We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Cool, downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed here for a conference (also at the hotel). It has that cool, Miami vibe and is an easy walk to many restaurants and the waterfront. The lobby restaurant was very good and our waiter was top-notch. The lobby bar overlooks the Miami River and you can sit, have a drink and watch the boats go by. They have a great amphitheater for conferences, with comfy padded chairs, more like a movie theater than a conference space, a plus when you're going to be sitting all day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    540
    418
    203
    90
See reviews for
289
400
101
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a pageant our granddaughter was a part of. One for the Regency Club and the other a suite. Yes the rooms could use upgrading but they were clean and well maintained.
Because of the pageant we were pretty much confined to the hotel. That meant lunch, dinner and breakfast for the first day and a half. Every meal was well done and though not gourmet of extremely good quality. We especially enjoyed the Cuban Buffet on Saturday night.
What really made this stay special was the staff. We have stayed at so called 5 star hotels and have not received the fine quality of service received here. Everyone from valet, to check in, to room service to wait staff to housekeeping. They all went the extra mile to make us feel special.
The location is great too.
Thank you Hyatt.. You made me glad on this visit that I stayed with you.

Room Tip: Book the Regency Club. Great coffee in the a.m. Wonderful Happy Hour too. And room 2326 is just ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claygate Surrey England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a high end hotel and is very grand upon entering. It has a store and a number of restaurants (none of which I sampled as I was sightseeing and prefer to eat out). There is no guest parking (except valet). There is a pool which is good in the weekdays but crowded at the weekends, so get down to the pool early. Food and drink are not served or allowed by the pool, so eat first, but they do provide towels for guest use. If you want a quiet weekend this is not a tranquil hotel. There are large groups and families who enjoy get togethers in their rooms until very late or come in very late making a lot of noise, but this is Miami so if you want tranquil - pick Miami Beach (north of south beach). If you are on a budget don't drink the water provided in the room - it's $6.50 a bottle!! There is a store in the lobby that has water for $1.50. There is no fridge in the room either. You can get almost anything here if money is no object and the staff are very helpful. The wireless is $5.50 per day per device and is very, very slow and the signal is weak, so again consider these extras if on a budget.

Room Tip: Can't say there are any good rooms if you're looking for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night after returning from our wedding in St. Lucia. We got in just in time for the fireworks and the hotel was a perfect location! We were able to walk to where the fireworks were in under 3 minutes. Once back at the hotel, we had a smooth check in and was upgraded to the club level which offered free beverages and small breakfast items. The room was nice with a wonderful view of the city. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floors offered a great view of the fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here in June with my family we really enjoyed the area, and the hotel was a pleasure to stay at... Check-in was quick and the staff very friendly... Parking was good value.. And plenty of taxis outside if your enjoying the nightlife... All in all enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate spending more time here...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

For all the glitz and glamour that is Miami, the Hyatt Regency definitely should reflect its surroundings. The Hyatt brand is well respected, and a "regency" should definitely describe the experience as somewhat regal, but this hotel is tired and downtrodden. Granted, it is in a business-y area of Miami, but coming here for a meeting every February, one would expect that the rooms would at least be freshened up. The rooms are always somewhat stale and musty, and dim - it is very hard to see in the bathroom mirror in the dim lights. The bedding, while clean, appears old, and the carpet - I do not walk on it barefoot. For the prices per night, this hotel is in need of refreshing. The furnishings are dated, and really need to be lightened and brightened. Room size is nice, and the staff is very welcoming, but this tired hotel really should take a cue from lesser priced hotels and freshen up. I dread coming every year for the meeting I must attend and have no choice about attending, just because of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent one night here before boarding a long haul to Europe. Location good, walking distance to Bayside Marketplace to strecht legs before flight. Had a nice big room. Furniture slightly dated. Staff at check-in very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.