We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florangel Torres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Florangel Torres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

It is a pleaseure to be welcomed by Florangel Torres on the executive floor. Her entusiasm, professionalism and positive approach, makes getting to the hotel and staying there a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear HelmerNewYork,

We are glad you had a great experience at our Club InterContinental Lounge! We will make sure that Florangel knows that her professionalism and positive attitude made your stay a memorable one. We hope you will be returning to the InterContinental Miami again and if we can be of any assistance please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,482
    627
    196
    98
    50
See reviews for
488
670
128
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights post our cruise on Allure of the seas, fantastic place to relax and chill out. Only 10 mins walk to see Miami Heat play, children's playground opposite the hotel and plenty of cafes as well. Shuttle service for Dolphin Shopping Outlet Mall is only $10 return and has amazing shopping! Florangel, Leo and Elvin in the Exc Lounge were amazing and treat you like royalty as was Boris by the pool. Just remember that what they call a double bed is actually a king single in australia so book queen size beds.
Thanks for wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor, away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Justin5570,

Thank you for your great feedback. Florangel, Leo and Elvin along with our staff always go above and beyond to meet our guests’ needs. We will make sure they know they contributed to your wonderful stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Miami, please do not hesitate to ask if you need assistance in planning your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here for a three night vacation. I usually prefer smaller boutique like hotels with more character to the larger chains, but we had won the stay at an auction which is why we stayed here. Overall I was pleased. The hotel was modern, clean and the staff was very, very friendly and helpful. We were concerned it was too far from southbeach but it was just a short drive away so not a problem at all. I used the spa and had a great massage. My only complaint was the restaurant. It was so expensive for mediocre food. A cup of coffee is $4.95 and a piece of toast is $4.95! Prob best to grab from starbucks or go somewhere else. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Kitkat77774,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate our guests’ comments, as we strive to provide the best quality and service to meet all of our valued guests’ requests. We are glad to see we met your vacation expectations with our newly renovated rooms and our friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to seeing you soon and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us a perfect one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent the night at the Intercontinental in Miami to see Miami Heat. While it's location was great for the AA Arena, the hotel was just too expensive for what you get. My room was just about OK, but for $400 I would have expected more. The room supplied only 2 towels and no body lotion, and the carpet looked like it needed a good scrub! The pool area was very dull, with no pool service and a poor selection of cocktails and food. My big complaint would be the cost of the internet $17 per device. Per device. My son had set up the ipad, so when I went to log on with my computer it was another 17 bucks! I did complain and they did give me a code for a second free device - but really. The internet should be complimentary now. My extras for the evening came to just under $300! (internet, service, coffee, pizza, 2 waters from the fridge, valet, tax).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear HAPPYMUMDallas,

Thank you for your detailed review. Please know we appreciate our guests’ comments very serious and we strive to improve our guests’ experiences, we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We are truly the prime location to stay at for convenience to the American Airlines Arena; we hope that on your next visit to Miami to watch the Heat or to enjoy the city, you give us the opportunity to provide you with exceptional service. Please let me know if I can personally assist you in making you future stay with us memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, md
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have to travel to Miami often for work and as a member of the Priority Club, I always try to stay in one of their hotels. The location is somewhat difficult to get in and out of and if you are going within a mile or two of the hotel, the taxis are not happy about driving you a short distance. If you want to drive to your location on top of the $36 per day to park, that will be a $5 tip to get your car and a $5 tip to drop it off. So parking can run you $46 a day if you use your car once that day, more if you use it multiple times. The rooms are nice, but the temp was not as cool as I would have liked except for the last time I stayed there. The minibar is a joke. The prices are very high and if you move one item, to say put a water that you purchased elsewhere in its place, you get charged for the item. If you want to freely use the frige as you see fit, that incurs a $20 per day charge. The food is OK, a little 1990's for my taste and expensive, but still OK. Overall, I am being somewhat generous with a 3 star rating, if I were paying for the trips, I would not stay there as I see very little value for what you receive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Charles b,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We appreciate our guests’ feedback as we use it to continuously improve our guests’ experiences. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered. We do hope to have the opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you would expect from the InterContinental Miami on your next visit to the city. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I highly recommend a stay at this hotel. Beautiful grounds, fabulous rooms, excellent, friendly service. Walk to Bayside for an evening of fun along a beautiful walkway. They welcomed us royally from the moment we pulled up to the hotel. There was not one moment of our stay to which I would not give the highest rating. This hotel is obviously very well managed, with attention to detail. The location on the water is beautiful and safe, while still close to the city. The pool area is quite nice and inviting. There is a great bar/restaurant overlooking the water, adjoining the pool area. The jogging path takes you around beautiful planted areas. We can't wait to visit the Intercontinental Miami the next time we visit.

Room Tip: I recommend a high floor with a Harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear DebJupiter,

We appreciate you putting the time to write such a kind review about your stay with us. I am happy to know we went above and beyond your expectations. Our staff is 100% dedicated to our guests and I am glad to know you were well taken care of. We are please to know you will be returning soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you in planning your future stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Sitting right on the water in downtown Miami the hotel is in a good location (assuming downtown is where you want to be).

There is no self parking and the valet parking is $36 a day so it is very expensive if you have a car.

Check in was quick and efficient, luggage appeared quickly.

The room was spacious with a good floor plan. The bathroom was well laid out and was clean and appeared to have been recently refurbished. The room has a chez lounge and a workstation.

The bar and restaurant were soulless and it felt like you were just sitting in the lobby.

Primarily the hotel is a conference hotel and everything is focused on them. It really isn't a leisure hotel, but then again neither is downtown Miami a leisure destination unless you are going to the sports events.

.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear CheapEnglishman,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. Our guests’ recommendations and comments are taken very seriously as they help us to continuously meet and exceed expectations. We are glad to see that you found our staff quick and efficient, as well as our rooms comfortable to stay in. We look forward to seeing you soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your future stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.