We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #65 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is definitely showing its age versus the competition in the neighborhood. everything seems fairly worn out and its generally unstylish. but of course if you are looking to get the best deal possible the rates are fairly reasonable for a downtown hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    519
    396
    199
    89
See reviews for
269
391
101
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After your walk from the almost miniature parking garage, the first thing you will notice abput the hotel is the dated and empty convention center that is joined with the hotel at the lobby. The rest of the lobby has been upgraded somewhat and the hotel bar is decent.The floors above and rooms are dated and showing their age.That said, the location is great. The rooms are big. And the price was very right ($63/nt on priceline). I wouldnt use this hotel for personal vacation, but for my work trip by myself it did the job and id use it again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Homosassa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is very dated and in need of better maintenance. The lobby is nice and welcoming as are the staff. Location is great, only 6 blocks to Bayside and a beautiful stroll along the bay. People mover is also convenient to us with tired feet. We liked watching the draw bridge go up and down for the boat traffic on the Miami River. Now the problems, as soon as we got off the elevator we were hit with a horrible order of mildew and old cigarette smoke. The halls and rooms were even worse. The carpet was loose and very matted from use. The furniture was dated and scratched. The small sofa table they use as a desk did not even hold our laptop and paperwork along with the coffee pot and coffee & tea caddy. What appeared to be a balcony was actually two glass doors turned into large windows and sealed shut...no fresh air at all. The bed was very comfortable and fresh new linens were used. We checked for bed bugs and there we not any, a good thing. The bathroom was again very dated with a small water closet and tub. The tub had mold all along the caulking and wall tiles. Lighting in the bath area was very dim. If we were paying for this room we would be looking for another hotel. As it is the company paid as we were attending the Trade Show. My husband was not happy with the business center. They advertise that they have Fed EX available but they did not. The business center is outsourced so the Hyatt would not claim any responsibility for their services. This could be a great hotel with its location and friendly staff. Remodel the rooms and tear out the old smelly walls, carpet, and bathrooms. Put in new modern furniture and we will be back.

Room Tip: For a good room book another hotel for now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

we attended a conference at this hotel. we stayed at a Miami Suite. the room was apparently renovated, but it did not feel like it. the bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen tv. apart from that the bathroom is very strange as it is part of the room with the toilet and the shower apart. all in all did the room feel very dark and not very clean. we arrived on a saturday and there was no laundry service until Monday.
the common areas of the hotel are very basic and the conference suffered due to the fact that everythign in this hotel is dark and basic. besides a loud sports bar there is no Bar to entertain. the restaurant feels like a Mexican joint with plastic like chairs.
the pool is a joke, small and with non comfortable lounge chairs. due to the location there is no sun in the afternoon.
this is one of the most basic hotels in Miami. if you dont have to stay there go someweher else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit worried from some of the reviews online regarding this hotel. The hotel was excellent. Service was great, I called them before I arrived to remove feathers from my room and they did (most hotels don't do that except when I arrive). Rooms were clean and spacious (a bit dated). The breakfast buffet was excellent on
terms of both food and service.

Notes:
You can walk to the people mover without even going outdoors which is nice.
There is a parking structure exactly next to the hotel so no need to do the valet parking

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hyatt Regency is a great property in downtown Miami. Site easily holds a small self contained conference. We were around 600, had the place to ourselves and all events were close to each other. Nice lobby for gathering areas and an outside patio on the river, careful the doors lock after 9 and it can be hard to get back in.
Walking distance from the Riverwalk
Walking distance from the AA arena, some members went to the Heat game.
Walking distance to several good restaurants
Parking is limited with valet at the hotel at $35 although there is a public garage just across the street for $19/day and less on the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is extremely dated and the bathrooms are tiny. The one bright point is the staff is fantastic and try to make the best of a sub standard property. The hotel is also located in a very noisy area - there is a lift bridge that reverberates through he hotel when it opens there is also a new building under construction across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.