We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport to your Saves list
Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33142-5628   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Islamorada, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The room was okay, and comfortable. The pool was very very nice! It took forever to check in, because their Computer systems were down. (See previous review somebody else had this complaint 10 days ago!) The breakfast was very basic, just coffee and bagels. The place is very convenient to the airport, and that is mostly what he has going for it. But the Internet is so slow, it is essentially unusable. See speed test data attached.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and submitting a review of your experience. We are happy that you liked our new rooms and outdoor swimming pool. We offer a basic continental breakfast in order to keep our room rates lower than our competitors, hopefully you got a chance to compare rates and see that we offer the best rates among the hotels closest to the airport. I apologize for the sporadic performance of our internet, might have been affected by the weather. Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    552
    399
    147
    128
See reviews for
524
336
120
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for an overnight layover. When we came in the staff was very friendly, but had to do everything manually because their systems were down. At first appearance the room seemed fine, although it was disgustingly hot because the air had been turned off. The room never got very cold, but it was comfortable for a few hours. The beds were comfortable, but when I got in, I noticed black gunk on the inside of my comforter. When we woke up we found ants all over the sink and desk area. I was happy to get out of there! Luckily the shuttle to and from the airport was free and convenient. It runs 5am-midnight every 30 minutes. They should really post that somewhere because we couldn't find it and had to call three different numbers to try to find the actual hotel number (which we never actually did, but luckily the final person gave us the shuttle info we needed). The hotel also had free breakfast, but we left too early to have it. The one other thing that would've been great would be if they had a mini fridge in the room. If the room had been a little cheaper, I would've chalked it up to being an inexpensive hotel/one bad experience, but for what we paid, we definitely should've at least had something that felt cleaner than it did.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Feedback is very import to us. Sorry you missed our shuttle information, it can be found at the front desk and also inside and outside the elevators. We regret that you did not get a chance to our experience our rooms with refrigerators, we have several room categories that offer refrigerator and microwave. They might have been sold prior to you making reservations, they are the most popular choice. Hope that we will see you on your next trip Miami.

Thanks again.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice rooms, but the front desk service was a little bit poor. The breakfast was very poor. only some oranges, slices of white bread (jelly and cream cheese) and muffins. and to drink: juice and coffee and tea. that was all. 30 minutes before the breakfast was supposed to end they already cleaned up everything. So for the guests that came later but still on time, there was nothing to get otherwise you had to ask the attendant for a muffin etc. The bathroom is a bit small. but overall I liked the room.
Before we left our room to check out, another family was at the door to come in for their stay. that was a weird confrontation and surprise for both of us.
its very close to the airport, so that was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback. Our breakfast runs from 6AM - 9:30AM and we sometimes leave it 15 minutes later on the weekends for guests who sleep in late. Thank you again for staying with us, we enjoyed serving you.
Hope to see you on your next visit to the area.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruhr Valley
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Red Roof Plus for two nights. The rate was quite cheap, so we didn't expect too much.

It´s close to the airport (free shuttle provided) and the location was also good for our trip to the Everglades and shopping in Miami´s malls.

We liked our hotel room on the first floor. Room seems to have been renovated not too long ago and the overall impression was good although you should´t pay too much attention to the details.
Beds were comfy, bathroom clean and tidy, air con and wifi worked well, but there is no fridge, microwave or coffeemaker - although pretty common in motels you´ll only find this in Red Roof´s superior rooms.
Not all the members of staff were very friendly and helpful, but the guy who checked us in was really kind.
Breakfast was not good, it´s just toast and bagels, butter, cream, jelly, fruit, muffins, juice, coffee & tea. There´s no milk - just creamer. Bagels and muffins are individually wrapped in plastic. Talking plastic... there is a lot of plastic at breakfast. I know most hotels of this category provide single-use, really bad for the environment. I think they should really reconsider this issue.

Hotel has a small pool, but we didn´t use it. There also a gift shop. Ice machine and soda vending are located on every floor.

I would use this hotel again for a good rate and probably just skip breakfast. All in all, we had good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Miami Airport. Feedback is very important to us as we try to improve the guest experiences.
I'll be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. We are sorry that you did not get an opportunity to experience our premium rooms which comes with micro-refrigerator and microwave plus an in-room breakfast snack. We offered a basic continental breakfast so we could keep your room rates low.

Thanks again you for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit you will try one of our premium rooms.

Best regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very bad. The rooms and Hotel overall were smelling.. not a stink but some smell which gave me a headache overnight. The bathroom was really cramped, you had to move out of the way to open close the door! Everyday we had to request for more towels, they provided only 2 towels!! The breakfast did not have a lot of variety. If you want to eat breakfast, be there early! The walls/doors were not sound proof. You could hear anyone walking outside! Never staying here again. Travelling with: Family (1 kid: 5 yrs)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for your comments on your stay here at the Red Roof Plus in Miami. Feedback is very important to us, we will share them with our staff. We pride ourselves in offering the best rate value within the airport area hence our breakfast is a complimentary continental. Thank you again and hope to see on your next trip to the area.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Thanks to Anthony I had an excellent as opposed to what could have been a horrendous stay. I was given a room which was not ready and promptly upgraded with an apology and a smile. I also was supposed to have my anniversary gift delivered to the hotel but the delivery company mixed it up. I was obviously annoyed because I didn't know this at the time but Anthony walked with me to the other location through the hot sun and spoke to the person's at front desk after he had been on hold for a while. He even went further to have the company fax the exact location of where they would have delivered the package. The other location couldn't find my package and needless to say I went into my room upset and forgetting about another package I also had delivered. Approximately 20 minutes later, I heard a knock at my door and there with Anthony were both of my packages for our anniversary. He went above and beyond his call of duty and I would recommend here to anyone. You want to feel cared for when your away from home by those hosting you, not to mention the rooms were clean and sparkling.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments. Anthony will be delighted to hear, he is a very caring employee who sets the tone for our service culture. We are very happy that you were able to receive your anniversary item on time. Hope you had a good stay in Miami and hope to welcome you again.
Thanks.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent business trip over the 4th of July weekend. Miami prices were ridiculous due to the holiday weekend. Took a chance with my stay here and was not disappointed at all. You get what you pay for. The price was great and location very close to the airport and freeway heading to South Beach. Rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and Nora was very helpful. She pointed my nonspanish speaking self in the right direction and always advised me where to be cautious while traveling. She is the glue that holds this place together. See you guys next year. Thank you for the stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for submitting a review. Hope you had a successful shopping trip. Glad that you found us to be price sensitive, we are one of the lowest priced within the Miami Airport area. I see that our close location to the highway, shopping and South beach was important to you. Thanks for your comments on our front desk staff, they go out of the way to help. Nora will be delighted to hear. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Address: 3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33142-5628
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.