We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #63 of 129 hotels in Miami
Mt. Pleasant, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were in town with our son for a special needs convention. The convention was at another local hotel, which was booked up, so their backup hotel was the Hyatt. At first, we tried to walk between hotels, because they were within a quarter of a mile of each other, but pushing a stroller in the heat with the strange traffic light patterns, it really didn't work well. Then we noticed that the Metromover stopped across the street from the hotel, so we decided to try that. We were surprised to find that you could just walk through the lobby and into the convention center part of the hotel to go straight to the station - without even having to go outside! That made things SO EASY for us.

The accomodations were very nice, although having a half wall in the room with a small child trying to sleep made using the sink really awkward. That design must have made sense to someone, but it would have been so much easier to dry my hair if the bathroom were completely separate from the rest of the room - especially since there were no power outlets in the actual bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and when the staff brought up the Pack and Play for our son, there were tiny bottles of Johnsons baby wash, shampoo, lotion and powder. It was a nice touch.

The hotel restaurants were great, and I liked that the breakfast was included in our stay (Hyatt Free Time). We also had some great sandwiches and the Italian buffet. The waitstaff were fantastic and extremely attentive. They remembered us when we kept coming back, as we were there for several days, and treated our son very well.

We would definitely come back on our next trip to the area. It was a comfortable and safe hotel for our trip.

Room Tip: We had a king bed and it fit well in the room, but I can't imagine how they were able to fit 2 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    485
    381
    195
    88
See reviews for
255
371
99
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked this hotel on Expedia for a 3 night stay with 2 double beds. I thought the rate was very reasonable but they gave this hotel a 4 star rating (most of the Hyatt Hotels I have stayed at are) but I don't think this particular hotel deserves a 4 star rating. This one seemed very tired and dated. They need to give it a facelift.

When I checked in it was 9:00 at night and I was told they didn't have a room available yet with 2 double beds because housekeeping was still cleaning them. They offered me a room with a king bed, but we had 4 people in our group! I told them it was ridiculous that they didn't have a room ready at 9pm so she looked again and miraculously "found" a room available. Needless to say, I was very annoyed with the check in process.

The room was on the small side and the carpet was filthy looking. I don't understand why the hotel doesn't take the time to clean the carpets...it makes a really bad first impression when the carpets are stained! The room had a balcony but they don't allow you to access it. The bathroom has a separate shower/toilet area and it doesn't have a fan/vent in it. The condensation was so bad after anyone took a shower that drops of water were actually dripping off the ceiling on us and water ran down the walls. The beds were comfortable but I could hear traffic noise even though we were on the 19th floor. I was able to rent a refrigerator, $25 for 3nts. I don't think the room size could accommodate a rollaway bed.

The furnishings in the restaurant made it look like a Perkins/Denny's type of place. The food was surprisingly good, but way overpriced. We visited the pool once but the mosquitoes were so bad we had to leave quickly after getting bit several times. Valet parking is expensive but they were always very quick and polite.

My overall experience at this hotel was okay, not great but not horrible. It's okay for for a short stay like before/after a cruise, or a short business trip. I wouldn't want to stay here for an entire week though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed there with my friends for two nights. The room smelled very bad, like someone was smoking in it. The rooms are old and need a renovation. The bathroom was horrible, old. There was a balcony but the door wont open.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

If it weren't for the nice staff at the front desk and the 23rd floor hospitality area the overall review would have been poor. Karla at the front desk respectfully moved the room from a noisy floor to the quiet area as per my request. There was a huge tour group there with teenaged girls. The bed linens were clean as were the towels. The room was dark and dreary and the lighting was extremely poor. Maybe it was a blessign since the carpet was old and stained and the room could have used a real cleaning. The breakfast and snacks and staff at the hospitality area could not have been nicer!!! Our conference was at the Intercontinental and it was such a contrast every day knowing we could have been there. My colleague changed us from the intercontinental to this hyatt since Hyatt's are usually nicer....this was NOT the case.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

İ think the hotel has problem with housekeeping. We called the hotel and told them we will arrive around 9pm. When we arrived we found that there were 3 towels although we r 4. And only 1 shampoo. On the 2 nd day our room wasn't cleaned. We called the housekeeping they said they were sorry. İt was late and we waited for the fresh towel and shampoo. Carpark $31 overnight. And it is a good price. Breakfast $ 18 with free internet. We walked to starbucks. They have free internet and half price. Also Bayside where you can wine and dine is walking distance. Next time we will prefer Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHyatt313, Sales Coordinator at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Neslis,

Greetings from the Hyatt Regency Miami. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review.

Most certainly the conditions you noted are not typical of our standards and you can be assured that we have not only addressed these issues, but have taken corrective action to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

Thank you for your feedback and sincerely hope you will visit with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Marisol Quintana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night only on 7/24/2012 - we booked through Priceline.com. I got devoured by bed bugs. I am still itching!! Hotel is fancy and amenities are nice but there is some kind of very noisy pump or something near the pool. Really disturbs the tranquility.

Room Tip: Be careful if you book through priceline.com. We requested a King room/non-smoking and got put into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHyatt313, Sales Coordinator at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Hyatt Regency Miami. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate your business and sincerely apologize for our shortcomings.

We, too, were disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while you were a guest at our property. We value you as a Hyatt customer and hope to regain your confidence.

Sincerely,
Marisol Quintana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After completing our 18 day Panama cruise we stayed at the Hyatt in Miami, on arrival we checked straight in, no problems, the had our reservation, as we had booked several months in advance online. They gave us a wonderful room facing the river. Breakfast ever morning was good, every request was carried out to our satisfaction, the staff were friendly and professional, we booked two tours from the tour desk, one went well, we had a few problems with the other one, but the tour desk handled this well and every thing was sorted out, we would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors to Miami.

Room Tip: The hotel is a short walk to downtown Miami, there are good restaurants close buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHyatt313, Sales Coordinator at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Laurie,

Thank you for your warm and positive comments about the Hyatt Regency Miami. We appreciate your insights and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Hyatt Regency Miami Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.