We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay at miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good stay at miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we had a 4 nights leisure stay at the end of 2012 in this hotel. Overall experience is very good. A king bed room has space enough for a couple with huge luggages. The room was quiet, bed was comfortable. Assistants at the desks were very friendly and welcoming. Althought the internet wifi service was expected to be charged with daily rates of approx 9-10 usd, the hotel sets it for free (excellent). The prepaid voucher we had for the reservation (prepaid 4 months in advance through expedia website) worked well, no problem at all. Location is convenient for getting the people mover or getting by feet to bayside market place. The hotel is conveniently located right at the highway junction to/from miami international airport. Getting to miami beech is easy through citybus transportation system. There are unfortunately not many restaurant nearby. Ross store is very close to hotel (5 minutes by walk) and other useful shop as well (starbucks, pharmacy, etc...). Definetively recommended for staying

Room Tip: higher floor rooms are recommended due to traffic noise in the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    609
    463
    227
    101
See reviews for
334
435
110
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel has been here forever and is in great need of a makeover.
Pulling up, the valet informed me I couldn't valet and had to park around the corner across the street (though there is a tunnel connecting the garage and hotel) This happens more than for not here. I asked if I could leave the 150 pounds of baggage there so I wouldn't have to drag all of my cases around the parking garage and I was told no. I was going directly to the ballroom downstairs... So from the parking garage to the ballrooms (and the guest rooms) it's THREE SEPARATE ELEVATORS in various locations around the hotel.

The rooms are dirty. The carpet is badly stained and is gross. The TV is still an analog signal (only the sound worked, no picture - they did fix it quickly though) lots of scuff marks on the walls. They've conveniently left the previous guest's room service tray outside my door - so I really don't have to guess which room is mine. It's been there over 24 hours. And yes, I called to have it removed. There is just a general smelly odor in the building. There is lack of electrical outlets in the room - a power strip would be nice.

Stay across the street - literally - at the JW Marriott Marquis. It's newer, nicer and they have Direct TV... And their valet people are super nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

No, it's not a five-star hotel, but there's nothing wrong with the place! We stayed for four nights while visiting Miami. We didn't have a car but it was very easy to walk to restaurants, shopping areas, and even a grocery store. The free trolley also goes right past the place, so that was a fun way to see the area. My only complaint was that the pool was poorly located -- if you look at my picture, you'll see that it's practically underneath a busy bridge, making the area pretty noisy and not great for relaxing. Our room was quite clean and tastefully decorated and we had no problems whatsoever with any of the staff. We found it to be a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Date of Stay: Sunday, 1/27/13 - Wednesday, 1/30/13
Length of Stay: 3 Nights

In a nutshell, the Hyatt Regency Miami is a truly wonderful Downtown Miami hotel, offering absolutely amazing service, superb dining and excellent rooms with beautiful views of Miami. This is definitely the place you should stay the next time that your travels bring you to Downtown Miami!!

Now, for my detailed review:

First, I just want to say that this review adds to all of the truly excellent things that I have had to say about this property in my prior review:

“A Truly Excellent Stay in Downtown Miami!!!” -- February 8, 2012

For even more detailed information on this property, I suggest that you view that prior review.

When I found out that work was bringing me back to Miami, after my prior excellent experience at the Hyatt Regency Miami, it was the only place that I considered and immediately booked my stay as soon as I found out that I was returning to Miami. My second stay at this property did not disappoint, and I had another amazing stay!

First, I must comment on location -- the Hyatt Regency Miami is truly in the perfect location in Downtown Miami. It offers excellent views of the Miami River and Biscayne Bay, and is connected directly to the Miami Convention Center. It is merely fifteen minutes from the excitement of South Beach, and within a couple miles of the Port of Miami. This perfect location makes the Hyatt Regency Miami a great place to stay for Conventions or for a pre-cruise stay. You are within minutes of all of the action, and you will find plenty to do if you stay at this property. Additionally, this property has very quick and easy access to I-95, allowing for quite the easy arrival and departure by car.

As for parking, as this property is located in the heart of Downtown Miami, parking is at a premium. However, this property has two convenient parking options. First, you can opt for Self Parking, at $19 a day; however, this does not include in-and-out privileges. Second, this property offers a truly excellent Valet Parking option at $31 a day; this price may seem high to some, but it is extremely reasonable given the Downtown location compared to some other properties. And, the Valet Staff is extremely quick, efficient and friendly; I would highly encourage you to spend the extra money and utilize this property's excellent Valet Service.

