We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Miami, what a fantastic place.

If I were to stay again, I would stay at the Hyatt Regency. Though I would say that the hotel is dated (like most US hotels) the hotel is clean and in a good up kept condition. The building/hotel is shared with the Miami Convention Centre.

The staff here at this hotel were professional and helpful. I checked in at 9am with no issues after a red eye flight.

The room was nice, the bathroom slightly dated. The shower in the room did leak, though this was not something I mentioned to staff. The corridors are fairly quiet and depending which side of the building you are on, you can get some nice views of Miami!

You can get off at Knight Centre for the MetroMover which operates around Downtown Miami.

As a tourist, I wanted to visit South Beach and Miami Beach and I found it difficult with long transit times from this hotel due to the distance. Location is great if you are needing to be in Downtown Miami.

I would stay here again, though I would also look for other hotels in the area too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    609
    463
    227
    101
See reviews for
334
435
110
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I was concerned about the hotel after reading some of the reviews but I can say I was pleasantly surprised. It is a good size facility...not overly crowded and not the beach crowd...so it was quiet and easy to manuever...and elevators were functioning very efficiently!

Most noticeable was the extreme pleasantness of the staff. Everyone, from desk staff to waiters to the housekeeper, was extremely friendly and helpful. That really stood out to me...

The room was well appointed. The bathroom is small and a little dark, but the living area is bright and open. Didn't touch the AC control at all, and was very comfortable.

The room did face the infamous bridge...and there is a dull rumble from trucks and cars going over the bridge grates. But, didn't bother me, and they do offer earplugs, which I found humorous.

Ate one evening in the dining room...price as expected for a convention hotel, but very good quality meal. Catering in the meeting facilities was good.

Arriving at self park was confusing. I didn't see the signs on how to get to the lobby, so ended up with bags going down a stairwell into an alleyway. By checkout, I figured out the intended path.

Overall, I was very pleased with the facilities and it's people!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel and feel it does not live up to the Hyatt name, let alone Hyatt Regency. 1989 is calling and they want their popcorn ceiling back! This hotel is not only in need of a major remodel, the cleanliness of my room was subpar. Not filth so much as dust and age. Dated paint colors and window treatments give the room a tired appearance. A "half wall" for lack of a better term separates the sleeping area from sink/vanity area which without the half wall would be right next to your bed. Small toilet and shower comprise the bathroom. Think dated motel along the interstate circa 1984. Closet is right next to bathroom. It has a door on it that is reminiscent of a public restroom door or the door to the fitting room at a low end department store. The closet door is wooden louvre door that does not touch the floor or the ceiling. Perhaps I just was unlucky and received a bad room, but the room service food leaves me to believe otherwise. Hamburger was frozen hockey puck disguised on decent brioche roll. Chocolate cake had barely thawed from the food service box it had just come out of. I know room service is never gourmet, just seemed like the cheapest food service items they could get. Nothing was fresh. Burger didn't even come with lettuce and tomato. Nothing god awful here, just subpar all the way around. I will say all of the staff I have encountered has been very nice. Time for a major re-model here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed here three times now and I absolutely love it. Great value on rooms and love the balconies. It's nice to go out and enjoy the views especially in the evening. I love watching the boats go under the drawbridge. Great location to anything in downtown. Walking distance to Bayfront park and short cab ride to South Beach. I love the little Cuban sandwich shop just up the street. I do think for such a nice hotel their pool is a little small that could use some improvement. next door to the convention center makes it great for business. Heading on a cruise your next to the port of Miami.. What can I say nice hotel, good service and great location for anything in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I was happy with my stay. The location for a downtown Miami hotel is excellent. Right on the water with wonderful views of the river and the bay. The lobby is nice and offers free coffee, tea and fruit infused water. Valet is excellent and fast. Service was very good and very pleasant. The Verde lounge has a beautiful view of the water with constantly passing yachts. All of the food was absolutely delicious. Nothing fancy just really great comfort food that was exceptionally prepared. There are so many pluses to this hotel. Now for the main problem! Bathrooms need updating. Small, dark and basic. But everything was very clean. Beds are comfy. And yes you can hear a little bit from the next room. But nothing too distracting. I was fortunate to get a fantastic price thru priceline. If you pay anymore than about $180 you should probably go elsewhere. I enjoyed my stay. HYATT you have a jewel of a location....time to update just a bit. 3.5 stars and a good price!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This one is not exactly on the South Beach, but it depends on the purpose of your trip, if you are here for business, this is near the convention facilities. It is about half an hour from the Miami International Airport. Got an upgrade to a suite with a river view, lovely. Most impressive are the service, the Front Office check in was smooth and very polite. What is pleasant is that when I am on the phone with them I was always addressed by my surname. Not even Hilton does that, and I am a Hilton regular. When I had trouble opening my safe again the service was also efficient and courteous . The hotel had a few F & B outlet, the bar is pleasant, the Riverside Cafe is very reasonably prized. You can go out from one door in the hotel to walk along side the river, but it is not that special. There is also a big CVS nearby and a Cuban restaurant that is absolutely cheap and cheerful. If I am in Miami again, I will stay there again. Wifi is free with its loyalty program otherwise is paid starting from $9.99.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Rooms are decent size and beds are comfortable. Walls are thin and noise from adjacent rooms was very noticeable.
Location is close to AA Arena and Inter-coastal waterway.
Easy walk to dining in the area with food of all price ranges.
Easy access to the metro-link train from the airport ($4.50).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.