We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend trip for Art Miami, great location close to the bayfront bars and restaurants. Hotel is very nice, room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. We checked in late and had a city view, which was nice enough. The Kurig coffee maker in the room had only decaf coffee or tea- called in at reception to get different coffee but never got any. Not a problem though as there is a starbucks in the lobby. Also to note if you are a light sleeper, they have light displays on the exterior of the building and the blackout blinds do not completely cover the light- so if you are super sensitive you may want a lower level room (no lights). Valet parking and bag drop was very efficient and helpful.
Lovely stay and a great big Henry Moore in the Lobby!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear munkispank,

Thank you for the great review! Also, thank you for the compliments about our Henry Moore piece in the lobby, it's an icon of our hotel. Indeed, we are located in the perfect location, in the heart of Miami's business and arts & entertainment districts. We are sorry that you experienced issues with the LED lights as they are not meant to be visible to guests inside their guestrooms. Again, thank you for your comments as we use them to future guests' experiences. We look forward to having you back and please let us know if we can personally assist you in making your future stay a perfect one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,569
    677
    205
    100
    51
See reviews for
538
713
131
681
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Loved this hotel! Great location right along the water front and the Bayside Market. Free Bus stops right on the corner. Didn't need a rental car at all. Miami has a great FREE trolley that is great just to hop on and hop off to see the downtown area. The hotel itself is beautiful. Starbucks right in the lobby. Friendly staff. Make sure you stop by the bar and say hi to head barteder Joey Scorza at the Toro Toro bar inside the lobby. She made us feel right at home and fixed us a "personalized" drink based on our likes. We had taken a red-eye cross country and then after sightseeing all day were exhausted. Hungry but going right to bed we didn't know what we wanted to eat and just decided on Oatmeal from Starbucks. She wasn't sure if they were still open and walked over with us to check. She said if they hadn't been open, she would have fixed us oatmeal!! We ended up going back to see her the following night t say thanks and that is when she fixed us a wonderful drink. Go say Hi from us! We will definately stay here again and have already recommended this hotel to our friends who are sailing in April. Only $10.80 to the port. Oh, and don't forget to check out the pool deck, even if you don't go in! Amazingly beautiful and the view is spectacular!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and they gave us te 17th floor on the back side. It was very quiet, spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear MsWobbi,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We love reading comments like yours. The InterContinental Miami is the ideal location for seeing all of the sights and sounds of Miami. We are adjacent to the Metromover and a short ride from the city’s most popular attractions, so there are plenty of public transportation options for travelers minding their budgets. Location, location, location is important while on holiday too! Thank you for the compliments as well as the recommendations while at our hotel. The bar at Toro Toro is a fantastic place to make new friends. We will make sure to let Joey know that she contributed to a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

All was great but it did shock me that valet parking was $36 per night! I've paid much less than that at much better hotels. Rooms are spacious, lobby is nice and modern, staff are friendly. Didn't eat there at all so I can't comment on that. I did not love the location, seems a bit far from everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear mencos1,

Thank you reviewing our hotel. Thank you for the positive comments about our rooms and lobby. We offer some of the largest hotel guestrooms in downtown Miami and our lobby is modern and new. Our valet parking is $36/night, but it is comparable to other downtown price points. The InterContinental Miami is the ideal location for seeing all of the sights and sounds of Miami. We are adjacent to the Metromover and a short ride from the city’s most popular attractions. If your travels bring you back to Miami, please let us know if we can personally assist you in planning your future stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansepolcro, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

the Intercontinental Miami is a really extraordinarius place to have a holiday in Miami:
from the morning time till the night you'll pass a great time there, the chambers are really large and insonorized with a superb view on Miami bay area, the pool on the roof is fantastic too and the people at the reception are polite

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Stefano T,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We have recently renovated our rooms to make them modern and spacious for our valued guests. We are in the heart of Miami with a lot of action so no matter if you are here on business or pleasure, we are a great choice. Indeed, we are a great hotel for a holiday in Miami. We look forward to having you back and please let us know if we can be of any help in planning your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed one night before heading to key west. They upgraded us to a suite so that was sweet! A Starbucks right in the hotel was a plus! We ate at Toro Toro. The food was great at great prices compared to Philadelphia high end restaurants. We were across from this great park! My five year old had a blast running around. We got so many great pics.

Not far from the airport. Very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Savette V,

Thank you for the great review! We love reading comments like yours. Indeed, Toro Toro offers delicious fare by internationally renowned Chef Richard Sandoval at a good price and in a great ambiance. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of the sights and sounds of Miami. We love Bayfront Park too. We look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami, whether for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As an ambassador member, we received an upgrade and access to the Club Floor. We enjoyed a generous continental breakfast each morning in the Club. Our view from the room as splendid.
The pool area is lovely to look at however the pool is in a very poor location. The only sun is before 9:30 am and you'll see it again for about 20 minutes around 5 pm. The heater was broken (and had been for some time apparently) and the water was FRIGID! We are Canadians and will swim in just about any temperature of water but even we found this cold!
The staff was wonderful and arrangements were made to deliver a birthday cake and a bottle of sparking wine for my mother's brithday. This was very much appreciated.
Location is excellent, steps away from many everything including free metro mover.

Room Tip: high floor, club floor if you can get it and over looking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear HappyCanadian13,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the hotel's amenities like the Club InterContinental Lounge. We strive to offer exceptional personalized guest experiences and we are glad to have made your mother's birthday a memorable one. Thank you for the comments about our pool as we use them to better the overall guest experience. Indeed, the hotel is centrally located, adjacent to the city's best attractions and free transportation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Probably i am demanding or used to be pamper in the four seasons. I got sick needed advil call front desk and was told they where not a pharmacy
The hotel is big and nice, showers are not walk thru but decent.
The restaurant is good

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear aikyb,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We strive to go that extra mile to make our guests feel at ease and carefree during their stay. Pampering our guests is our #1 priority. Our sincerest apologies that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Shade, our lobby level sundries shop, offers over-the-counter medication for sale. Thank you for the compliments about our restaurant, Toro Toro. If your travels ever bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will give us a chance to make your stay a perfect one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.