We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better than Previous Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #49 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Much Better than Previous Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having visited the Hyatt exactly one year ago, this visit was much better. The requested room was ready when I checked in, which was my major complaint on my last visit.

The room was adequate and clean. I wouldn't say there is anything really special about the hotel, but it was as expected. The customer service was good and all requests were met.

My only minor complaint is how thin the walls were. I could hear everything in the room next to mine, which did cause a little loss of sleep.

I would recommend this hotel for people catching a cruise or who are there for the conference space. There isn't much in the general area, so beware.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    669
    506
    237
    103
See reviews for
366
476
114
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

What I love about this hotel is that it is close to the city's metro (which is free) to go around downtown Miami. You could still walk to a lot of places, also. The staff was very friendly, particularly the valet staff. The valet guys took great care of our vehicle, considering one of my friends was paranoid about the car. The rooms were a decent size. We had a Miami River view, but the markings on the walls were disappointing. The pool area is very tranquil. The breakfast was delicious everyday. The drive to the beach is very short. It is close to the interstate. I'm glad I stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great Rooms, Service, about 6 blocks from Miami Beach Marina...Definitely would stay here again! The airport is $25 cab ride away... Rustica Pizza across the river bridge is a MUST.
They have Great Specials for Dinner Friday and Sat Dinner.. 1/2 wine on some days.. call the hotel or check out website.. to get their specials.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, nice view of ocean if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My sister-in-law and I stayed here for 3 nights before a 21 night cruise to the Southern Caribbean over Christmas and New Years. The lobby was decorated with hundreds of poinsettias piled up to look like Christmas trees. It was beautiful! The lobby has many conversation areas with very comfortable seats; a great place to people watch.

Our room was wonderful. It was very large, nicely decorated and very clean. The beds were super comfortable and were soft, comfy nests.

Included with our room was a wonderful breakfast buffet. The Cafe Verde was great for breakfast and dinner. Everything we ordered was delicious!!

We would stay there again in a heart beat!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor and loved it. Also liked the elevator key card security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night- it was wonderful! When we checked in, the valet offered to help us with our luggage and also gave us a choice about parking the car- we could choose self park or the valet. We chose the valet service because self park does not have in and out privileges. When we checked in, we were told we would have a room with a double bed, I asked if we could have a king- it was granted- we were given a fantastic corner room with a king bed, a walk in closet, living room, view of the water, large bathroom and a wall of windows. WOW!!! The view was incredible!!!! The location was an extra bonus- everything was walking distance- shopping and restaurants. The staff was fantastic- the room was comfortable- and the location was excellent. This hotel had everything anyone could ask for. Yes, the room was a little dated, but everything was very clean and tidy. This hotel won me over when I noticed the labels on the towels- Made In America!!!

Room Tip: Corner king room was very roomy and have a wall of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night primary due to price and location before we left on a New Years cruise.

The Good:
-The lobby was quite modern attractive.
-The staff in general were fantastic. The front desk employee who checked me in was very warm and friendly and it was a nice start to the stay.
-The Concierge staff was similarly warm and friendly and got us in to an excellent seafood restaurant down on South Beach (Quinns) at the last minute.
-The bed was extremely comfortable.
-The price was far more reasonable than other similarly situated hotels for the holiday weekend.
-White a little pricey, the breakfast buffets were quite good and the waiters were very friendly.
-The room contained a safe.
-The room had plenty of storage and floor space.

The Cons:
-The hotel overall is in desperate need of a major remodeling. The guestroom hallways were dingy and outdated
-The rug in our room was FILTHY. Aside from the unsightly hole in it, my white socks were BLACK after walking around on the rug for an extended period of time while re-packing for the cruise.
-They give you a flat screen, HD TV, but no HD signal! How cheap! I do not expect to be watching analog TV in a 4 star hotel, I'm sorry, I just don't.
-There was no mini-fridge in our room.
-The bathroom was dingy and outdated (although the water pressure was good).
-The weird sealed off balconies that other reviewers have mentioned. They're just strange.
-Major noise potential if your room is on the street / draw bridge side (as mine was). We were high enough up and heavy enough sleepers that it didn't bother us.

Misc. Notes:
-The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Bayside Marketplace and I felt perfectly safe making the wealk during the day... although at night I would take a cab.
-There's a CVS pharmacy 3 short blocks away (two up, one over, look it up on google maps), which is key for those on a pre-cruise stay like us who want to pick up some water and soda to bring on the ship and/or any last minute items.
-Elevators are a bit slow due to demand, so allow extra time.

Bottom line: this hotel was perfectly adequate for a short pre-cruise stay and we would stay there again if necessary. This property wouldn't be our first choice (or probably even second choice) until they do a major remodel to bring the property up to the high level of the staff that makes it run, but the property isn't nearly as bad as some of the earlier reviewers made it sound (we were a little nervous).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent just one night at the Hyatt Regency in Downtown Miami.

The good: friendly and efficient staff at check in; nice, comfortable beds

The bad: very poor temperature control. Warm room with non-opening windows. Felt just as warm in morning after spending night sleeping without covers.

The room was dated and fairly clean (never fun finding several long hairs around the shower). The hotel offers valet parking for $31 per day, but that would allow for in-and-out privileges. Otherwise parking is in the city lot attached to the hotel for $19 a day with no in-and-out option.

When comparing hotels, this hotel seems no better that 3 stars, even with working A/C.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#36 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.