We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need a better plan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“They need a better plan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I arrived at 9pm but they didn't have a room ready so asked us to wait in the restaurant, have something to eat and a drink and they would let us know when the room was ready. That was ok we hadn't eaten and they comped it. Wasn't long before they called us and got us in our room.
Room was modern and clean. We were on the 22nd floor with a partial view of the harbour. They always have the nicest bed and linens. The next morning we were awaken when the ac went off. It got real quiet. The power was off... We waited about 20 mins then decided to head down the stairs to the lobby...we had no water and no phone to find out what was happening. Luckily we met someone in the hall with a flash lite (the hallways were very dark,) he was heading to the elevator. Seems power was on up to the 8th floor.. Got the elevator to the lobby. Asked the security what was going on. She was handing out lite sticks to people heading up,stairs. She didn't know.....she didn't know? There was no announcement on the effected floors, no one even on the floors to explain it wasn't serious and handing out the lite sticks..very poorly handled!! We headed out for breakfast and when we returned the power was back on..so it was off for over an hour or more.
I did like our 2 days stay here. Nice hotel, great staff and location but not sure about the place if something serious happened.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear kitten50,

Thank you for your review. We understand your concern about safety and we are sincerely apologetic for the inconvenience you experienced. Please know that our hotel is one of the safest in the area. Again, thank you for your comments as we take them seriously. Thank you for the compliments about our great staff and location. Indeed, we are located in the heart of downtown Miami, in close proximity to some of the area's top attractions. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we do hope that you will give us another chance to make your stay a great one and please contact me directly should you need any assistance in planning your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,539
    661
    204
    100
    51
See reviews for
528
692
130
674
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here one night before going on a cruise. From our arrival, everyone was really nice, friendly & helpful. This includes the bell staff outside to the reception staff and the barman. We paid a small bit extra for the bay view and it was worth it - spectacular. I agree with other reviewers that it is poor form for the hotel to charge extra for everything such as internet and even the gym, but we knew this in advance.
We had one special request in advance of our stay, and this was dealt with in an extremely helpful and professional manner by Li-Chyun, the director of the front office.
It's about $20 in a cab to Miami Beach and about $10 to the cruise port.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear jrcDublin,

Thank you for the great review. We are located in close proximity to the Port to Miami and the ideal hotel for cruise travelers. At the moment, we do charge for Wi-Fi, but it is available at two speeds and price points. We do also charge a fee for use of the fitness facilities. The views from our guestrooms, whether bay or city, are fantastic. Thank you for the compliments about our friendly staff. We are glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Miami, whether for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first stay and it was perfect! The hotel was lovely and the location ideal - it was only a couple minutes to walk to Bayside. They had a bay-view room ready for us first thing in the morning, which was such a relief after traveling all night. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was great... can't say enough good things about our stay! We'll be back :)

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have an amazing view of the cruise port, the park, Bayside and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear MelissaLux,

We love reading comments like yours. We are ecstatic that your stay with us put a smile on your face. We are smiling too! Indeed, we are located in the heart of downtown Miami, in close proximity to many of the area's top attractions. Thank you for the compliments on our staff. We strive to provide all of our guests with top notch service and that signature InterContinental experience. We are glad that you will be back and we look forward to being your choice hotel when traveling to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I had recently visited the Hotel for the SFCA Annual Gala. On Dec 23. The Hotel recently completed a major renovation that transformed the whole expiereance of being away from home into a trully uplifting , comfortable and memorable time.! From the time that we arrived we were welcomed by the numerous gracious Hotel Staff members.

The lobby is breathtaking and incredibly hi- tech and has a great number of amenities for guests with the abundance of comfortable seating throughout the lobby with large flat screen touch screen tv top tables to find all that Miami has to offer at your finger tips . This while relaxing with a cocktail or just enjoying their magnificent 20 tom marble .sculpture with tranquil water cascading away from it on all sides.

