We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is outdated, service was good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel is outdated, service was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on business, which was taking place at the convention centre (reason for picking the hotel in the first place). Walking into the lobby, we got a great first impression and quick check in service. Unfortunately, the rooms were another story - they are dark, with windows that don't open and carpets that felt dirty (I didn't want to walk around barefoot). The room overall felt damp no matter what we changed the temperature/fan setting to (to the point that our bathing suits never dried). The bed was comfortable. The bathroom fixtures were very outdated. The rooms definitely need a facelift...hardwood floors would be a nice first step.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of nice options, although the eggs benedict were terrible (the english muffins hard as a rock). The pool is flanked by a busy road, and you can hear all the traffic, although it was a nice place to escape to during the day for some sunshine especially since the room got so little light. The gym was standard, nothing special. The service at the hotel was good.

The location was convenient for business, but all the shops and restaurants are in South beach which is a $20 cab ride (one way) and about 10-15 mins away depending on traffic.

I would not stay here again. I would definitely stay in South beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelgal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Miami for only one night pre cruise. Check in for quick and they gave us a nice higher floor room. The room was large (king bedroom), but it really does need uodating. Popcorn ceiling, dated and dirty carpet, small bathroom, etc. The room was fine, but could be much much better if they upgraded. We would stay here again for a one night pre cruise stay, but only if we got another great deal like we did this time ( we won the hotel on Priceline).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maja651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Service was 4 stars but hotel needs updating. The room was spacious and clean but a little outdated. Beds were comfortable and the city view was great. Room service was pretty good and quick. I would probably stay here again for another overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I must say this hotel has the best service I've ever experienced. From the bell man to the busboy everyone went out of their way to make sure our experience was wonderful. When checking in, my husband mentioned that we were using this trip as a second honeymoon and we were upgraded to a suite. I was also able to get a refrigerator brought to our room because of health needs. My only complaint was the bed was uncomfortable and there was a party in a courtyard that was loud until 11 Pm. If you value excellent customer service, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As some reviewers have said, this hotel failed to live up to the Hyatt Regency reputation. First, my room was dirty (some trash in the wardobe left by the previous guest) and a bit moldy. Secondly, the room layout was strange with a semi-open bathroom behind the bed. The weak lighting also gave an unpleansant ambiance. Worse of all, there wasn't any power outlet near to the bed for charging my phone so I had to remove the nightstand and unplugged the lamp to make one available. The property was old - which is fine - but the management should seriously think about a major renovation because the tired decor and faciities no longer inspired an upmarket image. It's just OK for a short business stay but if you are having a vacation find somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Miami for a short conference. I like Hyatts and generally have a good expereince. This Hyatt is not up to the expectation that has earned Hyatt a good reputation as an upscale, comfortable business and leasure travel chain. Although they have put some cosmetic touch-ups in place such as granite tops on older dressers, there are many areas that have not been upgraded such as the carpets that are worn and stained. The caulking around the sink in the bathroom is cracking and discolored. I am allergic to feathers and asked for my bed to have the feather pillows and comforter replaced (a practice that it is so standard that it is a perfeerence in most hotel frequent guest profiles). I had asked for it with my reservation and it had not been done when I arrived - so housekeeping came and changed my bed. He brought two pillow, which was fine for me, but explained that he didnt have any more because they had run out. When he finished making the bed, I had no blanket. When I asked if there was a blanket in the room, he said that they were out of them but he would check the laundry to see if there were any. When I returned to my room later in the evening, thankfully there was a blanket.
The staff was very kind and helpful.
If this was a lesser brand hotel, I would have given it a higher rating because overall the beds were comfortable, room service was prompt, staff was nice.... but for a Hyatt Regency, it was tired and old and not well maintained.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the river and the other onto the roof of another building and the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackiefromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt regency recently and have to say it was a marvelous experience. I had a great room with a commanding view of the River and Coral Blue Bay. My room was very comfortable and spacious. Being only 7.5 miles to the Airport, a short walk to the American Airlines arena and countless restaurants - I particularly liked the locals pub Finnegan's across from the Viceroy. This property is a great place to stay downtown and in the thick of everything.

Room Tip: Ask about upgrade opportunity's. For a mere $15 per night, i upgraded to a suite that was over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#41 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing