We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
guatemala
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

All was great but it did shock me that valet parking was $36 per night! I've paid much less than that at much better hotels. Rooms are spacious, lobby is nice and modern, staff are friendly. Didn't eat there at all so I can't comment on that. I did not love the location, seems a bit far from everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear mencos1,

Thank you reviewing our hotel. Thank you for the positive comments about our rooms and lobby. We offer some of the largest hotel guestrooms in downtown Miami and our lobby is modern and new. Our valet parking is $36/night, but it is comparable to other downtown price points. The InterContinental Miami is the ideal location for seeing all of the sights and sounds of Miami. We are adjacent to the Metromover and a short ride from the city’s most popular attractions. If your travels bring you back to Miami, please let us know if we can personally assist you in planning your future stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,662
    715
    212
    100
    52
See reviews for
567
761
139
707
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sansepolcro, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

the Intercontinental Miami is a really extraordinarius place to have a holiday in Miami:
from the morning time till the night you'll pass a great time there, the chambers are really large and insonorized with a superb view on Miami bay area, the pool on the roof is fantastic too and the people at the reception are polite

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Stefano T,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We have recently renovated our rooms to make them modern and spacious for our valued guests. We are in the heart of Miami with a lot of action so no matter if you are here on business or pleasure, we are a great choice. Indeed, we are a great hotel for a holiday in Miami. We look forward to having you back and please let us know if we can be of any help in planning your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed one night before heading to key west. They upgraded us to a suite so that was sweet! A Starbucks right in the hotel was a plus! We ate at Toro Toro. The food was great at great prices compared to Philadelphia high end restaurants. We were across from this great park! My five year old had a blast running around. We got so many great pics.

Not far from the airport. Very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Savette V,

Thank you for the great review! We love reading comments like yours. Indeed, Toro Toro offers delicious fare by internationally renowned Chef Richard Sandoval at a good price and in a great ambiance. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of the sights and sounds of Miami. We love Bayfront Park too. We look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami, whether for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As an ambassador member, we received an upgrade and access to the Club Floor. We enjoyed a generous continental breakfast each morning in the Club. Our view from the room as splendid.
The pool area is lovely to look at however the pool is in a very poor location. The only sun is before 9:30 am and you'll see it again for about 20 minutes around 5 pm. The heater was broken (and had been for some time apparently) and the water was FRIGID! We are Canadians and will swim in just about any temperature of water but even we found this cold!
The staff was wonderful and arrangements were made to deliver a birthday cake and a bottle of sparking wine for my mother's brithday. This was very much appreciated.
Location is excellent, steps away from many everything including free metro mover.

Room Tip: high floor, club floor if you can get it and over looking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear HappyCanadian13,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the hotel's amenities like the Club InterContinental Lounge. We strive to offer exceptional personalized guest experiences and we are glad to have made your mother's birthday a memorable one. Thank you for the comments about our pool as we use them to better the overall guest experience. Indeed, the hotel is centrally located, adjacent to the city's best attractions and free transportation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Probably i am demanding or used to be pamper in the four seasons. I got sick needed advil call front desk and was told they where not a pharmacy
The hotel is big and nice, showers are not walk thru but decent.
The restaurant is good

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear aikyb,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We strive to go that extra mile to make our guests feel at ease and carefree during their stay. Pampering our guests is our #1 priority. Our sincerest apologies that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Shade, our lobby level sundries shop, offers over-the-counter medication for sale. Thank you for the compliments about our restaurant, Toro Toro. If your travels ever bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will give us a chance to make your stay a perfect one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Intercontinental a few days ago and i was amazed by the lights and the peoples attention, a nice gentlemen named Yunior greeted my family and i with a big smile and big welcome, it kind of impress me because we are not used to that kind of service. Mario the doorman arranged our luggage because we had 3 different rooms and we wanted them fast..the connection the colleagues had was incredible, the doorman called the youngman which i later found out he was the bellboy. As we were doing the check in with a lovely lady Yunior was already in the lobby with our stuff and went up to each room telling us a litle bit about all the big changes that were going on at the moment...even the elevator ride was nice. When i went in my room the first image i saw was the ocean which i immediatly took pictures because i dont see that much water from where i am from. The young guy explained to us the area , the shops, restaurants, beach, and also recommended us a great cuban place to eat, Larios in south beach it was delicious and typical cuban music playing and people dancing.. It was great. Well the whole welcome of the staff and Yuniors assistance throughout our stay made everything easier for us since it was our first time in miami, we constantly bombarded Yunior everytime we saw him with questions and he was so patience we didnt even need to stop by the concierge. I highly reccommend people to stay at the Intercontinental just because you feel like a star with events going on and different cultures. My family and i will visit the property once again next year for summer. Another great experience was getting escorted to the lobby restaurant "ToroToro" by the youngman that was like our guardian angel, who appeared everywhere, he told the girls at the restaurant that we were very important people and we deserved the best service. We all smiled and said "are we in a movie" . Just an incredible hotel for every occassion. I appreciate all the staff at the intercontinental for making us feel amazed and specially MR Alfonso who was our Superstar...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear tradingGA,

Thank you for the detailed review. We love reading comments like yours and we are thrilled to know that we surpassed your expectations. Indeed, our staff is extremely knowledgeable about the hotel and Miami. They are always at the guests' side to offer stellar assistance and information. We will make sure to let the entire staff know that they contributed to a fantastic stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Miami and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel/property was beautiful. I truly enjoyed the location...within walking distance to downtown Miami, Bayside & the port/cruise ship. The restaurant Toro Toro...food and service was absolutely excellent. A special shout out to the restaurant staff...Brandy & Dwight. They made my (our) experience extra special. However, Jennifer (front desk) poor attitude. She obviously has a problem servicing African Americans and realizing the we do have money, class, and can afford to stay at 4-5 star hotels. The female bartenders (wish I knew their names)...same as Jennifer...obviously not use to coming in contact with African Americans. They simply ignored us and unfortunately we had to stand in front of their face in order to receive service. My suggestion to hotel management is to send/mandate every employee take racial diversity classes before being hired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear KDBW50,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations at our hotel as well as our newest delicious addition, Toro Toro. Indeed, we are located in the heart of downtown Miami, making it the ideal hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. We are sincerely sorry that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay. We strive to provide the very best experience to all of our guests as well as ensure that our staff is always at the guests' side to make them feel at ease. Please know that reviews like yours receive high priority attention so that corrective measures can be taken. We assure you that we have addressed your comments with the staff. If your travels ever bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with the signature InterContinental experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.