We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We took a cruise from Miami. The port is 5 minutes from the port. The hotel was very nice and in a great location for a quick stay. The only negative would be that the one restaurant in the hotel was expensive and the food was not very good. Although the service was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    543
    419
    206
    90
See reviews for
293
402
101
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have just returned from a short visit with work and to say the experience was 'poor' is an understatement. The room and the overall appearance of this hotel is dated and in desperate need of a major facelift. Check in was efficient but upon arrival in the room there was an overwhelming smell, I later found out that it was air freshener but it stank.. Carpets are grubby and the paintwork needs more that a 'freshen up'.

Flat screen TV, coffee making facilities and Wi FI in the room although WI FI is chargeable. The plug in the sink was broken and despite phoning no one came to fix this.

My stay started to go rapidly down hill at around 4am when late night revellers could be heard shouting and slamming doors in the corridors with absolutely no consideration for people trying to sleep. Why American guests have to shout instead of talk is beyond me.

The following day, despite having a 'do not disturb sign' in the lock I was woken 3 times, the 3rd time there was actually a maid in the room. !!! When I spoke to reception about the issues experienced during the night and the morning I was informed that guests when checking in are asked to respect other guests by keeping noise to a minimum. This I do not believe to be true.

The problems did not stop there, during the afternoon again trying to rest before my flight I was again woken by room service staff delivering food to a room on my floor, again 'shouting' not talking.

This Hotel is very noisy and interestingly enough 4 of my colleagues also had similar complaints.

Given a choice I would definitely not return here for other reasons as well as those mentioned above but unfortunately because of my work i do not have a choice. Needless to say I will be writing to my Company raising my concerns.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Monorail system while others look out at the man made Canal (not a river as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The reason we like chains is that you always know what you're getting. If you book a Hyatt, it doesn't matter what city it is in, you know it will be an upscale hotel. Unfortunately, that is not the case for the Miami Hyatt. Because we booked the room through Priceline for a reasonably low rate, I do think we got our money's worth. But if I had paid a Hyatt rate for this room, I would have been more than a little disgruntled. The room was of an age and cleanliness that you would expect from a Holiday Inn, not a Hyatt. But since the rate we paid was about what you'd expect for a Holiday Inn, I was fine with it. I was just a little surprised to see the Hyatt brand on what is clearly not a Hyatt experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

No Courtesy shuttle from airport as hotel is located in Downtown. Really Impressed with the first hand checkin experience. Really personalized service. The check in staff comes out of desk to greet you in line & takes you to the counter. Its fast & efficient. Staff goes way beyond in providing the exceptional quality of service. You feel welcome right at the begining. The property is located in Convention center. The Lobby directly connects to convention center, Metro mover & you can litrelly go anywhere in Miami right from hotel lobby in complimentary People Mover station. The Rooms are amazing with a work desk. The River walk Cafe & restaurant is a lively place in evening & is located right beside Miami river. Great food. Manoj in the restaurant is really amazing with good tips & recommendation I really enjoyed my meals here. Very cuban infulunce on the menu, however great variety. Internet is available, charged to company account. If you are individual travelley you have to access for $10 a day. Gym facility is also excellent. Very Clean & really value for money. Highy recommended if travelling with Family or Solo or on Honeymoon as well. Great Night life at the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a River front Room, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not a great experience. The only plus is the fact that the hotel is adjacent to the convention centre but that's if you need that. When we were there, there were over 500 Danone Brasil folks in the same polos running around....not the best. However the real let down is the hotel itself. Location is not great, seems in the middle of a highway crossing. Rooms are old and don't feel clean - they probably old but used, worn down carpet, chipped off furniture, a bit molded bathroom give you that impression. Service was not up to the Hyatt standard. Service at breakfast was slow ad a bit lame. I had a business package which included breakfast, internet but also a newspaper and a bottle of water. Never got my newspaper and only got water when i asked for it. If i can avoid it, i won't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night pre-cruise. Got a decent rate (well for the area) on Priceline, so was very pleased to stay here for the same price as the Days Inn by the airport would have cost!
The valet men keep very busy, was a little dismayed to find out that it cost $30 a night to park car, when I had only paid $35 to rent the car for 24 hours. So that doubled the cost of the car.
Lobby is very inviting with plenty of space, hotel is connected to the convention center, so would be very convenient for that purpose.
Rooms were a little dated, but adequate and not cramped feeling, we had a view of the river out our window. The bed and pillows were amazingly comfortable!! I don't remember waking up at all I slept so good! So a good comfortable nights sleep at a fair price would put me back at this hotel when in the area again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This my third year to stay in this hotel for a business meeting. It is very convenient to meetings. It is located downtown where you can access variety of restaurants and nearby Miami port. The rooms are specious and some gives you the great view of the river. There are on site restaurants that offer nice selection of food.
Their only problem is the elevators. You can stand in long line waiting for them.
In general, a very nice place to stay in.

Room Tip: Higher floors with view on the river are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.