We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Cruise Stay at the Intercontinental.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pre-Cruise Stay at the Intercontinental.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night before we left on our cruise out of the Port of Miami. The port is a short taxi drive from this hotel. There are plenty of taxi's available to take you to the port when you are ready to head that way. No need to worry about setting up transportation.
The Intercontinental is a large hotel set right on the bay. The Bayside market is with-in walking distance from the hotel. We felt really safe walking around the area. Lot's to see and do.
There is also a Walgreen's with-in a few block's of the hotel also for those last minute pre-cruise purchases.
Check-in was really pretty fast considering how busy the hotel was. We were upgraded to a newly renovated room on an upper floor/bayside since we are Priority Club member's. Priority club is one of the few reward's program's that consistently offer's us upgrades.
The room itself was really nice with a huge picture window with a direct view of the cruise ship port. We had a king size bed with lot's of pillow's that was really comfortable. Also had a nice size flat screen tv. The bathroom itself was really nice with a separate tub and shower, hair dryer and some nice amenities. The only problem's we had with the room were we couldn't get the safe to work and they don't give you much coffee for the coffee maker. The coffee maker is one of those new Keurig single cup coffee maker's. We requested extra coffee from housekeeping, but they seemed really reluctant to give us any extra. Not sure what the problem was with that. The mini-bar was fully stocked with beer, wine, snack's,etc. and of course the ridiculously high mini-bar prices.
We decided to just eat in the bar area for dinner since we were wanting to watch a football game and just relax. They have a nice menu selection with appetizer's, pizza, sandwiches,etc. My cuban sandwich was huge and came with a nice size salad also. The drink's were also really good. The place was packed so service was kind of hit and miss. The prices were to be expected from a hotel bar. We got a 15% discount in the bar since we are Priority Club member's. Didn't try the Indigo Restaurant. It is located right next to the bar. Heard they served good food though.
Check-out was a breeze. Just looked over our final bill and got our statement.You can charge most thing's to your room, including the restaurant/bar tab. The hotel does put an initial hold on your credit card for I think $75. It seem's most hotel's do this anymore for incidental's.
Over-all this is a really nice upscale hotel in a great location. I would have liked to have spent more time here and got to explore the area a little more. Lot's to see and do!!

Room Tip: Bayside,upper floor's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear ParadiseOklahoma,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to personally thank you for your honest and detailed review of the hotel We value all feedback and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and hotel amenities. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and we are following through to ensure they don’t happen again. If your travels bring you through Miami again, please let us know so we can assist in planning. We look forward to having you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,244
    987
    288
    118
    69
See reviews for
822
1,056
179
891
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. I had booked two rooms for one night and the rooms and views were lovely. Unfortunately, the only excellent service we received at this hotel was from Paola in the bar.

The poor service started at check-in. Upon arrival the first thing the receptionist told us was that there would be a $100 charge to check-in. This was before even asking us our booking information. As we were on the club level (which we were informed was under construction at check-in, not at booking) and members of their frequent stay program, there should have been no mention of a fee for early check-in. This is not the warm welcome you expect at a deluxe hotel. One of our rooms was charged at the wrong rate. After pointing out the discrepancy, we received a blank look from the receptionist. We actually had to explain that we expected the discrepancy to be corrected.

The beds, bedding, and pillows were clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms were in good working order, large, and generally clean. Luckily, I hadn't planned to use the tub. I say luckily because it wasn't particularly clean. Also, they kindly stock shampoo, conditioner, soaps, cotton balls, etc.; however, the decorative case that holds the cotton balls, q-tips, and nail file was not recently inspected by housekeeping. There was a half empty packet in the case. The fruit bowl consisted of a banana, an apple, and an orange and was a welcome snack.

As the club floor was under construction, we were given coupons for appetizers and drinks in the bar. The appetizers were larger than expected and all delicious. The drinks, especially their own specialty cocktails were also quite good. Our server, Paola, was warm, attentive, and quick.

