We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British Airways Delay Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Glasgow
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“British Airways Delay Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were put up at this hotel after a long delay on our flight back to London with British Airways.

Check in was quick and easy and the staff very helpful. As it was our honeymoon the staff kindly upgraded us to a suite (Miami Suite).

Due to the delay we were giving free meals served in hotel which we could not fault the food.

The room itself was large and had all amenities however was slightly disappointing for a suite but we certainly were not complaining.

There is no pool at this hotel and is more a business hotel in my opinion but there is a shop in the hotel. There is also a cafe and bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    512
    389
    197
    89
See reviews for
267
387
101
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed on a biz trip at client's insistence. Much about the hotel was excellent, particularly the desk staff and the breakfast. Put off by the nickel dining, however. Parking was either a very expensive valet or a nearly as expensive self park in a distant and dingy garage structure. And why do high end versions of a chain charge for internet access when the lower end properties of the same name don't? Oh yeah, because they can. Overall, good room but the "incidentals" added up to about 25% of the overall cost. Sorry Hyatt, won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I got this room on Priceline for one night before a cruise. The hotel is in a great spot for cruisers. It took us 5 minutes to get to the port. The hotel staff was great. Lauren at the front desk was very friendly and made me feel welcome. The lobby is beautiful.
My husband parked the car while I checked in and had to walk thru a tunnel from the parking to the hotel with no lights!!!! I'm glad it wasn't me because I don't think I would have made it!! Maybe they need to look in to that. Our room was on the twelfth floor and it was clean and well appointed. Like others have mentioned, it could use some renovation. Carpets were stained in spots, paint needed touch up all over or just a full repaint. There was A LOT of road noise that could be heard, so light sleepers might want to request a higher floor.
Overall it was a great stay for one night, and I would return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are Hyatt Platinum members, and have been for years. We've stayed in Regencies, Grand Hyatt, and other in-brand hotels/resorts around the US and through Asia. Our last stay before this was in Singapore. We were attending an event in downtown Miami and needed a hotel based on location, more than any other reason. Of course, being so pleased with the Hyatt brand, we booked at the Hyatt Regency, Miami. The long-and-the-short of it is that while this hotel's location is great for Downtown events/conventions, the decor, design, and general appearance of this hotel lacks much of what draws us to Hyatt. Please do not get me wrong. The facility was clean, and appeared well-kept, however; the design of public spaces is not conducive to relaxation, luxury, or contemporary design. The rooms (although the bed was very comfortable) was probably the oddest configuration of any hotel I've stay, and well below the Hyatt standard. We valet parked our car. We were offered no assistance with luggage, there was no doorman. I waited in front of the empty cafe order counter for 7 minutes without being acknowledged. I left. The walls in our room were tattered and worn, with a dozen "patches" of different-colored paint fixes to try to hide the damage. Check-in and out were easy and pleasant, however, the wait for our car from valet was less-than-desirable. At check-in, I made the attendant aware we were Hyatt Platinum members...this got us "nothing." When I say "nothing," I mean nothing. No room upgrade, no additional service offerings, no description of the amenities, no turn-down service...nothing. The pool area was very dated also. I suppose if you were a business traveler, this hotel would "do," however as a vacation stay, this certainly did not live up to our expectations of the Hyatt brand. We will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is an ideal location in downtown Miami. I am a diamond member and have stayed on the regency floor. The suites are very large and have breath taking views. The rooms have been recently renovated as well. The customer service is excellent as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here prior to a cruise and found the hotel to be in a very convenient location to downtown and port area. We walked from bayside marketplace back to the hotel. Took about 10-12 minutes. Cab fare to port was $8. The lobby is very nice and open with a terrific breakfast buffet. As far as the valet I'm used to paying $55/night in Chicago so the $30 here seams reasonable to me.

The rooms are a little dated and carpet is a little rough but are decent, clean and comfortable. I can see where some would feel compelled to complain about room quality but the economical costs help make up for the lack of quality. It was a little disappointing not having an operable balcony but not a deal breaker.

I would stay here again. On a 1-5 rating I give this hotel a 3.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I think the hotel has seen better days, nithing particularly wrong but nothing seemed outstanding either. Istarted to go for a walk alomg the water and there were two guys camped out under the overpass with full bedrolls, etc so the area seemed a little dicey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.