We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to sound like a broken record but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #65 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not to sound like a broken record but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of room renovation. No amount of cleaning will bring this hotel up to the level of its competitors. The carpet is old, the walls are dirty, the decor screams 1980! I think my mom had the same artwork in our house back in 1985. You would think that the amount of reviewers that call attention to this fact would have turned on some alarm bells to the hotel that it's time for some capital investment in their product. The staff was fantastic and I give them a ton of credit for having a less than stellar product to sell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    542
    418
    204
    90
See reviews for
290
401
101
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Surprised that Hyatt was not more upscale. The room was a semi-suite type with a funky design. For example, partial petitions were everywhere with no flow to the space. Few outlets were available. The bathtub had hair in the tub. The amenities were shockingly poor for what I thought was an upscale chain. Employee service was good and staff was friendly, but I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The service was great, but the carpet in my room was dirty and worn. Even the walls were dirty in my room. Beds were comfortable and clean. Room service was timely - but the food was not very good. I was here for a conference, but am a passport member that often stays with Hyatt on vacation but this is the third one I have ran into in a year that needs renovation. Heck I would be happy with them just painting the walls and cleaning the carpet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The five day conference stay in this hotle has been a largely disappointing experiece: rooms urgentily require modernization and upgrading, notaby bathrooms and floors, interior look all but inspiring. Breakfast was not a great thing either, too much of unhealthy items as used to be common 10 or 20 years back but nowadays? The best part of our stay was the 'nameless' staff members who work for USD 10 an hour and were always very helpful, hence for the Hyatt group this 612 bedroom hotel must be a true 'cash cow' for its owners - at the cost of clients' wellbeing and not least social responsibility (salaries bieng inadequately low). Hotel is definitely not to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel, and it did not disappoint!
Even though it is busy, the valet, & check-in was prompt and courteous.
We were on the concierge level, and our room was spotless, comfortable, very quiet, and had a very restful bed.
The snacks were delicious and plentiful. Every employee I came in contact with was very helpful and were not satisfied until I was. Great service!!!!!
Don't let the downtown location scare you, it was convenient to everything, fine restaurants, bayside mall, Miami Beach,
and anywhere you want to go.
This is MY hotel whenever my travels take me to Miami.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on business, which was taking place at the convention centre (reason for picking the hotel in the first place). Walking into the lobby, we got a great first impression and quick check in service. Unfortunately, the rooms were another story - they are dark, with windows that don't open and carpets that felt dirty (I didn't want to walk around barefoot). The room overall felt damp no matter what we changed the temperature/fan setting to (to the point that our bathing suits never dried). The bed was comfortable. The bathroom fixtures were very outdated. The rooms definitely need a facelift...hardwood floors would be a nice first step.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of nice options, although the eggs benedict were terrible (the english muffins hard as a rock). The pool is flanked by a busy road, and you can hear all the traffic, although it was a nice place to escape to during the day for some sunshine especially since the room got so little light. The gym was standard, nothing special. The service at the hotel was good.

The location was convenient for business, but all the shops and restaurants are in South beach which is a $20 cab ride (one way) and about 10-15 mins away depending on traffic.

I would not stay here again. I would definitely stay in South beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Miami for only one night pre cruise. Check in for quick and they gave us a nice higher floor room. The room was large (king bedroom), but it really does need uodating. Popcorn ceiling, dated and dirty carpet, small bathroom, etc. The room was fine, but could be much much better if they upgraded. We would stay here again for a one night pre cruise stay, but only if we got another great deal like we did this time ( we won the hotel on Priceline).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.