We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Except for the Power Outage.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Except for the Power Outage.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Carlos Garcia was great at checking my big family and me in. The rooms are very nice with blackout shades. Corner rooms are larger, with separate tub and shower. We did encounter minor housekeeping issues (stains in the toilet seat) but a housekeeping lady was there to clean it right away. The hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby. I still do not understand how hotels can get away with this, but there is no free Internet anywhere in the hotel. However, if you exit through the side entrance of the hotel (not the main one), past the hotel's Starbucks, cross the street, the building on the left has an Au Bon Pain inside for good breakfast options and free Internet. It is closed on weekends, though.

Exiting the main entrance of the hotel and after a 10min walk beside the water there is Bayside Marketplace. There are several restaurants (including a Hard Rock Café and a Bubba Gump) along with some shops. There is also the first stop for the double decker bus tour (Big Bus Tours) from where both tours (the City Tour and the Beach Tour) depart.

We were there on the day of the power outage, we did not notice because we were still asleep. Later, we were woken up by the PA announcement that the power had been restored and everything was back to normal. It made me think about the hotel’s safety, though. That morning, we did not have hot water in the shower.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem larger with separate tub and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear DaZet,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodation and ample guestroom. At the moment, we do charge internet usage, but it is available at two price points and connectivity speeds. Thank you for the recommendation about the city bus tours. The tours are a great way to explore the city. Please know that we take your comments seriously and be assured that we are one of the safest hotels in downtown Miami. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,942
    831
    248
    110
    60
See reviews for
684
913
154
765
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

All the service staff were super friendly and knowledgeable. In particular, the waiters knew the menus very well and made great recommendations on both food and drink. The hotel has been redone recently and the room was fabulous especially the bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Swn4,

Thank you for the great review. Indeed, the hotel was recently renovated and our guestrooms are among the largest in the city. Thank you for the compliments on our bathrooms. We are glad to know that you will stay here again and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koksijde, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A peaceful location facing the park near the BaySide area and the cruise harbor. A free people mover transport station is across the street and while close to the city business center and Midtown, the Chopin Plaza, where the hotel is located, is very peaceful and relaxing.
I paid extra to receive a nice room facing the Biscayne Bay. In general, my first impressions were positive and this didn't change during my 3 days stay. Very clean spacious room (to what I have seen, non have balconies) with a well equipped bathroom. The breakfast buffet restaurant is open till 11 a.m. and serves a rich selection of good quality bakery, fresh egg preparations, fruits and vegetables and the usual cereal and cold cuts. The waiters are friendly and attentive.
I needed some particular assistance one night from the reception desk for urgent faxes (business center closed) and this was handled with the most careful and quick assistance. Great ! Gadgets in the spacious lobby : consult the electronic maps and information sheets in the screens that are actually part of the tables in the lobby.
The rooftop pool terrace with lots of space around and between easy chair sitting corners, and a pool bar serving properly tasteful dishes and refreshing cocktails, is situated in between 2 towers that provide shadow and keep the strong seawinds away. From the bar, nice views over the water, towards BaySide and Biscayne Bay + South Beach.
I will go back at first occasion.

Room Tip: Rooms with view over the Biscayne Bay add to the vacacion feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear werner V,

Thank you for the fantastic and detailed review! We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your overall experience at the InterContinental Miami. Indeed, we are an oasis within paradise, offering respite after a long day of business or leisure. Thank you for the compliments about our clean and spacious rooms as well as our flavorful breakfast. Our guestrooms are among the largest in the city. Situated on Biscayne Bay, there are many opportunities around the hotel for fantastic views, whether from our guestrooms or the mezzanine level where Blue Water is located. We are always on hand to attend to guest's needs and we are glad to have been able to assist you with your business matters. We are happy to know that you will be back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a turn around the trip to the Miami intercontinental was! Started with a problem, because of their contractual situation with an agencie, we had to leave the hotel for one night, but well explained by managers and the staff we had to relocate to a close hotel for the night, but the next morning we got back to the intercontinetal and had a great experience! Great breakfast, a great lounge at the 29th, club lounge that had a great view and even more, every person needs to try the drinks at the lobby, great atmosphere and made our problems go away very fast!

Location and the hotel are impeccable, so is a sure thing that ill be back next time in Miami!

Milton Santos and the Marcos Castro Family!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Miltonsantos,

Thank you for the amazing review and we are ecstatic that the inconveniences you experienced did not negatively impact your stay and that we were able to resolve the matter in a timely manner. We strive to provide all of our guests with a magnificent experience at our hotel. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities of the Club InterContinental Lounge, it truly is paradise within paradise. Thank you for the compliments about our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel or how wonderful Arielle was upon check-in! I was frustrated from trying to cancel another hotel in the area that I didn't like and she made my day instantly better by getting me a room, upgrading me since I am a Priority Club Member, and giving me an extended checkout. Amazing view, and the restaurant Toro Toro was top notch!

Room Tip: Even floors have ice makers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear bondos4,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad that we were able to assist with your inconvenience; we are always on hand to assist our guests with whatever they may need. Indeed, we are located in the heart of downtown Miami on Biscayne Bay and our guestrooms offer sweeping views of both the city and the bay. We are also glad to know that your experience at Toro Toro was top notch. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived early in the morning and the hotel offered early check-in for $100. I asked for it to be comped due to Platinum status and it was granted, but I wish I hadn't had to ask. I did appreciate the early access to the room. I believe the hotel has been recently renovated, yet the room felt a bit tired, and perhaps not perfectly cleaned. It was an underwhelming start to the stay. The view from the room was fantastic and the room had wonderful, automatic blackout shades. The bed was quite comfortable and the double showerheads were nice. The pool had no afternoon sun and the pool restaurant was closed at lunchtime during our December visit. Food in the main restaurant was meh and the service was a bit overly attentive. It was a fine stay, no big issues, but I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend a stay there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear CCQueenAnne,

Thank you reviewing the InterContinental Miami. We thank you for your positive comments, but we are sorry that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. Our guestrooms are top rated and among the best in the area. Again, we thank you for your comments and please know that we use this to improve the guest experience. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a stellar experience. We hope to be your home away from home in downtown Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited Intercontinetal in January 2013 for a pre-cruise night. The Hotel is on Biscayne Bay and just a few blocks to the Bayside Market Place (Restaurants & Food courts, Shopping, Harbor Tours). Check-in was very quick, the staff are all very pleasant and helpful, room was available at 1:30PM. The Lobby is spacious and very contemporary and very impressive. Our Harbor View room was very spacious with a large (maybe 5' x 12') single window overlooking the Cruise Port. Large, comfortable bed, large flat-screen TV, corner work desk, corner couch with cocktail table, inset cove with (expensive) mini-bar and Keurig Coffe maker and ceramic coffee cups. Huge bathroom with sink & dressing area, separate "soaking tub" (no shower) and a stall shower.

Pricey (we used Priority Club Award Night). The only hotel parking is Valet at $36 or so per nite. Internet is something under $20 per nite. The hotel food service is pricey - there's a Starbuck's in the Lobby, a 7-11 across the street and restaurants several blocks away at the Market Place.

Would highly recommend the Hotel, especially if you can book at a discount rate.

Room Tip: If you're a Priority Club member, book a City View room as they normally (without being asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear ken07641,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience at the InterContinental Miami. Indeed, we are located in prime location, in close proximity to some of the area's top attractions. Thank you for the compliments about our new lobby, it is very modern and artsy. Our valet parking is $36/per night, but it is comparable to other downtown price points. At the moment, we do charge for Wi-Fi, but it is available at two price points and connectivity speeds. We hope that you will be back soon and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.