We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night.

Hotel location great. One tip - to get to or from airport. Jump on the train "ppl mover" on the inner line to the conference station. Then jump on the metro train "orange line" all the way to the airport. Total cost $2 per person. Taxi cost $25 if you want that option.

Hotel room very modern. Starbucks on site.

Expensive restaurant but lots of eateries nearby.

Rooms very clean and modern. Large and well decorated.

Staff friendly throughout our stay.

I would recommend staying here.

My only complaint is that wifi cost $17. Now I'm sorry, but wifi should be included in this day and age!! Oh, and to use the gym you have to pay $15 per person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear ifrit1984,

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Miami. Also, thank you for the transportation tip. Indeed, the new Metrorail Orange Line connecting to Miami International Airport is one of the city's best finds. We are located in the heart of downtown Miami in close proximity to some of the area's top attractions and restaurants. At the moment, we charge a fee for internet use, but it is available at two price points and connection speeds. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,538
    661
    204
    100
    51
See reviews for
528
691
130
674
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've been and tried the food at Torotoro Restaurant at Intercontinental downtown Miami and it is delicious.
The food and service are great!

Congratulations for the restaurant and all service that the Intercontinental hotel offers!

Thanks,
Patricia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Patricia S,

Thank you for the great review and the compliments. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your experience at Toro Toro. We are proud of the new dining options at the InterContinental Miami. Indeed, the food is delicious and the service is top notch. We hope to become one of your favorite restaurants in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay here the night before we went on our honeymoon cruise.

Upon making the reservation with the hotel we got a return email from the Guest Service department informing us they look forward to seeing us.

My wife responded with informing them that we were very excited since that would be the first night of our honeymoon.

Upon our check in the quest agent of the front desk informed us that she was aware that this was the first day of our honeymoon so they had given us a free upgrade to a club room with a view of the ocean. Which was great.

Then when we arrived at our room we found a bottle of champagne and 12 chocolate covered strawberries with a note saying congratulation.

That touch was fantastic. Made the start of our trip great.

We have no complaints about the hotel.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and a great night sleep.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear fox2772,

Thank you for the excellent review and congratulations on your recent wedding. We are glad that you spent one of life's most important moments at our hotel.. And more importantly, that we were able to make it extra memorable. We strive to give all of our guests that signature InterContinental experience. We offer the best beginning to any trip. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we look forward to welcoming you back and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the intercontinental once again for just two nights before taking a cruise and it gets better and better. Their lobby is gorgeous and all decorated with holiday motives. Toro toro is a little expensive for food but the drinks are worth it. The friendly front desk staff once again delighted me, special thanks to the manager Gabriela Iturralde, I had an inconvenience with my luggage and she took care of everything in two minutes. Great modern looking hotel, great vive, try it if you visit Miami. 5 minutes from the port.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Fmoguelc,

Thank you for the repeat review. We are glad that you liked the new touches to our hotel. We agree, the lobby has a great vibe! We are also a great option for cruise travelers as we are located in close proximity to the Port of Miami. We will make sure to let Gabriela know that she contributed to an outstanding stay. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'll actually give this newly renovated hotel a 4 1/2 but there were some minor issues. On the plus side the rooms are large, well laid out and quite comfortable. The bathrooms are very large and have both a shower and tub and a more than ample supply of towels. My room was on what the competing Hilton refers to as the Towers Level but did not have access to the "Club"; it would have been $85 extra per night for this access. But the overall value was excellent. The new lobby has a very edgy feel and an upscale clientele. The dining room staff could have used some additional training - Both myself and another client in the dining room wanted something very specific that was not on the menu (in my case a cheeseburger and the other customer wanted sliders for her children)

The server declined saying they didn't serve burgers at night, although they were on the room
service menu. Both she and I complained to the hotel management and were told the hotel had failed meeting our expectations and it would not happen again. Our requests should have been honored. Enough said own that. The hotel's valet service was very quick, usually delivering the car in under 5 minutes. I will stay there on the next trip.

Room Tip: 20th floor or above however it takes longer for the water to heat up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear poloplayer1,

Thank you for the detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and that the inconveniences you experienced did not negatively impact your stay. Please know that we take comments like your seriously to improve the overall guest experience. Indeed, our guestrooms are some of the largest in downtown Miami and our bathrooms are comfortable. Again, thank you for your comments. We are thrilled to know that you will be back and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The facilities are newly renovated and beautiful, but more importantly the service is outstanding. The Hotel InterContinental Miami staff goes out of their way to create a memorable experience for their guests. In particular, be sure to ask for the excellent concierge, Mauricio. His attention to detail and great advice for visiting the area were both indispensable.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to face the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Mark F,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for the compliments about our staff and service quality. We strive to treat all of our guests like VIPs and we are glad that we surpassed your expectations. We will make sure to let Mauricio know that he contributed to a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Eduardo went above and beyond to make sure our stay was amazing! He checked on us throughout the day and provided us with excellent service.

The hotel was beautiful and we were checked in by a lovely front desk clerk. Our room was spacious and had an amzaing view. The bathroom was spa-like with plenty of towels and even two robes. That night we had drinks down at the bar in the lobby. It was packed but we still recieved excellent service.

We would definately stay there again.

-Mark Sabo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Heather S,

Thank you for the amazing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the compliments about our look. Indeed, our guestrooms offer some of the best views of downtown Miami and Biscayne Bay. We will make sure to let Rosello know that he contributed to a memorable stay. We are glad that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.