We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with outdated room equipment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #66 of 130 hotels in Miami
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel with outdated room equipment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in the hotel during our city trip to Miami.
+The Hotel is located in Miami downtown - few restaurants, shops are within walking distance.
+/- hotel parking (Valet only) is available at elevated prices (31 USD/night). Public parkings offering considerably lower flatrates for weekend are within walking distance.
+The hotel lobby is nice and bright, offers a concierge advising you about local attractions.
+Check in/out process is quick and efficient, hotel staff is friendly and helpfull.
+/-rooms are functional and big (was upgraded to a suite on 20th floor with niece views to surrounding buildings. Balcony is not accessible and windows were not clean. Room equipment was working but has seen better days (10-15 yrs old). Coffee machine available in room as well as a big flat screen with 40+ channels (allthough nearly no foreign channels available).
+got the hotel room @ very reasonable price (hotwire rate).

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    490
    384
    195
    89
See reviews for
246
359
99
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Hyatt just for 1 night but for the price that we payed trough Priceline (USD80) was the same that we payed a night before for Intercontinental, which was 5 times better!
- very old hotel
- rooms are ok but we had problems with the shower
- small and old pool
- tunnel to the free metromover
- expensive breakfast 22dollars
- no free Internet access

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We were a little concerned about our choice based on some of the reviews on trip advisor but let us assure you that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is fabulous and the staff are really friendly. We loved our buffet breakfast and had wonderful drinks at the pure verde lounge - loooved the Martinis. Thank you Jimmy!! We would absolutely come back here on a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is run down, dated, and dirty. It is in dire need of a complete renovation.
The view is great, but you can't open the balcony door... so the balcony seems pointless. The bathroom is super small, and the rooms are dark with poor lighting. The TV is a very small flat screen.

We ate in the bar restaurant in the lobby. The staff apparently had a shift change and we were forgotten. After waiting 30 minutes (after our meal was done) for a check, I finally went and asked for help. The people who were waiting on us left without a word of goodbye, nor did they inform the incoming shift that we were mid-meal. The manager discounted our meal (by a whole five dollars!).

All in all, I would not stay at this hotel again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have read several reviews for this hotel and to say it's not worth the money or not a quality hotel is really not accurate. Granted I started the trip for business, but I returned back to the hotel after a cruise and it was just as fantastic.
Front Desk staff were quite pleasant, helpful and went out of their way to assit and make sure our stay was pleasurable.
Our rooms on both stays were on different floors but still I had a fantastic view, great linens and comfortable bed. Very spacious, clean smelling and looking.Food and bar service was good with equal prices to any hotel I've ever stayed in.
We had the misfortune of leaving some items in the safe and immediately after our departure and at the airport realized, this was handled professionally, quickly and without any error in our items. I would defintely recommend this hotel and plan to stay there very soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 14th floor. Corner suites are also a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Miami in downtown brickell because I was participating in a race and I was given a special rate from the race organizers. I figured it was only for one night and hyatts are usually nice and clean. The lobby seemed to be updated so I was hopeful that my room would be the same. Unfortunately I was wrong... My room looked like it was straight out of the 1970's. Old bathroom with saloon like doors, yellow and brown everywhere, and a balcony with doors that didn't work. I called down to the front desk asking to upgrade my room fully prepared to pay the difference to get out of my time warp room but was told that all of the rooms were the same with yucky bathrooms and non functioning balconies. The representative from the hotel aknowledged that the facility hadn't been renovated in 30 years and was in desperate need. All in all I'm glad I was only there for 12 hours. The good points were they served Starbucks in the lobby, and the location is great if you need to be close to downtown area. There are plenty of other hotels though and this was definitely a disappointment for a Hyatt stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAHAMAS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife, children and I spent a comfortable few days here in early November. The hotel is quite old but holding up well. We took a suite which was a decent size for 4. This hotel like so many others can't seem to work out that 4 people need more towels than 2 and we had to ask for additions each evening (which were supplied very quickly).

We did not eat at the hotel but there are many great places within 5 minutes walk , indeed the location is one of the best features of this hotel Valet parking is quite expensive.

No problems. We would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.