We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to start a vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place to start a vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We flew into Miami the night before boarding a cruise ship to the Caribbean. Easy to get from the airport to the hotel and then very easy to get to the port the next day. The hotel staff were very friendly. Gave us good advice on what to do that night to get a flavor of Miami. Rooms were very comfortable. Prices were reasonable. The breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    531
    406
    201
    90
See reviews for
279
395
101
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was very average to me. The room was decent, though very small beds even as a double bed. It had adequate counter space in the bathroom. The room had very few outlets though. Our view would have been fine except the window was SO dirty on the outside. The rooms are dated, not very modern. Lobby was fine as well, a self check in which was nice. The Valet guys were really nice, really the only people we interacted with besides the people working at Pure Verde, I think that was the name, an okay bar in the lobby as long as you don't hit them at a busy time. The room was a decent size really. You can hre things through the connecting doors, so, if you don't know the people you're connected to, that's kind of strange. When you pull up you get excited for balconies, don't be, the sliding glass door are just windows that don't open. The housekeeping staff does do an amazing job cleaning the rooms though. Kudo's to them. I will express my stay as "fine." Not excellent, not horrible.

Room Tip: Try to request a non-connected room if you don't want to hear your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is not a hotel one would expect under the Hyatt brand. The rooms have not been updated in 30 years and it shows. The carpet in the guest rooms are worn and soiled. The bathrooms small.
The front desk staff was attentive but could not make up for the poor tired physical space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hyatt Regency MIami is typical of large convention hotels. There are scores of people coming and going at all hours. This makes for a busy lobby and porte cochere. The Hyatt's location adjoining the convention center only adds to the madness.

I visited in the week between the Ultra Music Festival weekends. The Sony tennis match was also going on, so there were tons of people. One night there was a lengthy line to get into the restaurant. I also had to visit the front desk on my last night there because my room key had stopped working. I spent many minutes in line behind what appeared to be Australian flight crews who were checking in for the night. The harried front desk clerk was less than friendly, but I figured she was just frazzled. My check-in earlier in the week had been wonderful and I was upgraded to a small suite.

The room itself had ample space, though it was clearly worn in places. For example, the well-worn duvet had some small holes and there were water stains on a lampshade and a pair of curtains. The oddest thing is that there were two balconies to the room, but the windows did not open. It's a bit unfair to be tantalized with space overlooking downtown and the Miami River, only to be unable to access it.

The pool area was lovely, with several private cabanas. It never seemed to feel overly crowded and was a great respite from the bustle elsewhere.

The location was also a plus, with easy access to the free Metro Mover and a quick walk to downtown and Brickell. The hotel was a decent value for the location and the amenities, especially when one considers the more pricey options such as the Intercontinental nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Decent Stay and right on par with the star level. They had over booked - I had arrived at 10pm and I my room was still not ready. I received a credit towards the bar but used on breakfast which was great actually.
Room was clean, the style/decor of the rooms is a little dated and the entrance to the balcony has been sealed shut.
For anyone visiting, please note that parking is $31 with the valet and $25 across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I picked up this hotel because was the only available in the area with a fair rate during Music festival + tennis tournament. I was a little worried about previous reviews. Check in was problem free. Room was ok with a nice view, clean, very confortable bed, nice amenities. Bathroom needs update but clean. They won't change towels unless requested. No free wifi. No minibar. Elevators crowded with an unfrendly key system. Check out very easy. Staff very nice and professional.
Good location if you need to stay downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Another review of a hotel I normally don't stay at, but there was somekind of festival going on in Miami and I was stuck with this one....and I'll be damned if it was not a nice stay. Granted, the room was obviously past it's prime and the TV was in need of updating, but the things that mattered - bedding, quality of shower, service to guests - all were very good.

The only issue I can report is, if you have a rental car - the lot is a long....I mean long walk. Granted, in a climate controlled environment, but damn it was far.

Once located - the hotel was in a nice location - right in the city, along the Miami River. Worth a look - especially if you get it for $150 a night!!!

Room Tip: Just ask for a nice room...(worked for me!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.