We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay In Downtown Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay In Downtown Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Miami over Thanksgiving Weekend 2012. The hotel is in a good location for access to various parts of downtown Miami (via the city's Metromover system) but if you're looking for ocean views, you're out of luck. The city's inter-coastal waterways are a good view, however - at times, you can see some nice ships big and small traverse them. A downside to that, though - it can be a bit noisy from the waterway drawbridges periodically - I was on the 8th floor and could hear the warning bell quite clearly (my room had a direct view of a drawbridge) but it didn't last too long, and it was a signal for me to get up and look out the window and see what was going through! You can walk through the hotel and the convention center lobby to a nearby Metromover station to get access in just minutes to parts of downtown Miami such as Bayside Marketplace, Bayfront Park, and some cross streets in the vicinity. The Metromover is free, and I enjoyed having easy access to it to explore.

I found the staff pleasant and always eager to please - the front desk staff checked me in efficiently, and I ALWAYS saw at least two people at the desk. I was always greeted pleasantly and when I had a question, I was helped without a fuss. I had Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel's restaurant - I was seated immediately and served promptly with respect and courtesy - sometimes, restaurant staff can make dining solo uncomfortable but I didn't feel that way at the Hyatt Regency. The food was cooked well, and was tasty although the typical hotel restaurant pricing was a bit annoying. I spent an evening at the hotel bar the next night with some friends, and we were well taken care of there as well. The staff throughout the hotel seem to enjoy their jobs, and it shows.

On to the room - it was a nicely laid out room; I had two double beds. The bathroom area is separated from the sleeping area by a partial wall, which was rather nice to have. I found the storage in the room plentiful, and did not feel cramped in the bathroom area or the rest of the room. I could have done with more outlets in the room - I had packed a power strip (I was going on a cruise later) and ended up putting it to use in the room in order to have enough outlets. The room was typical hotel decor, and seemed it had been updated in parts but not fully. I didn't feel the decor of the room was up to par with what I expect from Hyatt (the lobby and other areas certainly met that level) but it did not impact my stay negatively.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    504
    386
    197
    89
See reviews for
265
381
100
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First of all want to announce, that I was there with my friends in 2008,but to this time clearly remember the benefits of Hyatt Regency Miami! By the way - I'd like the atmosphere and so friendly stuff: to the end of our vacation we became cronies with many of front-desk guys and chef))) Over there a lot of business-class guests - but we didn't feel chaste effect, really versatile hotel!
PS. hope to come back in Miami and stay again in Hyatt in close future!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Like the title says. The hotel feels old ib terms of carpet and room set up, ut the service od the staff is AMAZING. Specially the waiters in the river cafe. Enjoyed each of the meals i had there. They made me feel special each time with the big smile and seevixe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is billed as 4-star, however it is a 3-star product at best. It doesn't meet Mobil star criteria which makes me think the management awarded themselves the extra star in an effort to justify the unwarranted room rates. Rooms are cramped, dated and in rather poor repair. The street and drawbridge noise is bad, as other reviewers have remarked.
I must get on my soapbox for a moment re: Wi-Fi charges. At this point in history, wi-fi should be free, as it is in most down-market hotels I could name. Not only does this Hyatt charge $10/day for basic wi-fi, they charge for EVERY device, so if you want to use your tablet or phone in addition to your laptop, be prepared to pay again and again for a day's service. I find this to be an unconscionable ripoff as having more devices using the service does not cost the hotel any more.
Additionally over $30/day to park your car on top of the inflated room rates is offensive. However, if you self-park be warned that the walk from the parking garage to the hotel entry will take you through a filthy alley populated by winos.
In a word, AVOID this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here prior to a cruise. The location was very convient to the public transportation and walking distance to some attractions. The lobby area and lounge were very nice as well as other areas. The service thru out the facility was fantastic! The front desk and lounge staffs were top notch! The rooms on the other hand were a dissapointment. Ours had some mold in the tub that been caulked over and was coming back. The curtain was covered with dust next to the air duct. The walls had many black marks that detracted from the room and the rug was a bit dirty. Our room overlooked the bridge and waterway which made for a nice view but, we had street noise all night. Initial impression downstairs of this Hyatt was WOW. The rooms brought the experience way down. Would look at some other properties in this area next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Miami 07Nov2012 for a business trip. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is central. My room was a double on the 16th floor - great view of the lock and drawbridge and gorgeous adjoining buildings but a bit noisy. Street noise was remarkably loud as was the ice machine directly across from my room. The property is older and does not appear to have been renovated any time recently but was adequate for my short stay.
I enjoyed the large granite work desk, nice view and extra large closet. The bathroom was a bit claustrophobic. The dressing area was separated by a short wall from the rest of the room affording a bit of privacy. The beds were comfortable though the one I chose to sleep on did have some stray hair on the linens. Aside from the loud traffic sounds, I could not adjust the heat and was cold all evening. No matter how high I turned the thermostat, the fan seemed to only blow cool air. I didn't notice any room service menus in the room so was forced to go downstairs to the lobby to eat at the restaurant there. The menu had only a few items and staff was helpful but almost too friendly. I got the blackened mahi-mahi sandwich which was delicious and Key lime pie for dessert. The iced tea was really good and the prices were reasonable for a hotel restaurant. Wifi was free for me because my client paid and connection was fast and easy. From the windows in the dining room on the lower level near the conference rooms,we could see tugs maneuvering a huge freighter through the canal - quite a treat. The grounds and surroundings were beautiful and there was a large veranda open to the canal on the back side of the hotel. I'm not sure what sort of breakfast items are normally served but for our meeting group pastries and melon were provided. Since many of the meeting attendees were medical professionals, the lack of protein and choices of fruit was duly noted. Good for business trips - I would probably recommend to colleagues.

Room Tip: My room faced the back of the hotel and was very noisy thanks to the heavily traveled street below b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were put up at this hotel after a long delay on our flight back to London with British Airways.

Check in was quick and easy and the staff very helpful. As it was our honeymoon the staff kindly upgraded us to a suite (Miami Suite).

Due to the delay we were giving free meals served in hotel which we could not fault the food.

The room itself was large and had all amenities however was slightly disappointing for a suite but we certainly were not complaining.

There is no pool at this hotel and is more a business hotel in my opinion but there is a shop in the hotel. There is also a cafe and bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.