We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Miami
New York, NY
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Needs a Facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rooms are dated and carpets need either a good cleaning or replacement. The staff tries very hard to please - from check-in to the housekeeping staff.

The location is in downtown Miami and it's a short cab ride to restaurants -- not much else around. This is not a place for a family visit (there is an outdoor pool) -- but good for a business stay or for meetings. On the low end of the "Hyatt Regency" brand in its present condition.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade -- they can alwasy say no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    543
    419
    205
    90
See reviews for
292
401
101
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel uses an enormous quantity of carpet freshener. I went into anaphylactic shock. The entire hotel smells horrible. It is impossible to breathe. The hotel refunded my money, probably because I looked like I might die. It was a frightening experience. If you have allergies, avoid this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantonment, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here the night before our cruise. As a Hyatt Diamond Member, I was really impressed with the service.Most of the nice hotels downtown are around $180 - $200 per night. We liked the rooms, the great service from front desk to the guys parking our rental car.The restaurant buffet for breakfast was outstanding.The view of downtown Miami from this high rise is breath taking.The closer for us was the fact that the Hyatt Regency is less than a mile trip to the cruise ships and a taxi ride is about $10. I would highly suggest staying at this Hyatt property.

Room Tip: Get a view of the canal and boats on the south side of hotel. You see the ocean from a distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here the night before we took off on a cruise. It is nicely located near the cruise port and is walkable to many downtown restaurants.

I really appreciated the check in kiosk. We didn't even have to wait in line or talk to a person the entire time we were there. Very efficient.

Due to flight delays, we arrived much later than expected. We hadn't eaten in what seemed like forever, so we headed to the hotel restaurant. It was very pricey, but we didn't have much choice. The service was excellent and the food was pretty good. With the prices, it would not have been my first stop for dinner.

The room was nice and quiet, overlooking the river. We enjoyed watching the bridge raise to let boats through.

There were plenty of taxis outside ready to take us to our cruise the next morning. All and all a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here during the Canto Conference in July 2012. It is not a new hotel, but the rooms are not bad. Howevers some issues.
They charged me 7 usd for per package delivered to the hotel.
The most annoying issue however was, that this was the first hotel ever, were I experienced extremely long lines at the elevator. Maybe it was a temporary issue, but this was a big issue for all conference participants. A lot of people arrived late at their workshops or presentations (even keynote speakers). I chose not to rent a car, when I learned that about the parking fees of 19 usd per day. However there is a tunnel to the building on the other side of the road where the metro mover stops. It is only 3 stops to bayside mall (or 1 if you want to walk via the bayside park). However a lot of hotel guest dit not know this and took a taxi to the mall. In walking distance there is not a lot to do at night.
Staff was friendly in giving directions or answering any questions. Breakfast is good. However I would not recommand this hotel, unless for a conference in the Miami conference center. Holiday inn downtown or Intercontinental are better located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Awful hotel really dated rooms musty and dark.In need of of complete makeover although reception staff were very kind and courteous,Not what we expected from a Hyatt !!Not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here 1 night prior to leaving for Key West. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small with a dim light. We stayed on the 17th floor with a city view, and I was disappointed by the view. You had to pay for wifi at the hotel which I thought was a major downside. I may have given this hotel a 4 if they had free wifi.

The front desk staff and restaurant staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. I was disappointed by the concierge and depended more on the other staff for help with the local area.

The hotel was in walking distance to the bayside market and other reasonably priced stores for snacks and food which was a plus after coming from south beach:)

This hotel is okay for 1 night, but I wouldn't stay any longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.