We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, maybe not very new, other defects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #65 of 130 hotels in Miami
Rimini, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, maybe not very new, other defects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel is ok, although quite expensive, in my view, for what is offered. It is located in downtown Miami, next to a very noisy bridge, but also has an internal canal just behind (this is a plus). The pool is kind of small, and again very close to a noisy elevated road. My room smelled like it hadn't been aired in ages, in fact the windows were shut (17th floor). Bathroom was ok. You get free wifi through a "blackmail" that forces you to get Hyatt's gold something promotion...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    474
    376
    193
    87
See reviews for
248
366
99
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is obviously an older hotel, so the main criticisms were the aircon system being noisy, and lack of noise reduction from outside, so lots of traffic noise. It was clean and tidy and staff were helpful and mostly very friendly. Bed comfortable, but horrible jet lag so didn't sleep much

Rooms felt cramped, even the larger suites (colleagues staying in top floor suites) decor looks fresh painted and clean but is definitely dated...pebbled ceilings, drop out beds in the wall...back to the 60's!

Wifi was included in my conference package, and was pretty quick and uncrowded network. I would have (and always do) complain at paying for wifi when I'm staying.

Overall I was there only for a conference (so ideal location for the Knight center) and probably would not stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiConsumerAffair, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear GoldCoast01traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff very friendly as well as a clean and tidy guest room facitlity. Thank you for let us know about the A/C unit noise. Please do not hesiste to contact me directly on your next visit here in Miami.
Kind Regards,

Jose Nieto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

Hotel allows smoking everwhere out front, so no way to enter or exit without breathing secondhand smoke. My complaints landed in deaf ears. Given room with no hot water. Hours later after I complained, I was told that engineering knew about this the day before, but not the front desk staff. Saving grace, junior staff apologetic, couteous and professional. Also, food was exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiConsumerAffair, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear goldstn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Hotel as designated smoking areas in the back of the hotel by the river as well as ash urns located 15 feet away from the main entrance. We have reinforeced your comments with the valet parking staff as well as our doormen so they can better guide guest who want to smoke. We are glad to hear the staff was courtueos and professional.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you return to Miami in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jose Nieto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Locally I was there for a pharmaceutical meeting and did not have to pay for my 1 night stay. What a terrible hotel.
First off there is construction on the entrance of the hotel. Check in was very impersonal and unfriendly. They have a line for Hyatt reward member but when I asked it is only for platinum not gold despite the fact there was a sign there stating Hyatt passport members.

Rooms are very basic and have an old feel to them. Bathrooms are ridiculously small. When i went to take a bath the shower looks dated so it gives you the feeling you don't want to put your bare feet in there.
Noise level on floor 17 was bad as well.
In the am at 700 I called front desk with my only request which was to extend my check out one hour until 100pm. They even declined this stating they were fully committed that day.
Basically ugly, dated rooms combined with poor service does not work for me.
Across the street there is the Epic Hotel which seems to be very nice..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiConsumerAffair, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Itorres93,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear the hotel was not up to your expectations. Rest asssured, your comments have been shared with the staff in order to avoid any future occurences.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you return to Miami.
Kind Regard,
Jose Nieto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Miami. The location is unbeatable, within a couple blocks of downtown Miami and the waterfront scene. The hotel itself could do with some updating (bathroom fixtures, televisions, etc.). Having to pay for parking is also not the best, but it seems that it is becoming common, especially in big cities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Miami River...there is a draw bridge that gets raised for boats with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel was probably very stylish in it's day, but the room that we had was starting to feel dated and needed some repairs. The room was very large and spacious. Love that! It had some nice equimpment amenities like a wireless keyboard. However the finish on the faucets was peeling in areas and there was what appeared to be a red fingernail polish stain right on the carpet.

The resaurant was very nice, the bellman was great. I called for an extra blanket for my 2 year old, and an hour later when he went to bed, it hadn't come yet so I cancelled the request.

Our room was on the 6th floor, but only had a view of the building next door. Get a room as high up as you can if you are there for any period of time.

We chose the hotel because it was close to the port, but then found out they don't have complimentary shuttles to the airport or the cruise port.

In addition the conciege said one thing when we checked in and when we went to do that we got a completely different story and some attitude. That was probably the biggest turn off, however I doubt that most people would have situations like that occur.

I'd recommend the hotel if you couldn't find one with free shuttles.

Room Tip: The higher the better, 6th floor just has a view of other buildings. Going down the dated path in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

60 stars, This was one of the nicest,cleanest, staff was so helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiConsumerAffair, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Miami, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your review. We have shared your kind words with the staff during morning meetings. You have made our day!
We hope to see you soon here in Miami
Regards,
Hyatt Regency Miami Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Amex, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.