Breakfast in the restaurant: The breakfast buffet included a very nice selection of fruits, meats and cheese; omelet station; breads; etc. The servers are supposed to provide beverages and clear the dishes. We had to repeatedly request drinks and drink refills. The server didn't seem to notice that we didn't have water or were out of tea or coffee, etc.

Check-out was efficient and quick.

Valet: The first night getting the car was no problem and we received our car in good order. At check-out, we received the car filled with the heavy smell of smoke which persisted for the majority of our 40 minute drive even with the windows open. We ultimately discovered a cigarette butt on the floor! It took over a day and some Febreze to get rid of the smell.

I tried contacting the hotel manager, Robert Hill, but was directed to Elizabeth Perez's voice-mail until finally reaching the duty manager, Pedro. He apologized for the valet service. Instead of immediately offering to reimburse me for the poor valet service, he assured me he would talk to the valet service first and then get back to me - as if I would bother to contact him about this event a day after the fact if it hadn't actually happened and upset my family.

Bottom line - if you get a great price, stay here, but don't expect the service to match the deluxe decor or brand name.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I recently went with my kids to the hotel for the Ice Skating Rink Experience. My children loved the idea of an outdoor rink in Miami and enjoyed the music. We later went inside to find out about the activities for New Years Eve. Kathleen was glad to explain the events that will be taking place. She was thoughtful enough to offer my kids holiday cookies. Overall, my kids were happy and I was happy with such attention to detail.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear OLexyO,

We are thrilled that everyone in the family had a great time! Our ice rink was the best kids activity in Miami this holiday season! Stay tuned because we are doing it again next year. Thank you for your review and recognition of Kathleen, we are glad she was able to assist! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Shari D. was charming, professional desk agent that taught me a valuable lesson about being authentic just before a critical meeting - how's that for customer service! Great hotel in perfect locale. Will return in future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Antoniofarias,

That is wonderful to hear! Thank you for your gracious comments about your experience with Shari D. She will be so pleased she contributed to making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to having you back with us soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami. We will be happy to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here prior to a cruise. All the staff was very welcoming. Had some misunderstanding regarding the mini fridge, which was solved by Shari Davis in a heartbeat with no fuss.
The room is beautiful and very cozy.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We value all feedback and are pleased to hear that your issue with the mini fridge got resolved promptly. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

me and my wife stayed here the night before our cruise. we really loved the place and would go back in a second. the location was perfect and had a bay view room the was perfect. the bayside village area with the shops and entertainment was so much fun. many places to eat and a cvs near by. would even go for a long weekend to enjoy this area again. will stay here before my next cruise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear nc-1traveler,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to personally thank you for your gracious comments regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us before your cruise, and that you enjoyed the attractions surrounding the hotel. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The outstanding experience at this hotel is mostly related with the sleeping quality provided. If you have sleeping disorders or is in a busy week this place definitely will not be blamed to be the cause of any poor sleeping night. Although the hotel was fully booked during my stay, at 26th floor I couldn´t hear anything from Miami streets, nor from neighboring rooms. I had a friend with some noisy neighbors but he was moved to another room in a short time. The bed is magnificent, very clean, with a full set of pillows and comfortable. Room size is great, with a nice desk to spread sheets of documents, a laptop and everything else one may need to work during the stay. It´s not mentioned that there is a clock alarm that recharge your iPhone during night. Internet speed is sometimes slow, but works. Bathroom is nice, spacious and fancy. Staff is just ok as reception does not reflects the quality of the rooms and reception attendees were perceived as being sometimes confused with the magnitude of the hotel (more than 600 rooms). Breakfast was also considered poor for a five star and the price paid (at Indigo restaurant). I would recommend this hotel for businessmen and those that want a 5 star experience at a price.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bay view may be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Sofitel Miami
#36 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,936 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.