We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Very elegant hotel. The rooms were very clean, well decorated and more comfortable than most. We were there on New Years Eve, not intending to party as we had to be at airport at 4am (not nice), but despite that it wasn't surprisingly loud. Great service in room, bar and restaurant. Very accomodating and beds very comfy. Quick ride from Cruise ships and airport and easy walk (if you are in good health) to the Marketplace for food and shopping. Even though the price was steep by our standards, it was average for the area. We would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    606
    462
    225
    101
See reviews for
333
433
109
516
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
evanston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Nice Rooms, most of the staff were friendly. I liked the security of guests having to use the room key to go on the elevator.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Pros: probably most comfortable sleep, close to monorail and shopping. Cons: not much to do in the area on a sunday evening as most places are closed. We stayed here after a cruise and the hotel was great. Clean, quick check-in/ check-out, spacious standard room, very comfortable beds, concierge was very friendly. Location was close to monorail which is pretty convenient for bus to/from airport. We got a great price and if we need to stay in the business area would likely choose here because it is connected to a conference centre. The exterior and lobby are not spectacular, but the sleep is definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

From the spacious lobby, to the indoor art and wonderful palm trees to the charming staff, four days at the Miami Hyatt were wonderful. The food was consistently well prepared whether from room service or the deli in the lobby.

Conference rooms were clean and well stocked and the concierges assigned to assist were knowledgeable and helpful. A truly great experience

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel after coming off a weekend 3 day cruise. I am a Platinum member, and so I stayed using my Hyatt Points. Check in was flawless and quick. I received an early check in (9am) which I purchased prior to arrival, and then also received a room upgrade to a nice suite. The lobby area was very nice, and the bartenders very friendly. The pool is next to the river, and there is a LOT of city noise and boat traffic/clanging bells for the nearby drawbridge, etc. If you're going for poolside, bring your ipod to drown it out (I didn't hear much from inside my room though). The pool area was clean and well-maintained. Waited a long time for the food/beverage folks to bring me ice water. 25 minutes the first time, 35 minutes (and then a reminder call) the second time. A bartender brought out a sample frozen drink for folks to try one time - that was nice and it was delicious!

OK, back to the room. I was SURPRISED to see one of the pillow cases on the bed with at least 7 or 8 VISIBLE holes in it. I cannot believe their housekeeping staff could have missed this! One of the bed throw pillows also had a hole in it (cigarette burn?). Bathroom had four dark hairs visible - one still stuck to the side of the bathtub, two on the floor, and one large and long one on the bathroom counter. Yuck. Attention to detail is clearly not their forte. Bathroom door needed to be painted, baseboards as well, and bathroom door could not reliably be opened from the inside (nothing like getting locked in your bathroom with no phone to call out!). Such a pity, as a quick paint brush and a maintenance guy would have fixed these obvious/glaring ugly spots and mechanical issues. Again, attention to detail lacking.

Bed was EXTREMELY comfortable. There was a clock radio next to it with an iPod docking station. Nice.

Never could get TV remote to work accurately...trying to check out impossible via TV for this reason.

Room temp hard to cool down. Had on 66 and there is no way it got much lower than 70/71.

Friend came to visit, and parked his car in front of the hotel via the valet. Six hours later when he left it was a $60 parking bill. Seriously? $60? Capitol Grille is across the street - walking distance. We could have driven there and valet parked for FREE with restaurant validating.

Gift shop had limited selection of items. Fitness center VERY small. Basic equipment.

Front desk staff were extremely pleasant - always greeted me by name - very friendly. Very professional and beautiful African American woman checked me in. She was very classy. Did not get her name, but she was fabulous.

Double billed on my room upgrade...had to call and get this corrected - which they did with no big problem.

Overall it was ok, but not what I expected from a Hyatt in one of their best rooms at what they charge.

Probably would stay there again but it wouldn't be my first choice for the money?

To note: Hyatt to Miami Airport in a taxi is approximately $24 plus tip (about 15 - 20 minutes away if you are not in rush hour). It's not far from the cruise port (about 2 miles) but in the rush hour traffic a taxi cost about $15). This hotel is connected directly to the convention center. I could see a sliver of the Bay from my room. Beach is a long way away. There is an Avis rental car shop not far from the hotel. WIFI is $9.99 for a 24 hour period. Seriously? At what they charge it should be FREE. At least in their lobby!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I stayed here with my husband while attending a convention in Miami. The hotel was right downtown just off of the highway. The staff was excellent. Every person I dealt with went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable. They were always pleasant, polite and helpful. As soon as we stepped outdoors the bell hops called a taxi for us. We never had to wait. There is a nice little river walk outdoors on the back side of the hotel and a nice little cafe to buy breakfast items to go. There were a few minor drawbacks. The furniture could use a bit of updating (though the bed was very comfortable). There was no internet access unless you paid a fee for the in-room hook up and brought your own lap top, and the resturant was pricey. The superbowl was on and was blocked on the televisions in the room. In order to see it we had to go to the bar. As soon as the Superbowl was over the channel was unblocked. Also this hotel is right downtown and you do hear airplanes flying overhead at night occasionally. Overall though, this hotel was fine and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

First of all I did not realize that the hotel is over a half hour from the beach. It was a headache to rent a car and spent way more money on parking than originally anticipated. The beds are very comfortable and the room was big but the bathroom looked like it was falling apart. The first morning we ordered breakfast from room service...never again... it took over 30 minutes the eggs were runny, the bacon was undercooked and everything was cold. I normally like hyatt but this one I will not be returning to

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiConsumerAffair, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies on behalf of the hotel. This is certanly not the type of service we are accostume to provide here in Miami. Please contact me directly should you plan on returning to Miami and I will be personally make sure your stay goes smooth.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.