We had cocktails at the beautiful newly renovated lobby bar and were taken care of by the members of the Toro Toro staff with incredible appetizers and service. The event was Hosted by one of the Hotels most valued and treasured employees Chef Concierge Eduardo Rosello. He was trully an amazing host and made sure all of the guests felt welcome no matter what their requests or needs were. We went on to enjoy an amazing dinner that included a view of cruise ships pulling into port from the room we were dining in. We went on to a spectacular night of dancing to music provided by the hotel to the Grand Finale of an amazing performance by a local group of performers .
Thank You Intercontinental ! A special thanks to your staff and Mr. Rosello for taking care of us! Be sure to visit the Concierge of this Hotel they are incredibly helpful and will assist in making your stay a pleasant one.

We are looking forward to our next stay here !
Ray G.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear W2g,

We are so glad that you joined us for the SFCA's Annual Gala and that you were able to experience a signature event at the InterContinental Miami. Indeed, we recently renovated our hotel to include many technological touches and we are glad to know that you are a fan. They are fun for relaxing in the lobby and they offer a bundle of information. We are also glad that you had a chance to experience our newest addition, Toro Toro Restaurant & Bar. We will make sure to let Rosello and his team know that they contributed to an amazing experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is was my second stay at this hotel, and I can honestly say is one of the best hotels we have ever come accross. Back during my first stay we had awesome experience now that I have returned I notice the new upgrades the hotel ligthing is beautiful and the personnel was very curtious at the time of our arrival we were greeted by the valet staff who was quite helpful and so was the front desk personnel the room had a beautiful view of the Bay, my husband and I we were able to appreciate the city beauty at nigth time. The only complain I came accross was the fact that when my husband went to get ice the machines were not able to dispense any , I had to go down stairs to the gift shop to get myself cold drinks because the minibar in the room was a bit pricie. other than that our stay was an unforgetable we had a good weekend it was our christmas get away. Loved the fact that we were able to see the tree ligthing and the boat parade the Hotel had beautiful light display at nigth time. It was just a deliteful experience would like to thank the (bellman) I believe his name is Henroy he made us laugh during our stayed and kept us well informed, also Edwin from the (valet) for making us feel like we were home and for providing us with great directions AWESOME STAFF.
Barbara Thompson

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Barbara7750,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We love reading comments like yours. Thank you for the comments about the ice machine and minibar and we are glad that it did not inconvenience your stay with us. Thank you for the compliments about our new look as well as our lights and digital canvas. We will make sure to let the entire staff know that they contributed to a memorable holiday stay. We look forward to being your home away from home on future trips to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this Hotel for New Year's EVe for the second time and this time was a great surprise. The HOtel is totally remodeled and the bedroom was awesome. The concierge staff also made all efforts to give us the best experience helping us with our restaurant needs as well car rentals. They are the best. I also forgot some clothes there and came back to pick up one hour later and found our clothes packed and labeled already to be sent. Very professional. Very good and friendly hotel. My family had a great time. We'll be back for sure!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Tatiana D,

Happy New Year! We are thrilled that you spent the holiday weekend with us and that your experience was nothing less than stellar. Indeed, our hotel was recently updated. Thank you for noticing the new touches to our hotel. We will make sure to let the entire staff know that they contributed to a memorable experience. It's the little touches that count. We are glad that you'll be back. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Recently stayed at the IC Miami for a mini break before Christmas. Great stay and an absolutely beautiful hotel. The staff were all very attentive and friendly. Rooms are beautiful and modern updated.

The hotel is within walking distance of so much as well. Literally across the street from Bayfront Park we were able to easily walk to lunch one day in Downtown and then later at night to Tobacco Road and Brickell. Location is perfect.

Only downside is the lack of parking, almost forcing you to valet. Not the biggest fan of this but they do have 24hr in-and-out service and the valets actually take care of you. Once we came back from the beach a little wet and they took care of the sand and water we tracked in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ErikKusiak,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you spent your vacation with us. Thank you for the compliments on our new look and the service staff. Indeed, our rooms are modern and fresh and our staff strives to provide all of our guests with that VIP experience. We are also thrilled that you were able to enjoy some of the sights and sounds of our vibrant city. We will make sure to let the valet team know that they contributed to a great stay. We hope that you will be back and soon and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.