As for the property itself, I do not agree with prior reviews indicating an "aged" feel. Upon entry, you see a very well-appointed and spacious lobby, offering a Front Desk full of extremely wonderful Staff. As soon as I stepped into the Lobby, I was at the Front Desk and fully checked in within a matter of minutes. I was immediately thanked for being a Hyatt Gold Passport Diamond Tier Member, and offered a choice of Diamond Welcome Amenities. I opted for a bottle of the Canvas Merlot and a very tasty selection of chips and salsas. I was also given a coupon for a free drink at this property's excellent bar, the Pure Verde Lounge. After such a quick check-in, I was on my way to my room on the 8th Floor.

One comment about this property is that, for a busy Downtown property, it had ample elevators. I find that many busy Downtown properties do not offer enough elevators or elevators that are quick and efficient. This property is definitely different than all of those hotels, as there are more than enough elevators, and each elevator is quite quick and efficient. Also, one can feel safe, as you have to insert your room key to access any guest floor from the Lobby.

As for the rooms, I found my room to be absolutely wonderful, and I have included numerous photos with this review. I spent a little extra money and opted for a "Miami Suite," and this room did not disappoint in any way. It was a sort-of mini-suite; one large room as opposed to two separate rooms, but it had more than enough space and offered excellent views of the Miami River. As you enter this spacious room, the bathroom is immediately to the left, with a large sitting area directly to your right. The sitting area offers a large and comfortable sleeper sofa, along with a decent sized coffee table and chair, giving plenty of room to enjoy an excellent dinner from Room Service. Just past the sitting area is a good sized computer desk, sporting plenty of room for work. Directly in front of you as you enter are large floor-to-ceiling windows, offering absolutely amazing views of the Miami River and the Miami skyline. Then, further in and to the left is the bedroom, offering a very comfortable King-sized Hyatt "Grand Bed." And finally, in the middle of the room is a large flat-screen television positioned on a swivel so that one can see it from both the bedroom and the sitting area. All-in-all, a truly excellent room and I would definitely stay in it again the next time that business brings me to Miami.

One final note on rooms at this property -- make sure to book a Regency Club Room! This property offers a wonderful Regency Club, located on the 23rd floor. It offers wonderful views, along with excellent food and drink. In the morning, you will find a lovely continental breakfast with great coffee. And, in the evening, you will find extremely flavorful hot and cold food selections, along with sodas and water, as well as alcoholic drinks available for a very reasonable fee. The Regency Club is definitely worth the money at this property!

As for dining, this property offers excellent dining options. The Riverwalk Cafe offers excellent cuisine and beautiful river views. Additionally, the adjacent Pure Verde Lounge offers amazing service and stiff drinks at a reasonable price. Furthermore, there is the Riverwalk Deli, offering an excellent selection of food that is perfect for a meal on the go. All-in-all, one will never go hungry at this property.

To conclude, the Hyatt Regency Miami is an absolutely excellent property, offering top-notch customer service. It combines wonderful rooms and gorgeous views with a perfect location; as such, this is definitely the place that you should stay the next time you are in Miami!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher-floor room for the best views of the Miami River and Biscayne Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Couldn't have been more disappointed. Nasty, stained and wet carpeting, stained furniture, old dirty fixtures, broken towel racks and a gross non-draining tub. The location wasn't bad by the convention center, but that's about it. Restaurant ok, but staff argued over who had my table in front of me - no class. This has no business being in the Hyatt franchise let alone a Regency? Who is policing the Hyatt mark these days? Cut this place and San Fran's Fisherman's Wharf location loose or overhaul them.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I got an email before leaving home advising me that I could check in online, so I filled in all the fields and got no response, except for an email that reported that I would get an email when they had completed the check in. Of course, that email arrive a half hour after I checked in and it said they couldn't complete the check in online, so go to the check in desk at the hotel.
When we drove up to the hotel, there was a long line and wait for the valet. Then a long line at check in, but courteous clerk.
The room is shabby at best.
The internet service requires payment of $3.95 for an hour or $9.99 for a day! The room was an upgrade to the Regency Club, so Internet access should have been included. I called the concierge who told me the service cost, period!
We visited the Club and had a good experience there. Fun hostess and OK snacks and wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for a one-night stay after seeing a bargain rate on the internet ($100). But any savings we made with that rate were more than offset by expensive parking, no free breakfast, no free internet, a broken in-room coffee maker, and generally poor or surly service. The hotel is extremely difficult to get to by car, and once you arrive, the parking is $30+ for valet parking or $20 for self-service parking--itself inconvenient. The desk receptionist was efficient but slightly snooty. The cocktail waitress displayed an impressive amount of cleavage, but spent most of her time chatting with other customers. The room was small and unimpressive, and there was a steady low roaring noise all night--I am not sure if it was from the traffic below, the nearby airport, or the heating system. The in-room coffee maker did not work. All-in-all, you'd be much better off at a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the middle of commercial downtown and not near much of anything, except the conventi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.