were taken care of(unlike the hotel)...Our hats off to you and i hope your bosses read this and do something special for you, as you totally deserve it.......Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all you did for us as we have never in our 15 years of travelling seen anyone with such top notch service!!! Mario the doorman at the Intercontinental you are my HERO!!!! and you saved the day!!!!!!!!!

we rated location as it is close to the pier but make sure there are no events blocking all streets before booking this way too expensive Hotel for your value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear JohnThunderBay,

Thank you for your detailed comments. Indeed, this is a great InterContinental story and we will make sure to share your review with our entire staff. Additionally, we will make sure to let Mario know that he contributed to a fantastic and memorable experience. Indeed, he is our one of our shining stars. We are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced, but we are glad that it did not inconvenience your overall vacation. At the InterContinental Miami, we strive to make the impossible possible and we are glad to have been able to recover your incident positively. We look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is my favorite in Miami and I stay there 4-5 a year. I love the location on Bayside. The service is excellent. Room service was prompt. The new renovations are amazing. I am in love with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Nurse2014,

We love your comments and thank you for the compliments on our renovations. Indeed, the location is great. We located in the heart of downtown Miami on Biscayne Bay, close to many of the area's top attractions and hot spots. We are also glad that you have made the InterContinental Miami your second home and we look forward to creating many more wonderful memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent last Friday at hotel for my brother's 50th birthday. At check-in the concierge manager was walking by and heard about our event and immediately lent his expertise. He inquired to our plans. He assisted us after to the elevator adding some history of the hotel and recent updates. As we thanked him, he asked our permission to set up a reservation at a local steak and seafood restaurant. It would be the last we saw of him, but his adsistance was felt long after. I'm not sure, but I believe he influenced our room location. We had an amazing waterfront view. After my other brother and a friend stopped by the room for some pre-dinner drinks, a bottle of champagne arrived. Nice! The cab ride to the hotel was short. No cross town expensive ride. The restaurant was first class and we were greeted as guest from the intercontinental. A great table and servers, who brought us each a fancy shrimp cocktail- gift of the restaurant and hotel. We were then directed to some great nearby bars in walking distance. In all, the night was a huge success, and because of the hotel we felt special and connected. A must if youre looking for great night in downtiwn miami. Thank you Rosello and IC.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Anthonyah,

Thank you for first class review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire stay with us and we are even more delighted to have been able to provide a memorable experience for your brother's birthday. We love having our guests feel like VIPs. We will make sure to let Rosello and the rest of the concierge team know that they contributed to a fantastic experience. The concierge team is our best kept secret, they hold the key to the hottest information about the city. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel did not meet our expectations and it was a stressful over night stay,certainly did not meet the quality standards as promised.

I had booked this stay 5 months in advance to guarantee our pre-cruise stay for our family of 6. At the time of booking I was very clear to ensure I received a room or rooms to accommodate a party of 6. At that time I was instructed to books a king suite and was advised the room had a one bedroom, a pull out sofa and I could order 2 roll away beds, not ideal for $600 a night but certainly acceptable. Upon arrival I again advised the front desk we were party of 6 and I would require a pull out sofa. Well to sum up the experience..... No pull out sofa, No roll away beds and then after I called to explain our situation one roll out bed arrived. After several calls later I was told I would be charged for the extra roll out beds............well I did not accept the extra charges and made my position very clear. After some delay the additional beds arrived and as expected they very very springy and extremely uncomfortable.

The next day no one from customer service contacted me even thought I was clear on requesting a follow up return call and as of yet I am still waiting for a follow up call from their customer service and i have completed the customer survey. We are frequent travellers and unless someone from the customer service dept reaches out to correct this matter, this will be our first and last stay at the InterContinental Hotel Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear fly40,

Thank you for providing your comments. We are sincerely sorry that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay. These are not the standards of the InterContinental Miami. Please know that we take your comments seriously and that we have addressed them with our staff. Furthermore, we will implement stricter measures to ensure that an occurrence like this does not happen again. We encourage you to reach out to us directly to further discuss this matter privately. We would like to be your choice hotel on trips to Miami and hope for another chance to provide you with a great InterContinental experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.