We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed here 10/01/2011 thru 10/05/2011 (3) sisters one on business trip other two just hanging out. The room is very nice must have been recently painted (paint smell not bad)very clean when we arrived. The staff very friendly and accomadating. We did not have a bay view but the view overlooking the park and downtown was nice also. walking distance to the bay street market with lots of shops and restaurants. Starbucks inside which was very convienant. There are quite a few homeless down close to the bay just walking around but they never asked for anything or bothered us and we never felt unsafe. It was quite an experience for our first time to miami I would defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Lisa C,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to personally thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We just updated the look of our rooms, so you must have been among the first to enjoy it, I do apologize for the smell though! We truly are a great location from which to enjoy the city and we are happy you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to having you back with us soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    889
    264
    115
    66
See reviews for
727
967
166
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I had always anticipated equal or better quality to standard Hilton/Marriott from the Intercontinental chain. This ghetto-hotel has set me straight.

1. The staff generally couldn't care less about customer service. The protocol for dealing with legitimate customer issues is to ignore-and-hope-it-go-away.
2. The room cleaning service was a joke: entire table services left uncleaned, missing towels, layers of dust, complementary toiletries not replaced, cushions and bed covers left on the floor. There was a special surprise everyday on our 6 night stay. Room safe was locked closed on arrival.
3. They ignored a request for a king bed and baby crib made over a six weeks in advance.
4. The hotel is misrepresented on the website as having a minibar (essential for keeping baby's food cold, and a prerequisite for selecting a hotel) in each room. Apparently, the "newly renovated" (read: tacky dated nineties low-ceiling) rooms have no minibar yet and the non-renovated (read: possibly tackier eighties low-ceiling) do. It took escalation to the manager and much arguing to finally get a fridge in the room.

The location is convenient for staying downtown, and the updated bathrooms with dual-head shower (but, unfortunately, low water pressure) are the best feature.

Avoid until these folks attain some semblance of professionalism.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Jonline,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. First and foremost, I apologize for the experience you had. We were able to locate your reservation based on the requests and deficiencies you mentioned and we were able to get to the root of the problem regarding the cleanliness of the room and have taken action. While this comes after your stay, please know we took corrective actions. There’s no excuse as to why your safe wasn’t working and we understand how frustrating it may be when you expected a minibar to keep your baby’s food cold. We recently redecorated some of our rooms and unfortunately we are still waiting for the new minibars to arrive, but our intention was for you to experience a new product, rather than disturb you. We totally understand your perception yet hope you give us another chance on your next visit to Miami as we want to make sure that we live up to our standards and deliver excellent service. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can personally make sure you have the perfect InterContinental experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I had the pleasure of having lunch with Mr. Ysaac Nanin during the Rioja Wine & Food Festival and all I can tell you is that it was superb!! The service was excellent and the Spanish dishes were done to perfection. I really enjoyed the company and everything
else. The Intercontinental Hotel Miami is a great place to stay and dine.
Lilia Valdes from BNP Paribas Miami

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Lilia V,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami and Mr. Nanin, I would like to personally thank you for your comments about your experience at our Rioja Wine and Food Festival. We value all feedback from our events here at the hotel and are thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience during the festival. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Spanish dishes and the service of our staff. We look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The room has gone a mayor change, new decoration. Also the bathrooms have gone a mayor change.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Great staff and service...There is a great little Italian restaurant across the street which I highly recommend for dinner. It is far better than outside appearances give.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Mgspivey,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to personally thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am see our staff provided you with great service and that you enjoyed your room and view. We look forward to having you back with us soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Love to travel and very few times I stay at a hotel where I want to go back, my experience with this hotel was extraordinary from the delicious food to the excellent and personalize service from the councierge. The tastefully decored room view the waterways and the park with equally breath taking views during the day and night. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: ask for water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Eduardo A,

We can’t wait to have you back! Thank you on behalf of the InterContinental Miami team, I am please to read that you had an amazing stay with us. We have a great staff, all dedicated to giving our guests exceptional personalized service, so thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to having you back with us soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I were honored by the invitation to the Rioja Festival at the hotel. We had an amazing evening with wonderful hotel staff attending everyone. The whole event was put together with passion, you saw it in everything, from the food thatvwas served including the famous Diego's paella, to the fine wines we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Me0217,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to personally thank you for your kind words about your experience at the Rioja Festival. We value all feedback that comes from the events we host here at the hotel, and are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful during the event. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food and the Rioja wines. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next visit to the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.