We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit at Intercontinental Hotel in Miami.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great visit at Intercontinental Hotel in Miami.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommended hotel. In addition to be being a nice contemporary hotel in a safe downtown location, the staff are some of the finest people I've met; very friendly and "down to earth" for a hotel of this caliber, vs. other similar hotels with stuffy, arrogant attitudes. We especially enjoyed the Club package where Florangel, Aristides, and Hector were fabulous hostess/hosts. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear NWtwin,

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and nods to our staff. I am glad to see that our staff was able to go above and beyond to take care of you. We do believe we have a great location that is safe and convenient, so I’m glad to also see you were able to fully enjoy the hotel and surrounding area. We hope you will be returning to the InterContinental Miami again and if we can be of any assistance please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,497
    632
    198
    99
    50
See reviews for
499
675
129
659
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very nice and charming hotel (it also has a giant statue of Henry Moore in the lobby) with a 5 star front desk, and a club floor, which, if included in your rate, will allow you a great breakfast and a rich aperitif served by Hector Aristides and Florangel, who let you feel a very special customer. The only disappointment is the pool, sacrificed between the hotel and the neighboring building.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Aquilone66,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Indeed we are very proud to have in our lobby a Henry Moore sculpture, the largest in private collection. Did you know our lobby was built around it? It is as unique as our Club InterContinental lounge staff! I am glad to see that Aristides and Florangel exceeded your expectations; we treat all of our guests in a way that makes them feel unique and at ease. We look forward to seeing you soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your future stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My company had a business meeting at the Intercontinental. I was very happy with their staff. They were very friendly and helpful. They were available at anytime and went out of their way tot meet my needs. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I really liked that they offer a "healthy" breakfast in their meeting rooms. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Mississippi1756,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, thank you for your review about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our friendly and helpful staff. It is always nice to know that we are exceeding our guests’ expectations. The “healthy” breakfast option during meetings is a great way to start the day! We look forward to having you back and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed there for a few nights to enjoy Miami and shopping
Hotel was outstanding they placed my suitcase in a wrong room and after my report they went searching with everybody to find it.
After they find it everything was complimentary from the Hotel.
Great Personal en staff
wil stay there again next time

Room Tip: Great hotel near to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Bejanvelo,

We are thrilled to here we are your hotel of choice in Downtown Miami. I am glad to know that your suitcase was quickly placed in your room; we always have great staff at our guests’ side ready to assist. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your future stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel as I needed something near American Airlines Area (about a 10 min walk from the hotel). The hotel I well run but the food at the bistro leaves a lot to be desired (we close to the worst I have had in a hotel of this type).

The concierge staff went out of their way to help and the staff certainly made us feel welcome, but we did not appreciate changing rooms at midnight as the room we had booked and prepaid for was not available. We were told that our luggage would be moved whilst we were out.. It was not.... So some negative points there.

The area is close enough to the market place (about 7 mins away) but forget walking around town...

Would I stay there again??? For business perhaps but for leisure certainly not (will stay at South Beach next time)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Davib18,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Our staff is always by the guests’ side to assist them in any way they can. We make every effort to make your stay as comfortable and accommodating as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with booking. We do hope your travels have you coming back to Miami, please let me know and I will personally be of assistance in planning your future stay with at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a clean, friendly standard American hotel. I upgraded to bay views for $20 a night extra. The Starbucks in the lobby was very convenient. The gym required a $15/day charge, but it was pretty good for a hotel gym. The pool was a good size, but the neighboring condos cast a shadow on it by 3pm.

I think i was allergic to something in the room. I would wake up with puffy eyes.

One glitch was my car was scratched while under the care of the valet service. The hotel really didn't care since they hire a company to valet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Maughk,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in the Hotel InterContinental Miami, FL.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27709511
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

From the minute i checked in though my entire over one week stay this hotel met or exceeded my expectations. I was impressed with the people at check in, maid service, in room dining, the business center, the club lounge, the room, the concierge etc... This hotel is much higher quality then they get credit for. The location for people traveling with children couldn't be better. This hotel is totally drama free. You can pay more somewhere else in downtown Miami but there is no better hotel. I have tried them so i know. Obviously the more demand this hotel gets, the higher prices will go but WOW you will be impressed if you like Drama Free.

Top notch hotel...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Slsbrokers,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us, I’m thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations. We are drama-free; however, we have great theaters within walking distance if you ever feel in the mood for a show! Reviews like yours are a pleasure to read, we make sure our staff is aware of all of our guest’s feedback as we strive to provide the best experience for our valued guests. We hope to have the pleasure of having you back and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your future stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.