We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star Hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #51 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a 4 Star Hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is average at best. Not representative of Hyatt's quality and definitely not a 4 star. Like others have mentioned the Hotel is in dire need of updating. On a positive note, the staff is very accomodating, particularly the bellmen and concierge. Very close to Bayside Marketplace and the Port of Miami if you are cruising and also a short cab ride to South Beach. There is also a CVS, Chase, Wells Fargo, and Ross For Less clothing store 2 blocks away. Breakfast buffet and other food at River Cafe restaraunt at the hotel where overpriced and mostly inedible. I booked through Priceline and they supposedly upgraded me this "4 star" after I chose the 3.5 star option so beware if you are looking to stay in this area and naming your own price through Priceline. Was generally dissapointed. Would have been better off staying at the Holiday Inn a few blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    630
    481
    231
    102
See reviews for
345
452
113
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Worth for what you pay.It's well located.Downtown area.
The rooms are big but the bathroom and shower very poor.
Not very clean,the carpet is in desperate need of a change.
Internet is NOT free and expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for one night before leaving for a cruise. The hotel is tired, but the location very good. After 40 minutes talking to the front desk, where they completely messed up our reservation, we were bumped to a bigger suite. Frankly, I'd rather have the 40 minutes of time back. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel pre-cruise in December. Hotel, services exceptional and the staff are very helpfull and friendly.

Hotel is very clean and modern throughout in a super location for all things downtown Miami, the surrounding areas and the cruise and airport. It is ideally near to the free metro mover which you can reach by walking through the hotel and via escalators. Nearbye you will find a Walgreens/Ross Dress for Less/Marshalls/pharmacies/restaurants & eateries. All are easily reachable by foot or using the free metro mover.

Briefly here is a summary of what we found:

Efficient and friendly check-in and very friendly helpful luggage assistant folks. The lobby is beautiful and a great place to sit and people watch. It has a small gift shop and a quick coffee/sandwich/snack like kiosk. The restaurant and bar are very reasonably priced and the food excellent. The chicken wings were huge and very tasty and the bar/restaurant service excellent.

Our room was on the 17th floor, overlooking the city and facing a tower that at night changed colour – truly beautiful to watch. The room itself was an average size with a good size desk/office work area with 2 comfy chairs, an arm chair with foot rest, king bed, side-tables, tv, fridge etc. I particularly liked the separate dressing area to the bedroom in which there was also a safe in the closet. The bathroom was of a larger size.

Service can be judged best when things go wrong. In our case, the safe failed and even though it was 10pm at night, in less than 10mins from calling the front desk, we had someone happlily come to assist us. We were most impressed, especially given the time of night.

Taxis are always lined up outside the front door. Including tips, we paid around $25 from the airport to hotel, $15 from the hotel to port.
The pool area is well stocked with towels and the rocking chairs were an usual but pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room opposite the Miami Tower and watch it change colour once darkness falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Miami one night before going on a cruise the first week in December 2012. What a disappointment! Location to the pier (the next morning) was quite convenient; very close. Restaurant was mediocre. Bar was mediocre. Room was like a timewarp from the 1960's. Bathroom sink hidden behind a half-wall in the bedroom (no sink in bathroom); closet with swinging saloon-type doors; extremely noisy all night long (and we were on the 18th Floor!!); towels stunk. When checking in we did ask for a remodeled room (we had read some of the reviews), and were told "the whole Hotel was completely remodeled in 2010". Wow ... changing a lightbulb and putting new sheets on a bed does not constitute remodeling. And speaking of lightbulbs, the ones in the room were very dim ... probably the lowest wattage you can buy, I guess. Bathroom was gross ... black mildew along the bathtub, shower pressure very weak, toilet very low and had to be flushed 6 times. As one entered the room, it smelled mildewy ... which (thank God) one gets used to after a while. Definitely overpriced for the type of room you get. Staff all very nice, I must admit. Also very close to the pier, which is a plus. I would most definitely NOT stay there again. Not worth the aggravation ...

Room Tip: My tip would be to go to another hotel .... save yourself some grief.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at the hotel for a pre cruise stay, expected it to be decent.  Check in was a breeze with Imran at the front desk. I requested a quite room at a higher floor, ended up with a nice big corner room.  Had couple of issues during our stay, hotel power outage for about 2 hrs and the TV didn't work.   Technician was sent to fix the tv however experienced the same issue next day.  Mentioned it to the front desk and was given some credit towards valet parking.  
Downtown location is close and walk able to Bayside marketplace and Brickle village. Overall a pleasant stay.  Wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this Hyatt for one night in December 2012 before a cruise leaving from the port of Miami. The location is excellent with a liquor store, CVS, Walgreens and Starbucks within a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel. There is an inexpensive local restaurant / bar (The Filling Station) also located nearby with EXCELLENT burgers and various craft beer. The port is a short $10 cab ride away. The hotel is an older property that has not been updated recently. The rooms were adequate for a one night stay. Our room was on the 7th floor overlooking the draw bridge. We enjoyed watching several very nice boats navigate the channel through the window. It is unfortunate that the balcony's are not accessible. After reading previous posts we were somewhat concerned about the noise from the bridge at first, but it was not an issue as the room was not any louder than any other hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.